Weekend Food: “Baby sister” Edition!

The “baby” of the family is my sister, (Codename: DSN Engineer), who is finishing up her undergraduate studies at the University of Alaska-Fairbanks. Often times, I’ll receive a random email from her instructing me to bake certain things that she finds interesting. She’s done this before with Thousand Dollar Bars, or fancy Twix bars. I found out she does this so that I’m the one doing a “test run” of the recipe. That way, she doesn’t waste time or money on a bad recipe. Hence, I am her recipe “guinea pig”. If I okay the recipe, then she and her boyfriend (Codename: CS 411 Cook) will make the dish.

This time DSN Engineer’s email included two recipes: one for homemade toaster pastries (Pop-Tarts) and one for garlic cheddar biscuits (Cheddar Bay Biscuits from Red Lobster). To be honest, I’ve seen a recipe for homemade toaster pastries before and skipped it because I don’t usually eat them. But, the link DSN Engineer sent me said I could use pre-made pie crust, which I happen to have in my refrigerator. Also, I’ve made garlic cheddar biscuits before (from the Bisquick mix no less!) and they turned out pretty good. This time, I’ll be making these biscuits using Bisquick’s Heart Smart mix to see if the taste is any different. If they’re a hit, then I’ll make these for my mother when she comes to visit again because she can’t get enough of these at Red Lobster.

RESULTS: The toaster pastries were super simple to make since I had the ready-made pie crust. Feel free to make your own crust as the recipe includes that as well. If you do make these, make sure to keep to the 1 teaspoon amount of jam because some oozing may occur during the baking process. By the way, I used the spreadable all-fruit strawberry jam. I also made the sugar glaze instead of the egg wash. However, my glaze was a bit runny (too much milk) and it’s harder to see. Use less milk, and you’ll get a thicker, whiter glaze. You can find the original recipe at bake me more.

Blue & Gold: The UAF colors!

The crust cracked open a bit and the jam oozed out

As for the garlic cheddar biscuits, there was no difference in taste using the Heart Smart mix! So, feel free to buy this healthier mix and pat yourself on the back for buying a “heart smart” ingredient! These biscuits were absolutely delicious and are probably one of the key reasons Red Lobster stays in business. If you make these, be sure to use the garlic powder in the mix as it will highlight the melted garlic butter that’s slathered over these yummy biscuits. (I had to omit the garlic powder because I didn’t have any.) I feel that the garlic salt might cause a bit of a problem for CS 411 Cook because he’s on a mission to cut down DSN Engineer’s salt intake. But, I’ll let them sort that one out themselves. The original recipe can be found at gimme some oven!

After making these two recipes, I took advantage of my baking mood and made one more recipe, red velvet cream cheese swirl brownies. I was intrigued by this recipe because I’ve had an on-again off-again craving for red velvet cake. Usually, I wait a couple of days and it passes, mainly because I have more pressing recipes to try. This time, I gave in mainly because DSN Engineer sometimes asks me what to make for dessert. For instance, last week she asked me what to make for her roommate dinner. I suggested she make the Galette des Rois. It was a hit with her roommates and CS 411 Cook! Here are photos of DSN Engineer’s galette:

Anyway, I thought these red velvet cream cheese swirl brownies would be a nice dessert option for DSN Engineer to make at a future date. They’re pretty easy to put together, and you get to use red food coloring which always makes the recipe instantly more fun! Mine had a bit more of the cream cheese layer showing because I didn’t swirl the red brownie topping enough. Also, make sure to let them completely cool before cutting. I was too impatient and ended up having the top layer turn into a bit of a gooey mess. But, they tasted awesome nonetheless! You can find the original recipe at What’s Cookin, Chicago?

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 22:50:00

    Yay! You got good results from the recipes! I’ll have to try the homemade poptarts, biscuits, and red velvet dessert this week/weekend! Go Nanooks! (nanook is the Inuit term for polar bear)

  2. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 22:53:12

    You’ve been cooking up a storm! (And I hear from my son that you’re in for quite a big one!) Everything looks great, but I am really drooling over those biscuits- they look great! You should be all set for being snowed in with all of those delicious goodies. 🙂

  3. Andrew
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 23:13:45

    Those poptarts look like they turned out great, I can predict we’ll be trying them soon also. I remember the cheddar biscuits, last summer I made a similar recipe, they are very good, easy to make too. Mine turned out kind of small and crumbly though, I’ll have to try this other recipe. I though I recognized the gallette from last weekend……

  4. Me
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 23:39:54

    Anything Red Velvet is AWESOME!!!

  5. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 00:57:37

    Oh so wonderful a spread, u know i have been wanting to make the pop tarts forever , and infact was thinking a few days back i should in feb:-)
    Urs look soo pretty and wonderful!
    Ha ha , and here im the baby in the family , he he , but none of my siblings blog, maybe when they get married their partners might :-)lol!
    Ha ha , i love the way she asks u to try recipes,ur a darling besides being an expert as i see here!
    And the biscuits look fantastic too as does the red velvet swirled brownies :-)))
    happy day babe!

  6. Cakelaw
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 03:43:12

    All of these look good. Love the pop tarts and brownies especially.

  7. Flourchild
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 05:46:46

    Yum everything looks sooo good!Love the brownies..I have never seen red velvet ones! The homemade poptarts are making me want some right now! Wow everything looks wonderful!

  8. Cher
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 07:11:06

    Yeah you for tackling the pop tarts! They are so much better when you make them @ home than the mysterious silver packaged variety…

  9. Ronda
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 07:14:14

    Hey! I am making pop-tarts today! So funny we are making them so close together!

  10. Comfy Cook
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 08:06:17

    You have been one busy person and the results are fabulous. What an accomplishment to make all those goodies.

  11. cca
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 10:53:38

    wow! you have been a busy bee!

    everything looks great! i wish you were my roommate… then i could feast all weekend long!

  12. Ker-Yng
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 13:37:51

    You had a productive weekend! Your little sister is blessed to have a big sister like you. 🙂

  13. Mary
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 19:29:03

    You were a bakin’ fool today. Everything looks wonderful and the news about the heart smart Bisquick was really good to hear. The brownies demand to be tried. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  14. A Busy Nest
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 21:00:00

    Those pop tarts look so tempting to make to enjoy a moment childhood nostalgia! I think they would taste much better than the ones I had as a child!

  15. Elaine
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 01:14:01

    You have been in a baking mood! I have to agree with you that the cheddar biscuits is indeed what is keeping Red Lobster afloat. Everything looks great – especially the toaster pastries.

  16. Domestic Goddess Wannabe
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 08:21:13

    Ooh – lots of yummy food. I like the look of the red velvet cream cheese brownies. I have yet to make red velvet cupcakes so am going to have a bash for valentines day, but might make these for my hubby as he is a cheese fiend!

  17. Kankana
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 17:49:14

    Those were some good results …. looks soo yumm!!

  18. Missy
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 10:28:20

    SOo yummy! Hmm… the first pics looks like poptarts! LoVE IT!

    Peace
    Missy

  19. Liz
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 12:54:10

    You have been busy! Your pop tarts look SO much better than any store bought variety…and the glaze is perfect IMHO 🙂 And I’d love one of those red velvet cream cheese brownies…fabulous!!!! Off to get that recipe….thanks, YC~

  20. Umm Mymoonah
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 01:32:18

    Wow! This looks so yummy.

  21. Trackback: Mother’s Day Brunch Tag! « Yummy Chunklet