Weekend Food

My youngest sister, (Codename DNS Engineer), flew into Chicago this weekend for her Christmas break. Before arriving, she emailed me a recipe for Thousand Dollar Bars with the subject “Please”. Seeing as she aced her finals, including her thermodynamics course, I felt I had to oblige.

These chocolate caramel shortbread bars are your jazzed up version of Twix bars, or as King Arthur’s Flour calls them, “Twix on Warren Buffet’s budget.” Just a tip: If you make these, score the bars after the chocolate has already set and cooled but DO NOT cut them. Let the caramel come back to room temperature to do the final cut. (Either dip the edge of your knife in water or coat with butter in between cuts.) I made the mistake of cutting them right out of the refrigerator, and the chocolate layer kept separating from the caramel shortbread part. But, my sister still happily ate them!

See the separations? It's because I cut them right out of the fridge.

The only alteration I made to the original recipe was adding a teaspoon of salt to the shortbread mixture because I only had unsalted butter. Other than that, the recipe for these yummy bars can be found on King Arthur’s Flour homepage.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 01:17:59

    They were good!! I had to drink lots of milk with them because of the maximum sweetness, and this is okay because I love milk. This was a nice treat! Boo thermodynamics!

  2. Mia
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 09:51:21

    Oh these are sooo good!!
    I loveee these, i have something similiar coming up ,though maybe not as good!
    Oh so delicious , Kaf sure has some wonderful recipes!!
    Well ,if u hadn pointed out , i wouldn have noticed those layers , a wee bit separated:-)
    I lovee the addition o salt , i did add some to my caramel too!

  3. Carmen
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 10:47:29

    These were great but make sure that you serve them at room temperature. Then again the hardened caramel may slow you down enough to keep you from eating the whole pan. I know it did for me🙂

  4. Sarah
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 15:25:33

    These look just like something my mom used to make. I’m salivating!

  5. Kelli
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 15:35:51

    Y.C. they look EVEN BETTER than you described when we went shopping for the ingredients!! When you told me you were making homemade twix, I thought to myself…”DNS Engineer had better eat them all, because I got dibbs on the leftovers!” Great Job, Y.C!! =)

  6. Cakelaw
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 16:13:21

    Yum!!!!!! It’s breakfast time here, but that wouldn’t stop me having some of these right now.

  7. Mary
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 19:06:59

    These look fantastic! They are a bit like the millionaire’s shortbread that I had in the UK. Perfect for the holidays.

  8. Elaine
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 01:11:20

    Anyone who finishes a thermodynamics course, let alone aces the final deserves a special treat. They look wonderful and I love Twix bars so I have to make these. What a great sister you are!

  9. Serene
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 15:36:34

    Oh, my god, those might be the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. HAVE to make them! Thank you for this, and for all your wonderful posts. I hope the new year brings you much joy and love and more sweet goodness on your plate.

  10. Trevor Sis Boom
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 20:42:33

    If someone aces their exams it is only right that they get to call out something as wonderful as these! Good job to both of you!
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  11. Molly
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 20:26:27

    All I can say is…wow, YUM! I bet those travel well🙂

  12. Liz
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 10:25:40

    I’ve made something like these, too…Better Thank Twix Bars. SO, so tasty! I’m getting hungry just looking at your lovely photos~

  13. Trackback: Weekend Food: “Baby sister” Edition! « Yummy Chunklet
