Weekend Food

This weekend was pretty light on the at-home cooking/baking. Other than my Bear Claw bundt cake for National Bundt Day, I tried another recipe from the cookbook Worth Tasting: A Culinary Tour Through the Architecture of the Palm Beaches.

My choice this weekend was roasted barbecue salmon. Oddly enough, I grew up in the South, so barbecue should be flowing through my veins. However, growing up in a Filipino household, barbecue was more a treat than a staple. This recipe incorporates a rub to be baked on top of the salmon as opposed to a sauce, but it’s completely delicious. I was surprised because I’m not a huge fan of chili powder and usually stay away from anything with “spicy” heat (as opposed to “warmth” heat, like cinnamon). The brown sugar really sets this rub apart and worked extremely well on the baked salmon. Plus, I love how the rub turned a gorgeous darkened color. And, the smell was amazing. This may become my “go-to” for salmon preparation! Every recipe I’ve tried from this cookbook has been winner. I can’t say enough great things about it: easy to prepare recipes, delicious flavors, variety of ingredients. Seriously, this cookbook is top notch!

1/4 c. orange jucie
2 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
4 6-oz. salmon fillets
2 tbsp. brown sugar
4 tsp. chili powder
2 tsp. grated lemon zest
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

Mix the orange juice and lemon juice in a large sealable plastic bag and add the fillets. Seal tightly and turn to coat. Marinate in the refrigerator for 1 hour, turning once; drain.

Arrange the fillets skin side down in a baking dish sprayed with nonstick cooking spray. Combine the brown sugar, chili powder, lemon zest, salt and cinnamon in a small bowl and mix well. Rub the brown sugar mixture over the top of the fillets. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes or until the fillets flake easily when tested with a fork. Serve with lemon slices.

Serves 4.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Molly
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 16:22:52

    I too have had this salmon and it is completely delicious! I don’t like spicy foods at all but this didn’t have that feel. I also love Worth Tasting and keep finding hidden treasures in it!

  2. Jessica
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 18:45:57

    You should come up to Alaska, catch fresh salmon, and cook it.

  3. Andrew Moore
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 20:54:00

    Wow. that sounds really good. Maybe I’ll make salmon this week….

  4. blackbookkitchendiaries
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 10:10:18

    this sounds good…im so inspired to make some tonight. thanks for sharing this.

  5. Becky
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:27:50

    Always looking for new ways to cook salmon. Sounds delish. I’ll have to try. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Cakelaw
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 15:14:24

    LOL, I love the pineapple on the cover of that book! This slamon both looks delicious and sounds as if it has wonderful flavours – brown sugar, yum.

    • Jessica
      Nov 18, 2010 @ 23:55:05

      I too like the floating pineapple between the pillars! But I think I’d freak out if I saw that in nature…

