Month-long Birthday Celebration: SECOND WEEK!

In my attempt to celebrate my birthday in little ways each day of May, here’s a recap of my daily celebratory goodness:

*May 10th–The weather in Chicago took a drastic turn upwards hitting a temperature in the low-90s. Considering that the week before consisted of mid-50s temperatures, the heat and mugginess was a shock to my system. To combat this, I treated myself to a fat-free, probiotic, tart frozen yogurt with strawberries and blueberries. It was very refreshing. I was so excited about it that I licked the top swirl before I remembered I still had to take a photo of it.

*May 11th–I took a couple of Italian classes in college and loved them so much that I contemplated making it my minor. However with only three semesters left, there wasn’t enough time to take all the required classes. I wanted to ease back into the language, so I enrolled in a conversational Italian course at the Italian Cultural Institute of Chicago. The weekend classes start later this summer!

*May 12th–Today was the opening day of the Daley Plaza Farmers Market, and just about every stand had these flowers on sale. I bought a bouquet for my office. Plus, a Chicago Public School student designed this year’s Farmers Market logo which was used on canvas bags and handed out to everyone.

*May 13th–I saw the movie “Bridesmaids” starring Kristin Wiig and Maya Rudolph. I knew this movie was going to be funny by the trailers but it was even funnier than I expected! Everyone in the theater was laughing so hard that half the movie sound was drowned out.

*May 14th–I had a lazy afternoon and stopped by the Chicago Food Blogger Bake Sale at The Poison Cup Wine & Art Boutique. I picked up 2 strawberry shortcake cookies from Blondie’s Cakes, an Earl Grey lavender shortbread cookie from Doree Desserts and Confections, and a flower cookie pop from Everyday Nutrition. I’m excited to try some of the recipes on Everyday Nutrition because she’s a registered dietician focused on incorporating the basics of nutrition in everyday life!

*May 15th–Instead of getting my usual Italian buttercream mini-sandwich cookies, I splurged for a homemade cannoli from the Italian bakery near my apartment.

*May 16th–With all my food-related birthday treats, I can’t put off walking to and from work anymore. So, I bought myself new sneakers!

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anita Menon
    May 17, 2011 @ 00:16:31

    Super!! All the wonderful stuff that you did sounds like were more of a spontaneous affair than a preplanned gig. But whatever it was I feel, you must have had fun. I like the bag so much and the flowers look so beautiful.

    Waiting for the next week update..

  2. kankana
    May 17, 2011 @ 01:16:33

    Like I said before .. a great way to celebrate you birthday with all these amazing treat almost every day 🙂

  3. Three-Cookies
    May 17, 2011 @ 04:34:20

    1 down three to go:)

  4. Ronda
    May 17, 2011 @ 07:01:15

    You really know how to celebrate a birthday!

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    May 17, 2011 @ 07:17:55

    Homemade cannoli! You really do do birthdays right.

  6. erica@fashionmeetsfood
    May 17, 2011 @ 08:15:06

    Looks like you’ve been celebrating in style! Those daphs look gorgeous!

    xo

  7. Jessica
    May 17, 2011 @ 08:38:55

    Yay! You’re taking those classes! Good for you!

  8. Adriana
    May 17, 2011 @ 09:30:03

    I love the way you celebrate your birthday… makes me think that’s how we should celebrate life every day! I am guilty of forgetting to take pictures before that first bite most times.

  9. thatskinnychickcanbake
    May 17, 2011 @ 09:48:36

    Hey, where was that warm weather when I visited Chicago this weekend???? Man, it was brutal with the wind and rain! We still had fun🙂

    Looks like the birthday month celebration is going well…I think I’ll have to treat my daughter to the movie Bridesmaids…we could always use a laugh~

    • yummychunklet
      May 17, 2011 @ 12:04:56

      I know! The warm weather teased Chicago for about two days then went away again. The forecast shows mid-70s temps by this weekend. We’ll see though…

  10. Eileen
    May 17, 2011 @ 09:53:41

    I love that you’re taking conversational Italian classes. That’s a great idea! And when you finish the class, you probably need to plan a trip to Venice. You know, to test out your skills.

  11. Mary
    May 17, 2011 @ 10:43:26

    I like your style! I could get to like a month long birthday celebration. I hope you enjoy each day. Blessings…Mary

  12. Pudding Pie Lane
    May 17, 2011 @ 11:13:44

    That’s so cute, I think I might do the same for my birthday! What’s in that canneolli? It looks really interesting (in a good way!)

    • yummychunklet
      May 17, 2011 @ 12:04:10

      From my very thin understanding, the filling is a mixture of ricotta cheese, powdered sugar and mini chocolate chips and then the ends are dipped in pistachios. Yum!

  13. AMInyc
    May 17, 2011 @ 12:19:45

    I love the idea of a month long celebration and doing something wonderful for yourself each day!

