Weekend Food & Awards x 3!

My friend and sorority sister (Codename: GPL) was one of the first people I told when I decided to start blogging. She’s read my blog since the beginning and often comments how the desserts I make will “travel well” to her in Florida! Subtle, right? The other day, I received a card from her and inside was a recipe she cut out from the Palm Beach Post for “Pear Flip-Flop” by none other than Dorie Greenspan! This dessert is super quick and easy to make. I think that any fruit will do if pears aren’t already in your kitchen. Oh, and the recipe calls for a 9-inch deep dish Pyrex pie pan, but I don’t have one of those. So, I just used my 8×8 pan. Here’s the result:

A whole pan of Pear Flip-Flop


A single slice

Pear Flip-Flop by Dorie Greenspan

4 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
3/4 c all-purpose flour
3/4 c sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
Pinch of salt
3/4 c milk
1 1/4 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 c slice or diced pears
Powdered sugar, for dusting

1. Cut the butter into chunks and toss into a 9-inch deep-dish pie plate. (Pyrex or ceramic works well.) Place in a 350 degree oven for 5 to 8 minutes, or until butter is melted. Meanwhile, whisk together dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Add milk and vanilla nd whisk until smooth.

2. Pour batter over the hot butter; top with pears. Bake 45 minutes, or until top is browned and a toothpick poked into the center comes out clean. As they bake, the pears will sink to the bottom and for their own layer.

3. Cool 30 minutes, dust with powdered sugar. Serve slightly warm, straight from the dish.

You may have guessed from the title that I’ve received some awards in the past week! Laws of the Kitchen awarded me my THIRD “Stylish Blogger Award”, while A Plate Full of Happiness gave me a FOURTH! A big thanks to both of you for giving me this award! I must say that I’m truly flattered. Laws of the Kitchen was one of the first blogs I started following, and I even made my very first “blog recipe” (a white chocolate torte) from that blog! I discovered A Plate Full of Happiness more recently. I really enjoy reading her blog because her writing has a positive and upbeat tone. Plus, her photos are just awesome. If you don’t have both these blogs in your Google Reader, add them now!

Now, as much as I love receiving this award, I feel that another installment of “7 Things About Me” would just bore everyone to tears, so I’ll forgo that list and create a food-inspired one (just for this time!) Since I’ve started blogging, I’ve made recipes that I never would’ve tried before. As such, my daring has widened and now I want to try more! I’ve seen other bloggers do similar lists, and I think it would be appropriate here. As such, here is my “to do” list of things I want to make:

1. Macaroons: I’m tired of paying Macy’s Department Store $5 for 3 of these little bites!

2. Souffles: I have the ramekins, now I just need to find the patience!

3. Beef Wellington: Beef wrapped in puff pastry? Yes, please!

4. Vegetable curry with Naan: I absolutely love Indian food, but I haven’t had much of it since college. There are several really good Indian restaurants in Chicago, but many of them are buffet-style and that would get me in trouble! Therefore, I want to learn how to make a couple of staple dishes, like the vegetable curry, so that I can feed my need for Indian food. I’ll probably look to Dishes From My Kitchen for some recipes!

5. Whole Baked Camembert: A couple of years ago, Bravo aired one season of a show called “Chef Academy” with classes taught by Chef Jean Christophe Novelli. They made their own bread then made whole baked Camembert. The idea was to get creative with what else to put inside the bread dough with the cheese. The winner placed roasted red peppers or sun dried tomatoes inside. It looked REALLY good.

6. Seafood Paella: This dish looks so delicious, especially with seafood! However, my only real reservation for not making this sooner is lack of a large enough pan!

7. Martha Stewart’s Tiramisu Ice Cream Cake: This recipe isn’t hard by any means, but it just seems more time-consuming and involved than I think an ice cream cake should be. However, it is one of the first recipes I ever saw Martha Stewart make on her show years ago, and it’s been in the recesses of my mind ever since.

Anyway, I’m truly thankful that this corner of the blogosphere has accepted me so warmly. I owe a lot of that to the participants of French Fridays with Dorie, so instead of passing on the award to 15 individual bloggers, I choose to pass it on to all my fellow “Doristas”! A big thanks to Trevor at sis.boom.[blog!] for coining that term!

Kathy at Bakeaway With Me gave me a different award that I haven’t seen before! It’s the “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award!” I want to thank her so much for all her encouragement and thoughtful comments to my blog. She’s a great blogger, baker and cook, and her blog is a must read! Thanks again, Kathy!

This award has fewer rules when it comes to passing it on. From what I understand, I can pay it forward to as few or as many SISTER bloggers who deserve it. I was thinking about the past couple of weeks, and one blogger in particular stopped blogging for a bit because of the strife and dangerous political climate that was occurring in her homeland of Egypt. Understandably, blogging was the furthest thing from her mind with her home country in a state of unrest, including the entire country’s internet service providers being shut down. It made me appreciate the freedoms I have that many do not.

As such, I’m happy to know that several of the wonderful blogs I’ve come to read and enjoy are ones from different countries, with different ideologies and different cultures. Therefore, I’m happy to pass on the “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award” to all the bloggers who are overseas (or feel connected to a “home” country other than the US), including the following:

Miss Anthropist’s Kitchen

Laws of the Kitchen
Bright Morning Star
Brownieville Girl
The Good Life
Quay Po Cooks

Thank you again to Laws of the Kitchen, A Plate Full of Happiness, and Bakeaway With Me for giving me these awards! Now, everyone stay safe and get baking!

