ffwD: Turkey Bacon, Organic Egg & Purple Passion Asparagus Salad

When it comes to eggs, I prefer them scrambled soft but definitely cooked through. So, the thought of a runny egg yolk, even slightly, makes me uneasy. Now, I’m sure the eggs I usually buy from my local grocery store are fine but I have no guarantee of their freshness. And if I must eat a slightly underdone egg, I want to know that nothing will happen to my insides upon doing so.

Luckily, my search for fresh eggs coincided with the opening day of the Daley Plaza farmers market on May 12th. Looking through the stands, I happened upon Mint Creek Farm touting “Grass-fed meats raised on certified organic prairie pastures.” Surely they’d have fresh eggs as well, right? I checked the list, and fresh organic eggs were among the items! Score! I requested a dozen, but they didn’t have any! However, Kandace (the gal behind the stand) promised that she would have a dozen eggs for me next week on the 19th. When I showed up a week later, Kandace remembered me immediately and set out a carton of twelve very pretty, very fresh organic eggs!I was also able to pick up some purple passion asparagus from another stand.
I’ll admit, this entire salad, not just the egg, is a bit fussy to prepare. That being said, I saved a couple of steps by steaming the purple passion asparagus in the microwave but was disappointed upon seeing the purple color had steamed away. While the eggs were boiling, I made the vinaigrette using only white wine vinegar and olive oil while my sister (Codename: Gamer Psychologist) cooked the turkey bacon. When it was time to shell the eggs, Dorie wasn’t kidding about the process being fussy! I had almost completely shelled the first egg when I felt a bit of the inner membrane resist and the shell pierced the egg white in one swift motion. I held my breath, turned the egg over and found that the yolk was still intact! Woo! I quickly shelled the other egg and gave them both a couple of turns in the bacon fat. After a few grinds of the pepper mill and a sprinkling of almond slices, the salads were ready to eat with yolks still intact!

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by this salad despite its fussiness. It ended up being quite tasty once the yolk started oozing out and coating the greens. Gamer Psychologist’s yolk was slightly more cooked, but she enjoyed her salad as well. The flavors of the creamy egg yolk, bacon, vinaigrette and the pepper worked rather well together. I’m still on the fence as to whether I’ll make this again, but I’m no longer skittish about runny egg yolks!

To see how other bloggers’ fared with their runny egg yolks, head over to French Fridays with Dorie. As usual, the recipe for this dish can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

49 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Krissy
    May 20, 2011 @ 00:20:31

    You are more brave than I…just can’t do runny yolks no matter how fresh the eggs are. I’ve eaten more egg dishes with all this Dorie cooking than I remember eating in a long time…except in desserts like pudding, etc. The thoughts of egg oozing over my salad is just not appetizing, but…good for you to give it a try and that it worked for you. Love your beautiful eggs and that purple asparagus is gorgeous!

  2. Maya
    May 20, 2011 @ 03:56:11

    So happy to know that you’ve gotten over your runnyeggyolkphobia and enjoyed this salad as a result. I also loved the look of your purple asparagus, it did add an extra color to your dish, even after cooking. Someone in the group had their asparagus raw, in ribbons, so that’s something to think about for next time. If there IS a next time! πŸ˜‰

  3. Liz
    May 20, 2011 @ 05:00:31

    LOL, I’m glad I’m in good company with the runny egg paranoia! What beautiful asparagus…perfect for this salad!

  4. Mary
    May 20, 2011 @ 05:42:20

    Wonderful picture and lovely post! I know what you mean about the egg – but once you’re used to it, they’re really lovely runny aren’t they! So great to get produce at the farmer’s market – the egg yolks are brighter yellow don’t you think?
    have a great day
    Mary x

  5. Adriana
    May 20, 2011 @ 06:09:39

    I’m jealous of your market finds! I have never seen purple asparagus before – they are gorgeous! Cracking the eggs was also a surprise for me – I left them in cold water for almost over an hour and the yolk was perfectly oozy. Have a great weekend!

  6. Laural (bhealthier)
    May 20, 2011 @ 07:08:18

    Ive never seen purple asparagus! I too feel uneasy about runny eggs, mostly its the texture that irks me but I know it can be delicious. happy friday!

  7. Linda
    May 20, 2011 @ 07:11:05

    I love runny eggs over a salad! Or should I say a poached egg πŸ™‚ I was about to make a frisee salad last night with the poached egg, but there was no frisee at my store! I wish I had seen your recipe earlier!!

  8. Nandini
    May 20, 2011 @ 07:12:19

    Enjoyed reading the post…I too hate runny yolks but its fun to pour them on the pan when making omelettes. The salad came out really colourful and so delicious!