  14. Kathy
    May 17, 2011 @ 12:23:03

    Your month seems to be going well. Love all the wonderful treats you’ve given yourself! Hope you continue to enjoy each day of May! I’m visiting my sister-in-law next week…we may have to see that movie. It looks hilarious!

  15. saffronandhoney
    May 17, 2011 @ 12:47:39

    That looks so lovely all around🙂 the flowers are gorgeous and that cannoli looks amaaazing (I have a weak spot for mascarpone cream and pistachios:)).

    My best friend and I went to see Bridesmaids on Sunday too! It was really great – I had high expectations as it was, but we were rolling on the floor laughing, literally.

  16. claire
    May 17, 2011 @ 12:54:42

    what gorgeous flowers! love that you are treating yourself!

    i love bridesmaids as well.. it was amazing! i literally almost peed my pants haha.

  17. Linda
    May 17, 2011 @ 13:49:51

    I think you have given me some great ideas to treat and pamper myself for my birthday week! I’m going for the cannoli!!

  18. NN
    May 17, 2011 @ 14:14:37

    Ahh… Italian buttercream sandwich cookies… I forgot to tell them the plan!!

    Maybe we should go to Italy??

  19. Peggy
    May 17, 2011 @ 16:11:53

    Sounds like your second week of birthday month was pretty fantastic!

  20. torviewtoronto
    May 17, 2011 @ 19:57:04

    wonderful looking food delicious

  21. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    May 17, 2011 @ 20:10:28

    You’re really celebrating your birthday in style! Italian classes sound like fun.🙂

  22. Elaine
    May 17, 2011 @ 20:30:53

    What a great idea to celebrate your birthday every day this month!

  23. chunklet's mom
    May 17, 2011 @ 21:09:37

    You’re Italian conversation class sounds like a lot of fun! I probably would have eaten the entire fro-yo before I remembered to take a picture of it. Glad you had a good 2nd birthday week.

  24. pachecopatty
    May 17, 2011 @ 22:26:10

    I have that problem of getting excited when something really good to eat is before me and then I think, whoops, should have taken a picture;-)

  25. MegSmith @ Cooking.In.College
    May 17, 2011 @ 23:00:42

    Firstly…a month long birthday celebration sounds like the best thing EVER!!! My birthday is in June (21st B-day!!) so I think I will definitely be celebrating aaaalll month🙂

    Secondly..I saw the movie Bridesmaids and laughed until I cried pretty much the entire movie, it was so ridiculous.

    Thirdly…I love those flowers and that bag!

  26. Chaya
    May 17, 2011 @ 23:13:37

    I am having such fun following you around with all these wonderful treats. Thanks for sharing this with us. It is a treat for us to visit you.

  27. Jay
    May 18, 2011 @ 05:10:49

    sounds wonderful…have fun dear…!

    Tasty Appetite
    Event: Letz Relishh Ice Creams

  28. Maris (In Good Taste)
    May 18, 2011 @ 05:55:05

    Gorgeous pictures! Glad you came to the bake sale but you never found me to say hi!

  29. Simply Life
    May 18, 2011 @ 06:20:42

    oh that frozen yogurt looks amazing!

  30. sanyaliving
    May 18, 2011 @ 07:06:03

    Can’t go past that green cannoli! Looks fantastic!

  31. Maya
    May 18, 2011 @ 08:53:25

    I’m so digging this month-long birthday celebration of yours! My favorites this week are the berry froyo and flowers (daffodils?). I now feel like doing a year-long celebration for my birthday, but then it’ll be non-stop and the novelty will surely wear off. Anyhoo…can’t wait to see what you’re going to do next week!

  32. Mary
    May 18, 2011 @ 10:11:11

    You are the best! thank you for teaching all how to celebrate a birthday. I just love it! the photos are lovely, so enjoyed your post.
    Have a great day – and I know you will!
    Mary

  33. Yuri
    May 18, 2011 @ 11:06:19

    Wow your birthday month has been way more fun than mine🙂 Love these posts, btw I still don’t know which day is your bday! I started learning french [again] with Rosetta Stone, lets hope I’m consistent this time. xoxo

  34. Quay Po Cooks
    May 18, 2011 @ 12:42:03

    I love those yellow flowers, I am sure they brighten up your day. I wish you live each day to the fullest even after your birthday month:D

  35. Terra
    May 18, 2011 @ 14:25:19

    Oh how I love love to celebrate Birthday’s for longer then a day! My hubby and I make it a festival, TerraFest2011 was fun too! Happy Happy Birthday:-) I can not wait to see Bridesmaid, it does look so funny:-) Hugs!

  36. Angela
    May 18, 2011 @ 20:48:49

    I am loving your birthday mont. I have never seen a green canolli before. Interesting.

  37. Meri
    May 18, 2011 @ 23:41:59

    That cannoli- “holy cannoli”. I die.
    can’t wait to get flowers from the markets here too!

  38. Trackback: Freeform Lavender Shortbread Cookies & Awards! « Yummy Chunklet
