Pear Walnut Bundt Cake


First, a huge thanks goes out to my sister and mother of Chunklet for researching and finding this recipe for me! This cake was so simple to assemble that I was on the phone with my friend and sorority sister (Codename: GPL) during the whole process!

I needed to use a little bit of elbow grease to mix the wet and dry ingredients together because the resulting batter is extremely thick, chunky, and somewhat heavy. Make sure to have a firm grasp of your rubber spatula when scraping and spreading the batter into the pan. This batter is not for the weak! My hand even started to cramp a little. But, you don’t need full attention to prep this cake.

The cake started to smell really good about 40 minutes into baking and the resulting cake was amazing! This cake can easily be eaten for breakfast or with tea! Plus, this recipe could double as an apple-walnut cake if preferred. Just make sure to have something else to do while the fruit and sugar mixture is standing.

As for my substitutions, I didn’t use an entire four cups of chopped pears because I had eaten one for a snack earlier in the day. So, I ended up mixing in only 2 and 1/2 cups. Plus, I used chopped walnuts for the pecans and only let the chopped pears and sugar stand for half an hour.

*Adapted from allrecipes.com
4 c. peeled, cored and chopped pears (I used 2&1/2)
2 c. sugar

4 egg whites
2/3 c. canola oil
1 c. chopped walnuts

3 c. sifted all-purpose flour
1 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. ground nutmeg
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground cloves

Combine the pears and the sugar and let stand for an hour.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Spray a 10 inch bundt pan with non-stick cooking spray. Slightly beat the egg whites and combine them with the oil, chopped walnuts and pear mixture. Stir the flour, salt, baking soda, nutmeg, cinnamon and cloves. Stir in the pear mixture. Pour batter into the prepared bundt pan.

Bake at 325 degrees for 1 hour and 10 minutes. Remove from oven ant let cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes before removing form pan.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tasha
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 10:45:04

    This was a exquisitely pleasing treat, thanks for the invite. Sooooooo what are we having next?

  2. Miriam
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 11:43:57

    Thanks for the sample, this cake is definitely delicious.

  3. Jessica
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 12:35:06

    I don’t think I’ve ever had pear in a cake. Intriguing.

  4. GPL
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 13:02:09

    This looks awesome! Glad it turned out so well!!

  5. Cakelaw
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 15:34:39

    What a beautiful cake! I love fruity bundts, and this one is a very handsome example.

  6. Serene
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 18:03:40

    Looks yummy! I love pears any old way. Pear cake sounds divine.

  7. Trackback: Bear Claw Bundt Cake! « Yummy Chunklet