  9. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    May 20, 2011 @ 07:31:24

    I love runny eggs and asparagus. I wonder if it’d stay purple if you roasted it…

  10. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    May 20, 2011 @ 07:31:48

    Oh also this recipe really needs anise, ha!

  11. Karla
    May 20, 2011 @ 07:51:28

    Oooh, lucky you with the farm-fresh eggs! So glad you’re semi-converted to a softer egg. Love your purple asparagus, too! Gorgeous photos!

  12. Kathy
    May 20, 2011 @ 07:59:14

    Great post! Your purple asparagus look wonderful and I’m so jealous of your unbroken egg yolk. I only made one soft boiled and broke it. But the salad was still delicious! Have a lovely week-end!

  13. Elaine
    May 20, 2011 @ 08:02:37

    I love the color of your salad with the purple asparagus!

  14. Serene
    May 20, 2011 @ 08:15:55

    That’s so gorgeous! I would eat a plate or three of that. πŸ™‚

  15. Cher
    May 20, 2011 @ 08:28:43

    Aren’t farmer’s markets wonderful? There should be more of them – I am convinced. I think Maya is on to something – it probably would be really cool shaved & raw. I think more asparagus should be in your future πŸ™‚

  16. Eileen
    May 20, 2011 @ 08:31:59

    Glad you took the plunge and tried a runny egg! Fresh eggs are definitely the way to go. I buy 2 cartons every week at the farmer’s market here. It’s like a totally different food from supermarket eggs. They actually have flavor!

    Love your purple asparagus, too. I didn’t know there was such a thing. Pretty!

  17. nataliamao
    May 20, 2011 @ 08:43:48

    Ciao ! The purple asparagus look so beautiful, it’s a pity it doesn’t last ! Your special salad looks lovely anyway !

  18. Peggy
    May 20, 2011 @ 08:45:49

    I love runny yolks on salads! And this salad looks absolutely fantastic – great job with it =)

  19. luciacara
    May 20, 2011 @ 09:01:18

    Everyone’s salads look great – including yours. That purple asparagus is so cool…and it still looks good green. I’m lucky that I already like runny egg yolks – we loved this salad πŸ™‚

  20. pachecopatty
    May 20, 2011 @ 10:07:29

    Beautiful looking salad! I agree that working with the soft cooked egg is a bit of a challenge, anytime you read a recipe that states, say a little prayer when you do something, you know there could be trouble ahead! But, it all worked out beautifully in the end;-) I love the purple asparagus, too bad it lost it’s color, kind of like cooking a purple bell pepper.
    Have a nice weekend;-)

  21. Denise @ There's a Newf in My Soup!
    May 20, 2011 @ 10:10:02

    Farm-fresh eggs direct from the source and heirloom varieties of fruits and veggies – that’s why I love Farmers’ Markets! Interesting how the asparagus lost its color – wonder if blanching in salt water would preserve it? Thinking of taking your lead and celebrating my birthday for the entire month of June πŸ˜‰

  22. Jessica of My Baking Heart
    May 20, 2011 @ 11:04:55

    Love the purple on that asparagus – glad you got a picture of it before it steamed! Lovely looking salad! πŸ™‚

  23. kitchen flavours
    May 20, 2011 @ 11:11:15

    This salad looks really good! We love runny eggs and I love salad with eggs, any kind of eggs. The salad really looks and sounds wonderful, will have to take a look at this book of Dorie’s. Have a lovely weekend!

  24. claire
    May 20, 2011 @ 11:27:50

    i have never seen purple passion asparagus! looks amazing- love every ingredient!

  25. Ryan
    May 20, 2011 @ 11:53:33

    Oooh, I love the purple asparagus! Perfect with this pretty salad. Its so nice with all of the deep purples and greens! I don’t like runny eggs either. Just typing it makes me feel icky. πŸ™‚ I know I should get over it.

  26. Mary
    May 20, 2011 @ 12:35:32

    Your salad looks and sounds delicious! As I was reading this, I was thinking it sounded familiar–it then occurred to me that this was the FFwD post! I look at the recipes every week, but can’t seem to make this group a habit. Now I have to go look for some purple asparagus and some eggs. This might be gross for you, but I like them so undercooked that the white is not even fully firm, and in Japan I ate them raw all the time. Mmm.

  27. saffronandhoney
    May 20, 2011 @ 13:11:47

    What GORGEOUS asparagus! Love the creamy yolk, I think it completely ‘makes’ this salad.

