ffwD: Basque Mushroom Tortilla

As several readers know, I live in Chicago and this week was our turn to get hit with the thundersnows! (Yes, it’s a meteorological term. I thought it was made-up, too. Every time I heard it on the news, I thought about Thundercats.) My office closed early on Tuesday afternoon with an expectation to be closed on Wednesday as well. So, when I woke up Wednesday morning, I thought that it would be a good day to try out this week’s recipe and to clean out my kitchen cabinets!

As you can tell from the title, I used Dorie’s bonne idée and made a mushroom tortilla, as I had those on-hand but no potatoes. And, for some reason, the thought of NINE eggs in one dish was a little odd for me, so I only used eight! Seeing as this was the first time I made a ffwD dish so early in the morning, I haphazardly threw in whatever herbs I had, including fresh organic thyme, cilantro, and dried rosemary. The thyme and rosemary really shone in the tortilla! I was particularly happy with this week’s recipe because olive oil was used instead of our normal butter. Plus, after last week’s phyllo dough frustration, I’m glad this dish turned out to be rather simple to prepare.

As much as I like quiche, I think I’ll use this method in preparing eggs for a meal, especially if I’m caught off guard for a surprise dinner or if I’m in a hurry. There wasn’t much babysitting required, no crust to worry about, and the use of only one pan from stove top to broiler was a bonus. The tip about covering the pan’s handle with aluminum foil when running it under the broiler was especially helpful. I really enjoyed this dish and will more than likely make it again with the intended potatoes and possibly some Gruyère sprinkled on top and melted under the broiler for about 30 seconds.Make sure to check out other bloggers’ thoughts and results of this dish at French Fridays with Dorie. As usual, the recipe for this dish can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 01:20:26

    Look at all the mushrooms! Sounds like a hefty dish with nine eggs. I would have reduced the egg number too…

  2. Liz
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 05:01:58

    I was really tempted to use mushrooms and thyme, too! I bet it was wonderful!!!

    PS…I’ve done a lot more cooking, too, this week with this wacky weather!

  3. Cher
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 05:33:55

    Ah – glad to see someone tried the mushroom version! I am sure it was excellent. The potato egg combination was really good, but a little weird for me texturally….

  4. Flourchild
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 06:50:40

    Cheese is a great idea! I will try that next time! It looks great…love the shrooms!! Stay safe in all that stormy weather!

  5. Ronda
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 07:21:31

    I live in Minneapolis, we didn’t get hit by this last storm, but we have had over 60 inches of snow this year (with at least one storm of 20 inches in December), so I feel your pain! I worry that the snowiest month, March, is yet to come. Where will we put all that snow!

    I thought that this was a good quiche alternative too. I like the idea of Gruyère on top, but I will never make it with the potatoes. That just makes me go-Ick!

  6. Ker-Yng
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 07:43:56

    I did a mushroom version too. Used 9 eggs and between me, hubby and a friend, we finished it for lunch!

  7. Elaine
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 07:53:03

    I miss snow days! We both made mushroom tortillas.🙂 Yours looks wonderful and I bet was so good with the gruyere.

  8. Anne Marie
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 08:20:37

    I couldn’t help but think that a quiche would be better.

  9. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 08:31:17

    Oh thats a welcome holiday though🙂
    I did the same too ,last sunday ,coz i need to make something and threw in whatever we had at hand!
    YEah this is a perfect dish to rustle last min no?
    I used 5small organic eggs , but then used a smaller pan to get it thicker:-)
    Oh i loveee the cheese atop , i should have done that too , as i sure have some cheese in there!
    And now am sooo hungry around here:-)at ur lovely tortilla!

  10. Michelle
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 09:08:49

    Looks fantastic….I will have to try it with the mushrooms next!

    • yummychunklet
      Feb 04, 2011 @ 12:50:38

      Thank you so much for your comment. I’d like to add you to my Google Reader, but I can’t seem to access your blog site. Is there another address that you’re using?

  11. Trevor Sis Boom
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 09:41:02

    We’ve always made these each week for dinner as a ‘refrigerator cleanout’ dish. Who knew it was ‘Basque’?

  12. Mary
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 10:36:20

    This sounds absolutely fabulous. I love the changes you made to the original recipe which is also great. I’m so glad I found your blog. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  13. ComeUndone
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 12:54:08

    Looks great and love your addition of herbs! Mushrooms cook up so much faster than potatoes too.

