Bear Claw Bundt Cake!

HAPPY NATIONAL BUNDT DAY!

Mary from The Food Librarian has embarked on a delicious journey where she made a bundt cake every day for 30 days leading up to National Bundt Day! This is the second year she’s completed this, and this year she invited the blogosphere to bake a bundt as well. Needless to say, after seeing 30 days of bundts, I’ve caught bundt cake fever, not unlike Bieber-fever!

I actually made two bundt cakes in honor of today. A couple of days ago I posted a pear walnut bundt cake. However, today’s celebration bundt is a rendition on an almond bundt cake. Chunklet’s mother is a huge fan of bear claws, so she suggested I incorporate some of those elements into an almond bundt. Hence, the bear claw bundt cake! A huge thanks goes out to my sister for her help and suggestions!

Thank you, Chunklet's mom!

This slice is for you!

This is a simple cake batter to make, but since I have no food processor, I had to get crafty in order to grind the almonds. I just used my espresso bean grinder! If you have to do the same, just make sure to grind the almonds with a bit of sugar to avoid sticking and clumping. I also incorporated a whole box of almond paste, just for that added bear claw taste. I shredded half the tube with a cheese grater then broke up the other half into larger bits with my hands. This cake was fluffier than most of the cakes I’ve made. I’ll definitely be making this again, perhaps when Chunklet visits Chicago for Christmas! I hope you like my take on this favorite pastry! HAPPY NATIONAL BUNDT DAY!

BEAR CLAW BUNDT CAKE
2 c. all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 c. ground almonds

1 c. butter, softened
1 & 1/2 c. sugar
1 7-oz. tube almond paste
4 eggs
1 1/2 tsp. almond extract
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 c. milk

3 oz. cream cheese, softened
3 tbsp. powdered sugar
3 tbsp. milk
1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. almond extract
Sliced almonds for garnish

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 10 inch Bundt pan. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt and ground almonds. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, sugar, and shredded/broken bits of almond paste until light and fluffy. Don’t worry if the almond paste does not break down completely. It will melt as the cake bakes. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the almond and vanilla extracts. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with 1 cup milk, mixing just until incorporated. The batter should be a light, pillowy consistency. Pour batter into prepared pan.

Bake in the preheated oven for 60 to 70 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes and invert on a wire rack. Cool 10 minutes longer. Place rack on waxed paper. Combine cream cheese, powdered sugar, milk, vanilla extract and almond extract till liquid enough to coat but not too runny. Drizzle glaze on the cake and garnish with sliced almonds before the glaze sets.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 11:04:04

    Haha! I like that you used an espresso bean grinder!

  2. Molly
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 11:26:26

    Yum, send me some, I hear Bundts travel well πŸ™‚

  3. Yum Yucky
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 14:31:10

    The last bundt we made, the pan had a hole in the bottom. The batter dripped out and the fire alarm came on of course, so we quick put the half-cooked bundt on the deck to cool off. And we forgot to bring it inside…. 3 says laters. There’s the bundt cake – on the deck. Oooops!

    Sooo, I’ve never been so happy to see a Bear’s Claw. Looks fantastic!

  4. Cakelaw
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 15:38:37

    Who knew that there was a National Bundt Day/ This is a gorgeous cake. I like bundts because they look really impressive with no more effort than a normal cake.

  5. Carmen
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 16:38:16

    I can attest to the excellence of this bundt although I can’t say it’s helping my diet much.

  6. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 18:55:41

    This sounds so good, with all of those almonds! National Bundt Day isn’t over yet- there’s still time for me to celebrate. πŸ™‚

  7. Andrew Moore
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 23:29:49

    Wow, that sounds really good. The cake looks really good! I wasn’t aware of National Bundt Day.

  8. Serene
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 01:34:50

    Oh, my. James will LOVE this.

  9. Summer
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 02:37:17

    I wasnt aware of this day, i have a new Bundt pan and would so loveee this one!
    Looks really good!

  10. Trackback: Weekend Food « Yummy Chunklet
  11. Elaine
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 18:52:34

    Who doesn’t love a bear claw? It looks marvelous!

  12. food librarian
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 01:38:57

    What a creative recipe! I love the Bear Claw! Thanks for celebrating National Bundt Day with me! I’m sending you a lovely button I hope you wear with lots of Bundt pride! πŸ˜‰ – mary the food librarian

  13. Trackback: Galette des Rois for breakfast! « Yummy Chunklet
  14. Trackback: Mother’s Day Brunch Tag! « Yummy Chunklet