Galette des Rois for breakfast!

I had a full house this past weekend. My mother (Codename: Loola), my aunt who’s visiting from the Philippines (Codename: Loola Ohma), my sister (Codename: DSN Engineer), my other sister (Codename: Chunklet’s mom), Chunklet herself, Chunklet’s sister, and my usual live-in sister (Codename: Psychology Gamer) were all here. Yes, everyone in my family gets a codename! Anyway, the whole weekend swirled with the sounds of baby squeals and shrieks, laughter, and family stories. Most of our time was spent shopping at fun stores, sightseeing, or “strategizing” about when and where to eat!

The few meals that were eaten at home were prepared by Loola and Loola Ohma. When they visit, there’s no use trying to cook for them. It’s a losing battle. The kitchen is firmly their territory. However, I wanted to sneak in a fun French pastry before either of them could commandeer my kitchen one morning because I was reminded of the times my mother used to bring home all kinds of pastries from a French bakery near the hospital where she worked. As Filipino kids growing up in the South, anything French was hard to find, so we were always excited when we saw the bakery’s bags in my mother’s hands. The last morning they were here, I woke up early to make a Galette des Rois I read about on Frankly Entertaining. When I initially read the recipe, I immediately knew I wanted to try it because of my recent discovery of almond paste when I made a bear claw bundt cake.

While the galette was baking, the sweet almond smell literally woke everyone up! And, the pastry was so tasty that I didn’t even get a chance to take a photo of an individual slice. It was demolished that quickly! The sweetness of the galette was accompanied by some bacon that Chunklet’s mom quickly fried up, and everyone happily munched away! I’ll definitely be making this again. If you’ve ever wanted to make a French pastry that’s easy, or wanted to use pastry sheets or almond paste, this is definitely a recipe to try!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 11:39:22

    What a lovely surprise for your family to wake up to! I’ve never had this kind of pastry, but it sounds delicious. The almond paste center is delectable, I’m sure. Did you put a prize in it?

  2. Liz
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 11:51:41

    What a fun weekend with all that family visiting…and what a superb way to start the day. This is the BEST King’s Cake I’ve ever seen…I need to make this a tradition!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Jessica
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 12:28:45

    Yeah, this was pretty much delicious. I am going to attempt to make it for the roommates soon! The photo gives a very good representation of the pastry!

  4. vanillastrawberryspringfields
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 12:31:50

    I sure would totally love to wake up to the smell of this, soo good!
    I have been seeing galette de rois all over and urs is truly wonderful!
    What a wonderful breakfast + the bacon- Chunklets mom is fantastic too:-)
    And an absolutely warm loveee filled day i say….
    Thannxx a ton for ur vote babe, and love and support!

  5. Cher
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 15:54:10

    MMMM – anything with almond paste HAS to be good. I would hate to have to fight for kitchen rights; I am pretty territorial about my kitchen! But it sounds like a good time was had by all.

  6. Andrew
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 16:53:10

    Wow, it looks really good, I will have to get Jessica to make it soon so I can try it also!

  7. Mary
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 09:12:45

    This sounds like the most heavenly breakfast ever! I love, love, love almond paste, and sandwiched between puff pastry? Well, my oatmeal is paling in comparison.
    🙂

  8. Ronda
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 09:13:39

    Mmmm…that looks so good!

  9. Cakelaw
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 17:43:43

    This looks absolutely gorgeous – great job!

  10. Comfy Cook
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 21:58:58

    I want this immediately. Oh, how I wish. I do have a container of almond paste. Now, I have something delicious to do with it.

  11. Sarah
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 14:59:40

    I’m so glad this worked for you! I’ve never even thought of doing this for a breakfast treat, but you’ve inspired me!!

  12. Trackback: Weekend Food: “Baby sister” Edition! « Yummy Chunklet
