Homemade Naan and Shrimp Pesto Pizza

WARNING: This post is photo heavy. (Just in case you have a slow connection.) Last weekend I made butter chicken and have been looking forward to making more Indian food this weekend. Recently, Peggy at My FIANCE! Likes It, So It MUST Be Good posted a recipe for homemade naan. After reading how easy it was to make, I knew I had to try it.

Making the dough was simple. Though I don’t think my yeast produced as much froth as it should have because the dough didn’t rise much during its rest time. Then again, the recipe only calls for one teaspoon of yeast. To be honest, I was so anxious to actually bake the naan that I only let the dough rise for an hour and a half total. I cut the dough into six pieces and baked them three at a time. Here’s my first batch:

I was so excited taking pictures of the first batch that I kind of let the second batch stay in the oven a little longer than necessary. (A piece of naan from the second batch is on the right.)

Both batches produced nice bubbles and stacked well.

See what I did there? Last week, one of my co-workers (Codename: Metiche) and my sister (Codename: Chunklet’s mom) couldn’t believe that I had taken the photo of the butter chicken and thought that I had used a stock photo. Metiche was in such disbelief about my photography skills that she handed me a plastic toy mouse sitting on a wedge of cheese and instructed me to place it in some photos. This way, she can verify that I took the photo. Can you believe it? Ha!

For dinner, I used two pieces of naan to make shrimp pesto pizza with asiago cheese. I cheated and used pre-made pesto sauce and pre-shredded asiago cheese. But, I did saute six medium shrimp in a bit of Smart Balance and minced garlic. I couldn’t decide whether to chop the shrimp or leave it whole. So I did both! Amazingly, there are three shrimp on each pizza.



I highly recommend making your own naan if you’ve got a couple of hours free. Most of the time is spent letting the dough rise while the bake time is less than 10 minutes! Thanks to Peggy for posting the recipe!

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anita Menon
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 00:45:20

    WOOHOO! Now that is some mean looking naan.. The mouse trick.. ha ha ha rofl..!!
    I think you are very very talented and an awesome cook +baker.
    Fantastic effort..You should give yourself a pat on your back because, even I haven’t attempted making naan at home (inspite of being Indian and all!)

  2. Anita Menon
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 00:49:43

    I would rather have the naan with that butter chicken though. ( just a personal opinion)

  3. Kankana
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 01:26:41

    GORGEOUS! you made Naan at home .. i am speechless. Naan at home .. which looks that amazing :O :O
    This is going in my wish list. 🙂

  4. Three-Cookies
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 04:38:23

    Nice trick with the toy mouse. Naan pizza sounds interesting.

  5. Yuri
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 07:31:17

    Your naan looks amazing! I only made it once in Culinary school. Now its on my to-bake list 🙂

  6. Parsley Sage
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 07:32:31

    NAAAAAAAAAN! Yours looks perfect! Yummy and crisp and look at you throwing in some Italian flare with your naan. Great stuff.

    The mouse rocks.

  7. Mary
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 07:39:37

    This really looks wonderful. I’ll have to give your recipe a try. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings… Mary

  8. Anne-Marie
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 10:22:25

    Love this post and love the mouse. Take that, Metiche! Also, the naan looks so dang good I want to eat it right now, a credit to both your cooking skills and your camera skills. Blog on!

  9. Cher
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 13:32:18

    Ah, you are jumping deeper into the “yeast side”! Your naan & pizza look great (although, I bet it would have been wonderful with the butter chicken too!)

  10. Priya Mahadevan
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 19:00:08

    Wonderful first attempt at Naan – coincidentally, mine attempt at this was also made last week with the kids home for spring break and all, I thought why not – Turned out great and will be blogging this over the week, hopefully!
    Welcome to the world of Indian food, my dear – love for you to try out some of my recipes too 🙂

  11. Joyti
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 19:36:25

    What a great complement to your photography skills!
    And the pizza sounds delicious! I ought to feature more Indian food too, as I’m Indian myself…

  12. Angela
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 21:04:47

    Yum – Beautiful pictures and beautiful bread. I love naan! Especially with tandoori chicken:)

  13. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 21:14:49

    Your naan- and the pizzas you made with it- look delicious!

  14. Jessica
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 23:09:58

    Yay, authentic pictures!

  15. Elaine
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 23:32:21

    Wow, I am so impressed that you made naan. I enjoy eating it, but have never attempted to make it. It looks wonderful as shrimp pesto pizza. And your story about the coworker wanting you to put the monkey in the photo is too funny! They will have no doubt now!

  16. Adriana
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 04:50:05

    This looks yummy! You make it sound so easy I have to try it now.