  28. Pudding Pie Lane
    May 20, 2011 @ 13:59:34

    Purple asparagus sold this dish for me! πŸ™‚

  29. DessertByCandy
    May 20, 2011 @ 14:04:59

    I’ve never seen purple asparagus before! They look absolutely amazing. I bet if you shave them into ribbons and toss with some regular green ones the result would be stunning!

    The eggs were hard to peel before they were fresh. I come across this often too with eggs directly from the farms.

  30. Cakelaw
    May 20, 2011 @ 14:34:56

    I love the fact that you sourced special ingredients – the purple asparagus is lovely. I agree that this salad was very fussy to make, but ultimately very tasty.

  31. Priya Mahadevan
    May 20, 2011 @ 16:15:18

    you comment totally cracked me up πŸ™‚ lolz! Those are steamed rice cakes – I have posted the recipe for them a while ago – I should add a link for reference πŸ™‚ have a great weekend πŸ™‚

  32. Louise
    May 20, 2011 @ 18:34:21

    That is one inviting salad, Yummy. I too have a problem with runny eggs but I almost think I would be willing to give this dish a try, at least once.

    I really appreciate the asparagus “lesson.” They still look lovely but I think I’ll try mine in the steamer:)

    Thank you so much for sharing…

  33. kankana
    May 20, 2011 @ 19:35:46

    Purple Asparagus !!!! I never knew it was even there. Thanks so much for sharing .. I have to hunt for it .. I love asparagus and that cute purple color will be amazing to give a try πŸ™‚

  34. betsy
    May 20, 2011 @ 20:08:18

    Great looking salad. I’m jealous your farmers market opened already. Ours doesn’t open until May 31. I agree it’s disappointing when those purple veggies turn green when cooked. That happens with purple string beans and purple peppers too.

  35. Maria @ Cocina Diary
    May 20, 2011 @ 21:17:23

    Beautiful. I love those purple asparagus. Just lovely. And I am all for a runny yolk, so I bet it tastes more amazing coming from fresh eggs.

  36. Angela
    May 20, 2011 @ 22:12:34

    That is beautiful. I have never seen purple asparagus before. I love, love a runny egg yolk – so this is a good one for me.

  37. Simply Life
    May 21, 2011 @ 06:51:09

    oh delicious! what a fun salad! this looks like the perfect brunch meal!

  38. Yuri
    May 21, 2011 @ 09:38:26

    Great job with the egg! Nice finds at the farmer’s market: organic eggs and purple asparagus? Lucky girl πŸ™‚

  39. Cooking Gallery
    May 21, 2011 @ 10:25:40

    This looks gorgeous! I am quite sad that the asparagus season is almost over here.

  40. Sutapa
    May 21, 2011 @ 10:37:05

    Asparagus looks great and with egg yolk intact the salad seems super gorgeous ….I would finish the whole lot in one take!

  41. Terra
    May 21, 2011 @ 10:45:07

    Gorgeous!!! The purple asparagus are sooooo beautiful! I have only had white and green, but need to search here for the purple asparagus:-) I am making this tomorrow, really excited to finally make a FFwD recipe:-)
    Hugs, Terra

  42. Trevor Sis. boom
    May 21, 2011 @ 10:46:28

    Looks fantastic. Of the last 4 weeks I’ve been traveling 3 of them so something had to give and I couldn’t make this in time. I’ll get to it though…in large part because of this post!

  43. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    May 21, 2011 @ 16:05:15

    Mmm…I love the runny egg yolk, and really enjoy eating them that way as long as I’m eating my own little hens’ eggs! Your salad is beautiful…I’ve never had the purple asparagus- it’s gorgeous! πŸ™‚

  44. Tricia S.
    May 22, 2011 @ 00:01:42

    Wow- I didn’t even know purple asparagus existed πŸ™‚ I really need to get out of the grocery store and hit more farmer’s markets. I bailed temparily on this one but Nana adored it. She is fan of runny eggs but I can not take them so will be making this when my runny egg loving hubby and sons are around. Yours turned out stunning – that finished photo is something else. Great job !!

  45. Candy
    May 22, 2011 @ 07:01:13

    While I hate to eat asparagus, I do think it’s a pretty vegetable and love the purple passion variety you found!

    I agree that this recipe is a bit fussy.

  46. kitchenarian
    May 22, 2011 @ 07:41:13

    It’s such a beautiful salad. I can still see the purple in the asparagus and your egg is cooked perfectly. Great job!

  47. Renee - Kudos Kitchen
    May 25, 2011 @ 07:51:21

    That is one BEAUTIFUL dish you prepared! Bravo for such a winner. Love the purple asparagus too! Didn’t you just love this dish? We did.

  48. Trackback: ffwD: Warm Weather Vegetable Pot Au Feu « Yummy Chunklet
