Freeform Lavender Shortbread Cookies & Awards!

On top of my daily birthday treats, I’ve been receiving pretty snazzy gifts from my friends and family. Normally that alone wouldn’t merit a separate post, but I received a gift the other day from Gamer Psychologist’s two friends (Codename: The Boys). The reason why this is special is that I’ve only met The Boys once. And that was about five years ago when they invited us to a non-traditional Thanksgiving dinner buffet at Golden Corral. Last weekend Gamer Psychologist made an offhand remark about my month long celebration, and The Boys got me a present!

I was so touched that I wanted to do something more than say thank you. Because, seriously, how often do people buy a birthday present for someone they met one time years ago? Anyway, last weekend I purchased a lavender shortbread cookie at the Chicago Food Bloggers bake sale and have been thinking about that cookie ever since. So I made a batch for The Boys as a thank you gift, complete with lavender dyed sugar!I’m also submitting these cookies to Torview’s Purple food palette series!

On a different note, I received some blogging awards! Ryan at Ryan Bakes awarded me The Versatile Blogger Award.

Kathy at Bakeaway with Me awarded me “Awards Galore!”

And finally, Jay at Tasty Appetite has received so many awards on multiple occasions that they must be passed on in batches! Luckily, I was one of the recipients!

I’m honored to be awarded with these because they were given by amazingly talented and awesome bloggers like Ryan, Kathy and Jay. Every time one of these bloggers posts something, it’s so fantastic that I have to comment even when I tell myself, “You only have time to read the post, not comment!” If you don’t have these three bloggers on follow, you’re really missing out.

Because I received these awards, I’m supposed to reveal seven facts about myself. However, that might be over indulgent (*wink*) in light of my own daily birthday treats. So, I’ll forgo that part (this time!) and go straight to passing on these awards to other amazing bloggers:

Chutney and Spice
Cookbook Immersion Project
gatti fili e farina
Greedy Rosie’s Dinner Blog
In Good Taste
Inside a British Mum’s Kitchen
Nandini’s Food
Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide
Saffron and Honey
Savoring Every Bite

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE RECIPIENTS!

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    May 21, 2011 @ 20:26:08

    Purple cookies rock! Thanks for the awards. But to clarify, does this mean I’m in the sisterhood? Seriously, I love your blog too despite your hatred of mustard and anise. I can’t wait to check out your list.

  2. saffronandhoney
    May 21, 2011 @ 21:38:27

    Love the cookies! I’ve baked with lavender before, but never in sugar form – I’m intrigued :).

    And thank you again for the awards!

  3. torviewtoronto
    May 21, 2011 @ 22:06:26

    congrats
    innovative looks wonderful

  4. Ameena
    May 21, 2011 @ 22:26:55

    I love the idea of lavender cookies! I can’t wait to taste them firsthand.

    I can’t wait to check out this great list of bloggers! I am always on the lookout for new blogs with which I can escape my mundane life with. πŸ™‚

    Have a lovely weekend!

  5. Meri
    May 21, 2011 @ 23:05:09

    These are so pretty! I want to make some springtime cookies too!

  6. Mary
    May 22, 2011 @ 00:14:28

    Congratulations on those well-deserved awards. Your cookies are amazing. The color is fantastic. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  7. blackbookkitchendiaries
    May 22, 2011 @ 01:01:41

    So pretty!! and congrats on your award!! *hugs*

  8. Three-Cookies
    May 22, 2011 @ 04:51:43

    You are building a great collection of awards!

  9. Simply Life
    May 22, 2011 @ 07:19:18

    congrats on all the awards!

  10. Nandini
    May 22, 2011 @ 07:46:29

    The cookies are so cool…That lavender colour is lovely! Congrats on your awards! Thanks for sharing with me!

  11. Mary
    May 22, 2011 @ 08:32:15

    Gorgeous cookies – don’t you just LOVE lavender!! Thank you so much for the award – I’m really amazed – it’s SOOOOOOOOO nice of you! A quick question – what do I do? do i copy and paste – which one? Sorry I’m a bit of a dim wit at times!
    Thanks again so much, I REALLY appreciate this.
    Mary x

    • yummychunklet
      May 22, 2011 @ 08:49:29

      Hello! I sent an email to you with the usual blogger award procedure. =D Sorry for not explaining in the post. I got ahead of myself to hit “Publish”!

  12. Elaine
    May 22, 2011 @ 09:34:13

    What a great idea to dye the sugar lavender! Congratulations on your awards!

  13. sara
    May 22, 2011 @ 10:07:50

    Love these cookies! I adore lavender – the perfect combo for shortbread cookies, yum!! πŸ™‚

  14. Ronda
    May 22, 2011 @ 11:43:47

    Those cookies look great! I love lavender, but my hubs thinks it is horrible. I may have to make myself a batch all for me. Happy Birthday!

  15. Eileen
    May 22, 2011 @ 12:34:27

    Hi! Thanks for the awards, but I don’t know what to do with them either. I’m glad I’m not the only one! lol

    I’m intrigued by those lavender cookies! Nice idea.

  16. Krissy
    May 22, 2011 @ 12:53:13

    Your cookies are so pretty and that lavender sugar…well, I just have to copy what you have done. One of my grandkids’ fav color is lavender…these cookies would be so special to her. And, you deserve all these awards. You are not only a great cook, but you have created an outstanding blog. And most of all, you are so supportive to so many of us. I always find comments from you that are posted, sometimes within a second or two, or my postings…and I know you are encouraging many others too.

