Turkey Stuffed Bell Peppers

Last Friday, my entire office was hit with a flu bug, rendering most of us homebound on Monday and leading to a complete office shutdown on Tuesday. (Darn you, rollercoaster temperatures!) Thank goodness I made the naan on Saturday before I started feeling sick Sunday evening.

As such, cooking and baking have been a “no-go” for a couple of days. But, I felt well enough by Tuesday evening to try my hand at turkey stuffed bell peppers. I’ve never actually made these before so I kind of guessed at it. My sister (Codename: Chunklet’s mom) said that it was like a meatloaf baked in a blanched bell pepper. Okay, I could handle that. I had some ground turkey I wanted to use and mixed in chopped onion, minced garlic and random seasonings I could find, including lots of oregano. After blanching the open bell peppers for three minutes, I stuffed the mixture into the peppers and topped each one with a mixture of honey, barbecue sauce and ketchup. The peppers were baked in a dish with a little bit of water for approximately 45 minutes on 350.

These stuffed peppers were pretty tasty, mainly because of the ground turkey mixture and sauce. However, the peppers themselves were a bit bland. Is there a way to get them infused with more flavor? I added a good amount of salt in the water during their three minute bath, but I don’t think it helped much. Chunklet’s mom said I should add additional seasoning on the inside of the peppers before I stuff them. Does anyone else have suggestions?

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ronda
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 12:03:16

    I am glad you are feeling better!

  2. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 12:17:40

    I’m a huge fan of stuffing food with, well, more food! I want to eat the plate and all. Maybe if you grill them a little on the griddle to really get those flavors popping? Add a tsp of oil and some seasonings, but watching them so they don’t char up? Not sure.

  3. Anita Menon
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 12:18:20

    awww.. I hope you are feeling better now. Just take care…

  4. Serene
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 12:30:38

    I find red peppers far too mild to cook with; the more assertive flavor of the green ones is better suited for stuffed peppers, I think. (Mmmmm, those look great, though! I love stuffed peppers THIS MUCH!)

  5. Spike
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 12:33:20

    I got hit with a bug too! Hope you are feeling better. The peppers look great. Perhaps putting s&p and maybe a little olive oil on the peppers before filling them would help?

  6. Kankana
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 12:51:25

    Office shut down because of flu !! that’s pretty serious. Take good care of yourself. I usually make bell pepper stuffing with potatoes. It was my first post (horrible pics) http://www.sunshineandsmile.com/2011/01/02/stuffed-bell-pepper-with-potatoes/

    I think if you eat the bell pepper with the stuffing it shouldn’t taste bland. I will anyway let you know if I find any tip on this.

  7. RadioDiva
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 15:36:53

    Hey Y.C.; Sorry to hear you were under the weather…but glad to see you’re back in the kitchen whipping up Yummy-ness once again! You’re Naan looked so wonderful…it really did look like something from Martha Stewart’s cookbook! Always your biggest fan! Let me know if you need to go shopping for more fun things for the blog! =)

  8. sweetlife
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 17:01:52

    glad you feel better, lovely pepper..sure to help you recover!!

    sweetlife

  9. Parsley Sage
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 19:28:47

    You know, I had a similar problem when I made stuffed peppers a while back. I think next time I’ll use the orange ones cause they have the most flavor to me and I’ll DEF add more seasoning to the stuffing because mine was pretty bland. These look awesome tho🙂

    Feel better!

  10. chunklet's mom
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 20:52:37

    Oops, should have told you to use green bell peppers >_YUCKY

  11. Elaine
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 22:33:09

    Looks delicious! My mom used to make stuffed green peppers with ground beef that were really tasty. Glad you are feeling better!

  12. Eva
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 00:27:33

    Oh man, I LOVE stuffed bell peppers! This recipe sounds great, I love that you used turkey, such a tasty and healthy alternative to ground beef🙂

  13. Meri
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 11:00:08

    Ugh– no more flu! It needs to be gone for the year!
    I don’t eat turkey, but these photos are really making me want to roast some red peppers. That smell… mmmmm…

  14. Mary
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 11:13:40

    Your peppers look great. As to improving flavor of the peppers themselves, they must be fully ripe or there is not much point in using them. It’s a shame you were disappointed. Your recipe sounds wonderful. Blessings…Mary

  15. Ryan
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 18:08:47

    I’m so sorry you were sick but glad you’re on the mend! People keep saying how great stuffed peppers are. I need to give them a whirl. I love both red peppers and meatloaf so I’m sure they would be great– esp. in the summer when there are a lot of peppers around. Yours sound delicious!!

  16. Peggy
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 19:17:30

    Glad you’re feeling a little better! These peppers sound delicious – love the sauce!

    – Maybe you could broil the peppers slightly before you stuff them to get a sort of roasted bell pepper flavor going on?? =)

  17. Mary
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 20:13:50

    That’s some flu bug to take out a whole office! Glad you are on the mend! I haven’t had stuffed peppers in years, but this makes me want to try them again. All I can think of is seasoning the inside aggressively before stuffing them.

  18. Jessica
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 23:29:12

    So, do I have to eat the pepper part?

  19. cca
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 12:30:18

    i love stuffed peppers… Hope you are feeling better!