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ker-Yng
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 13:06:47

    Congratulations on getting all these awards! I find your blog very enjoyable and I’m glad so many people think so too! I like your ‘To Do’ list, I have one as well and just last week I crossed ‘Macaron’s off the list. It wasn’t a successful first try so I didn’t blog about it. I’ll give it another try soon. Good luck with yours!

  2. Cher
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 13:39:56

    Congrats! Love your bucket list for cooking challenges. I am right with you on wanting to try those macaroons. I haven’t built up the fortitude yet…

  3. Ronda
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 14:00:56

    Well congrats on all those awards!

    I have been wanting to learn how to make Indian food too. I have watched several different Indian cooking shows and they all make it seem so easy. Yet when I try to make something, it does not turn out so well. One of my plans is to stop baking so much and to start making one Indian meal a week.

  4. Three-Cookies
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 16:03:16

    Pear flip flop is such a funny name, I think of shoes 🙂

  5. RadioDiva
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 16:17:50

    Triple Award winner?!?!?
    LIKE!!!
    See?! I can do the whole facebook thing too…. 😉

  6. Mary
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 17:15:44

    Congratulations on your well-deserved awards. You really have earned them. I love your pear cake. I’ve not seen it before and it does sound wonderful. I hope you have a great evening. Blessings…Mary

  7. Jessica
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 17:50:59

    Wow, more awards! Good job! When you finally try the bake Camembert, you should also try baked brie. So delicious!!! Congrats again!

  8. Kankana
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 19:15:26

    Congrats on the awards 🙂 and as for the to do list .. i have mine too and it includes souffle and tiramisu. I told my friend, the day I make a successful Souffle I might just cry … how silly !!

  9. GPL
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 23:48:11

    Seriously!! I’d loooove for you to send me some treats!! That’s why I keep sending you recipes! Hint hint – not so subtle 🙂

    Congrats on all the awards…the pear flip flops look a-mazing! Good thing you posted the recipe b/c I didn’t keep it!

    Baked soft cheese in a pastry with almonds and cherries inside…yum! waiting to have a good red wine again before I make that though.

    Ciao from “downstairs”

  10. Andrew
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 01:44:59

    That Pear Flip-Flop looks good. I also really like Indian food, the vegetable curry sounds like a really good idea, I may have to try making that sometime soon as well. Congratulations on getting another award!

  11. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 05:48:07

    First of all i lovee all those cute code names u give ur family and frens:-)
    The flip flop sure sounds and looks wonderful!!
    Ur list of to do’s is v impressive!
    The only thing i have done on that list is seafood paella that we saw on a TV show :-)v good , have to look for the recipe 🙂
    And congrats on all ur wonderul awards babe!
    U deserve them all and many more!

  12. Elaine
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 08:58:06

    Congratulations on your awards!!! The pear flip-flop cake looks so good. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

  13. cca
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 10:43:39

    congrats! such a good blogger!!

    let me know how the macaroons come out… i am too scared to try!

  14. Miss Anthropist
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 14:55:23

    Thank you SO much for sharing another award with me! And congrats on all your awards, you totally deserve it 🙂
    PS. Everything on your list of things you want to make are on my list! 😀

  15. Liz
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 20:11:45

    Oh, boy, that pear flip flop looks wonderful…I truly love pears in desserts! And congratulations on your growing list of awards!!! I agree that the Doristas are a fabulous group…that’s how I found you 🙂

    PS…love your to-do list…bet you’ll have them all made by this time next year!

  16. Domestic Goddess Wannabe
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 03:43:39

    Wow – congratulations on all of your Awards. Your blog is a joy to read!

    The pear flip-flop looks great, and very apt to have it given to you by a travelling friend. I am right up there with you in wanting to make macaroons. I have not even tried one, but I think they look divine. A brilliant present.

  17. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 05:49:11

    Aww , how did i miss it when i came here?
    THannxx a ton , for giving me my second Sis ‘hood award !
    Am honored to receive this one with love from u 🙂
    I have a few awards pending to post about and its on my to do list but i sure have to update my awards page with this one 🙂
    happy day with love!

  18. Brownieville Girl
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 06:47:57

    I’m not surprised you have recieved so many awards!

    This was an excellent post – loved you list of “to cooks”.

    Thank you so much for thinking of me – it’s great to belong to the sisterhood!

  19. sanyaliving
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 06:55:22

    Great recipes and great blog! It’s easy to see why you have been awarded so many awards, so many times! You deserve it!
    Thanks for thinking of me and passing it on! Very honoured!
    Keep up the great work!

  20. Chaya
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 09:07:12

    I have so much to say.

    You must be one special gal to get so many awards. Kudos.

    I printed this pear recipe and can’t wait to make it.

    Your cooking accomplishments are something to be proud of.

  21. Cakelaw
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 15:18:55

    Pear flip-flop looks so good – and I bought 3 pears for cooking earlier in the week! This one tempts me. Congrats on your awards, and thanks so much for awarding me the sisterhood badge. Have a great weekend.

  22. Trevor Sis Boom
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 21:31:35

    Yeah! Awards! Thanks for picking up my “Doristas” label. I’m really trying to make it stick! I took a photo of some Doristas and posted on my new blog layout. Macarons have been on my to do list for two years now. . . sigh.

  23. Anita Menon
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 02:41:12

    Congrats on being a stylish blog!

    The to-do list seems a very interesting one. Macarons are on the top of my list too.
    This is my first visit to your blog and I enjoyed going through all your older posts. Lovely work!