  17. Yuri
    May 22, 2011 @ 15:22:55

    Love the cookies! Congrats on the awards πŸ™‚ xoxo

  18. Maris (In Good Taste)
    May 22, 2011 @ 16:27:53

    Thank you so much for the award!!! I enjoy your blog so much and am so happy to know you like mine too! You do deserve all these awards! These cookies look amazing in purple!

  19. Andi Winslow
    May 22, 2011 @ 18:11:13

    Hi I love the lavender cookies, I was just looking at a recipe today for lavender cookies, which I am going to make soon. Your’s are beautiful in the purple sugar. Congradulations on all the awards, and your nice blog. Thanks, Andi

  20. Louise
    May 22, 2011 @ 21:25:10

    Be still my heart, what a fantabulous idea to dye the sugar lavender. I can not wait to try it with my prize vanilla sugar which has been “steeping” forever!!! Oh how I wish lavender were the herb of the year this year. (Horseradish is the herb for 2011:( Your recipes are awe inspiring!!!

    How sweet to receive a gift from people you met only once. I guess that means you made a lasting impression:) Your blog sure does so yes, congrats on the awards. You certainly deserve them!!!

    Thanks for sharing, yummy. Another saver…

  21. Jessica
    May 22, 2011 @ 22:48:53

    So, is the lavender sugar lavendar-flavored? If so, you can go ahead and make some lavender cupcakes, thanks!

  22. sweetlife
    May 23, 2011 @ 08:30:28

    the sugar color is stunning, loveing these for springtime picnic!! congrats on your awards!!

    sweetlife

  23. rebecca
    May 23, 2011 @ 09:05:48

    great cookies I will be making them with my lavender I got in the UK πŸ™‚

  24. Spike
    May 23, 2011 @ 09:11:34

    those cookies look amazing- love the color!

  25. Linda
    May 23, 2011 @ 09:38:28

    Wow! I love the color! How fun!! Congratulations on all your well deserved award and thank you for listing my blog for an award!

  26. Liz
    May 23, 2011 @ 10:58:53

    What a cool take on a already lovely sugar cookie! I love the idea of adding another flavor to the sugar…and it’s even better when it allows for a bright pop of sugar. I’m sure the boys will be thrilled πŸ™‚

  27. chutneyandspice
    May 23, 2011 @ 13:54:46

    thank you so much, I am so excited I have got a blogger award! The lavender cookies look amazing, we have some growing in our garden so I know have something fun to do with it. I also make a house cleaning solution from it by boiling it up and adding vinegar, it makes the house smell amazing.

  28. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    May 23, 2011 @ 20:56:51

    I love your lavender cookies! Hope you’re enjoying your birthday month. πŸ™‚

  29. Terra
    May 23, 2011 @ 21:25:08

    Those cookies look way too good, may I have some please! I didn’t say one or two, I said some….because two is probably not enough, LOL!

  30. Cakewhiz
    May 24, 2011 @ 00:29:03

    congrats on your awards! you deserve them πŸ™‚

    last week, i saw another posting on lavender cookies on someone else’s blog and now i am seeing it on yours too… i am dying to make these cookies since i have never tried lavender in any form of baked good…lol.
    your cookies turned out beautiful and so sparkly!

  31. Vardhini
    May 24, 2011 @ 00:31:14

    Purple cookies πŸ™‚ .. looks good.

    Vardhini
    VardhinisKitchen

  32. pachecopatty
    May 24, 2011 @ 18:37:51

    Congratulations on all your awards!
    I love lavender and cookies so I think I would be in heaven here;-)

  33. chunklet's mom
    May 24, 2011 @ 23:19:14

    The cookies look yummy πŸ™‚ Definitely, something that I would like to try.

  34. Cakelaw
    May 25, 2011 @ 02:30:37

    How sweet to make these cookies for the boys. And congrats on your awards.

  35. Laural (bhealthier)
    May 25, 2011 @ 07:56:19

    Congrats to you and the awardees you passed on to!

    Those lavender cookies look perfectly springtimey!

  36. Maya
    May 26, 2011 @ 07:19:46

    That’s a lot of awards, all well-deserved, I’m sure! The Boys sure sound sweet and thoughtful, and these lavender cookies are the perfect gift in return. I’m so intrigued by that purple colored sugar spinkles!

  37. Inger Wilkerson
    May 28, 2011 @ 09:26:42

    I had a lemon lavender cupcake last summer (at a restaurant) and it has haunted my dreams. I tried adding lavender to a lemon pudding cake with less than stellar results, so I think these will be my next try!

  38. Trackback: Frigid Russian | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
  39. torviewtoronto
    May 31, 2011 @ 18:20:19

    thank you for linking these delicious cookies
    colourful treats
    http://torviewtoronto.blogspot.com/2011/05/food-palette-series-purple.html

  40. Chaya
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 19:53:04

    The lavender looking cookies are inspired. You are the Princess of Creativity.

    I understand why you received so many awards. You richly deserve them. I am glad that others know how special you are, as well as I do.

  41. amanda
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 08:29:56

    Hey I host a blog hop and I’d LOVE if you came over and shared a recipe! Here’s the link πŸ™‚ http://thesweetdetail.blogspot.com/search/label/Savory%20Sunday

  42. Bizzy
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 09:38:58

    These lovely cookies are being featured at Bake with Bizzy. I am honored to have you on my page.