  14. Jessica of My Baking Heart
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 16:18:05

    Mushrooms – yum!! Can’t wait to try this again and add them in. Yours looks great!🙂

  15. Allison
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 16:39:23

    As much as it’s great at room temperature – gryuere would be AMAZING! I’m not a mushroom fan but I’m so glad your brave changes turned out so great!

  16. beth@thescreenporch
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 16:55:06

    Love all your additions. Stay warm! B:)

  17. Kankana
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 17:07:52

    I always try to make pizza with tortilla bread .. this one looks fantastic as I never tried with mushroom .. I will surely give it a try.. and you stay warm dear !

  18. Kathy
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 18:31:15

    I am in NJ and we spent Wednesday shoveling out our icy, snowy driveway. We were hit with the same storm that hit you and I was glad to have something so easy and comforting to make. I really enjoyed this recipe. I love you additions and would love to try mushrooms next time I make this. Yours looks great!

  19. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 19:04:37

    This looks really good! I love your mushrooms- I think I’d like that version as well as the potato one. I haven’t made this yet, so you’ve really gotten me wondering now which one I should choose.🙂 I hope you’re enjoying your snow! My son lives in Chicago, and he called me during the thundersnow- he said it was awesome!

  20. Krissy
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 19:45:18

    I love your mushrooms! They look fantastic. Your Chicago weather this past week reminds me of when we lived for 8 years in upstate Watertown, NY…very often the cold spot in the nation and snow every day…went on forever. So we got tired of that and went to the other extreme…the Phoenix, AZ area…and I must say that I never get tired of the heat and I am a wimp when if comes to snow and cold…developed phobias for life! Good for you to just use what you had on hand.

  21. Three-Cookies
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 03:23:33

    Looks nice, and nutritious of course!

  22. Renee (Kudos Kitchen)
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 08:06:56

    I think yours looks supurb! Love the addition of the mushrooms and cliantro. So pretty and colorful! I too live in the Chicago area so I know what you’re talking about regarding the weather. This certainly was a good dish to chase away the cold and snow. Lovely post.

  23. SoupAddict
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 13:00:06

    I was torn between a mushroom version and a sausage version. Eventually, the sausage won out. But the mushrooms look delicious!

  24. Candy
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 13:33:22

    A sprinkling of Gruyere would be divine!

  25. evilcakelady
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 14:00:22

    Yum, I am glad to see the mushroom variation looks just as good! Cheese would be a great addition, good thinking.

  26. betsy
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 15:05:11

    Looks great with the mushrooms! And thyme is my favorite herb and Gruyere my favorite cooking cheese. I’ll try your combo next time. Perfect snow day weather. I hope you’re all dug out by now.

  27. Cakelaw
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 03:01:46

    I am so glad that we don’t get snowstorms – hope you and your family are OK. Your tortilla with mushrooms sounds wonderful, and I too like this more than quiche.

  28. Steph - jumpingoffthecliff
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 21:59:14

    I won’t mention the lovely 70 degree weather we’ve been having here in sunny so cal…love the mushrooms and the herbs in your tortilla! Hope you’re surviving the cold.

  29. Andrew
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 19:30:11

    That looks really interesting, I will have to try and make a similar recipe. 9 eggs is quite a few, I agree. Hooray for olive oil, I tend to substitute olive oil for butter in a lot of my cooking.

  30. chaya
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 23:47:26

    This is making me salivate. So yummy.

    Would you like to link this to Let’s Do Brunch? It is just right for a meal in the middle of the day.

    http://sweetsav.blogspot.com/2011/02/lets-do-brunch-14.html

  31. Lana
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 02:32:42

    I made this, but I did not have the time to photograph it before dinner, and then there was none:(
    I had only 7 eggs, but they were big:) You are right, it can be a great substitution for a quiche (we love them, but it takes more planning).
    Next time I’ll make it with mushrooms.
    Sorry for all the snow! I am so happy that i don’t have to deal with it any more. If I could, I would send you some of our California sunshine:)

  32. sanyaliving
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 04:32:13

    I love mushrooms and your photos just convinced me to make this version and soon!

  33. Trackback: Potato Chip Tortilla « Yummy Chunklet