  17. Cakelaw
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 06:58:37

    I have never made naan before, but would love to – yours looks so good! And with those shrimp on top – heavenly!

  18. Flourchild
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 07:59:34

    Wow this looks incredible..I love different ..and this is different to me! I love the shrimp sitting on top..looks sooo yummy!!! Im putting this recipe on my list to try!!! I also love your pictures!!

  19. sonia
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 09:53:33

    The naans are looking lovely and luscious…. !

  20. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 10:34:13

    Homemade pizzas are my favorite, and I love making the dough too. Looking at yours is making me very hungry right about now!

  21. sweetlife
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 10:51:25

    oh goodness your pizza looks amazing!! I love all the pics, keep them coming!!

    sweetlife

  22. Kathleen
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 18:31:35

    This is some mighty beautiful food!

  23. Liz
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 20:39:38

    Picture perfect naan…even the darker ones look delicious! And I’d love to try your shrimp pizza, too…mmmmmmm.

  24. Louise
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 22:47:16

    Holy heavenly goodness, Yummy, your Naan looks stunning! I can only hope that someday I will get over my yeastaphobia (although, perhaps I could handle a tablespoon or was that a teaspoons, see what I mean) I would LOVE to make my own Naan and to feature it as a pizza, WOW!

    Thank you so much for sharing…I’ll keep hoping…

    P.S. If someone asked me to verify my photography skills, I’d be honored:) Mine are horrible. Where as just LOOK at yours!!!

  25. chunklet's mom
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 23:18:04

    The naan looks delicious and amazing!!! I like the little mouse figurine idea. Now, you can’t photo cheat anymore 😉

  26. chunklet's mom
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 23:38:46

    Also, I think both batches of naan look really good.

  27. erica@fashionmeetsfood
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 08:17:17

    Hold uppppp…. you made your own Naan bread… seriously! You are brilliant. It look absolutely out of this world!!! Better than you find in stores.

    xo

  28. Sarah
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 10:39:55

    We love making Naan at our house. Yours looks absolutely delicious, and I love the idea of the shrimp. I also love the little figurine … I can’t believe your friends don’t trust you!!

  29. torviewtoronto
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 10:44:23

    yummy looking naan love to make them at home looks delicious

  30. Louanne
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 12:53:59

    The naan is perfect! Love the pizza, too.

  31. Sonali
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 14:33:08

    first time here…..wow…i hav never made nun at home before…thanks for sharing the recipe…..absolutely love the pizza !glad to follow ur space !do visit mine whenever u hav time 🙂

  32. Kim- Liv Life
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 16:04:50

    I saw Peggy’s post on the Naan and have it saved, now I’m more eager than ever to try it! I LOVE the shrimp pizza idea! I’ve never had shrimp on pizza, but why not? Love it!

  33. Peggy
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 19:14:18

    Aww! Thanks for the shout out! Your naan looks absolutely beautiful – and those pizzas sound super tasty! Nice touch with the pesto! =)

  34. Mary
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 19:48:40

    Gorgeous! I love naan, and yours came out perfectly. It’s like you’ve got a tandoor oven stashed away somewhere.
    🙂
    The topping sounds delicious too, and that mouse could become your trademark!

  35. Juliana
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 21:46:48

    Homemade naan…looks delicious and even more with the shrimps and pesto on it…hope you are having a great week 🙂

  36. Kathy
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 05:07:56

    Great job!! Your naan looks perfect!! I love the way you served these with the shrimp!

  37. Serene
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 11:03:22

    Naan is James’s favorite bread, and I’ve been intimidated by it, but you’ve encouraged me to give it a try. Thanks!

  38. Trackback: Turkey Stuffed Bell Peppers « Yummy Chunklet
  39. Trackback: ffwD: Vanilla Profiteroles « Yummy Chunklet
  40. curtorimfoodieszone
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 05:59:08

    Hi Peggy…..:-)ur recipe sounds fantastic:-)
    Thats so cute , the mouse in the pic part…..
    Yummy C , ur amazing babe , am soooo hungry now.
    The shrimp pesto pizza is just what i am looking for ,and wish i could have some now.
    Ur butter chicken is fantastic too….

  41. Trackback: Delicious links! « Chef Pandita
  42. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 18:46:25

    Wow that looks great. I can’t wait to try my hand at naan.

  43. Ryan
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 08:27:06

    Oh YUM, that looks completely perfect and bubbly! I love naan. I had no idea it was easy to make– I can’t wait to try it. Your pictures look great too. I can just taste a nice warm bite of it and great idea to use some for shrimp pesto pizza!!! Delish!