White Chocolate Torte

Anyone out there use Google Reader? I do, and ever since I joined the ffwD cook-along project last month, my Reader now boasts an ample number of cooking/baking blogs that I never read before October. One of the more interesting blogs is Laws of the Kitchen. The blog is intriguing because the author is an attorney like I am, but in Australia! Nifty, right?

Anyway, Laws of the Kitchen posted a recipe for a white chocolate torte, which is admirable because the author does not care for white chocolate but instead made the torte for a friend who does.

Me? I greatly prefer white chocolate! So, obviously, I had to try out this recipe. My only concern was that the original utilized the Metric system. Being in the United States, this posed a slight problem for me, especially since I do not own a food scale. (To the few colleagues who read this blog and might pull my name in the grab bag, I do have a digital food scale listed!) To the best of my ability, I converted the measurements to the American system. Most of the conversions turned out to be the rough equivalent to a basic measurement plus a little extra, like 1/2 c. plus 1&1/2 tbsp. In those cases, I just used a “heaping” portion of the ingredient.

The cake turned out quite delicious, if a bit sticky at first. (For some reason, I felt the need to invert the cake to let it cool.)

The cake as it's cooling

Also, I only made half of the topping since I knew I wasn’t going to do multiple coatings. However, you can see that the topping was still a bit runny, so I just lifted the bottom of the cake a couple of times so the glaze could soak on that end as well.

With one coating of topping

Slicing into this cake was the best part! These slices only had one coating while the photo at the top of this post had additional spillover glaze added (just for pretty photo purposes).

The only other thing I did differently was that I used tiramisù mascarpone cheese, which added a nice flavor to the already sweet white chocolate glaze topping. If you like white chocolate, I highly recommend this recipe. I loved it!

*White Chocolate Torte adapted from Laws of the Kitchen:

Torte:
3 eggs
heaping 1/3 c. sugar
heaping 1/3 c. white chocolate, melted
1/2 c. all-purpose flour

Topping:
heaping 1/2 c. heavy cream
heaping 1 c. white chocolate chips
heaping 1/2 c. mascarpone

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Grease an 8″ round springform pan.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs and sugar with a standmixer or electric hand beater until they are thick and pale. Sift the flour, then fold it into the egg mixture, followed by the melted chocolate.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, and bake for 20 minutes or until cooked through. Allow the cake to cool in the tin before unmolding.

To make the topping, put the cream and white chocolate into a medium sized saucepan, and stir over low heat until the chocolate has melted and the mixture is smooth. Take the saucepan off the heat, and allow to cool slightly. Mix the mascarpone into the chocolate mixture, then pour the topping over the top of the cake and let the glaze run down the sides.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Molly
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 16:59:30

    Looks really tasty, but I think I’d like some color – maybe I’m just too interested in dark chocolate. Otherwise, it looks delicious!

  2. Jessica
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 18:47:20

    Sounds like this torte could go well with some fruit!

  3. Summer
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 00:30:52

    Oh i saw this on Cakelaw and totally loved it too!!!
    And u have a fantastic bake here too!!
    Loving it!!!
    I love the use of Tiramisu cheese u used so muc too!
    I repld to ur comment but cudn send the mail coz didn find ur mail in the comment[profile]:-(((((

  4. Serene
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 10:31:56

    Looks lovely!

  5. Cakelaw
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 15:38:19

    I didn’t realise that you were a lawyer too! Love your torte. The glaze/topping was a challenge to work with – to get mine to stick like a frosting, I had to let it set for quite a while and then do numerous coats. The book said to spread it on – not sure how they managed that unless they chilled it for a few hours beforehand (which it doesn’t say to do). Glad you liked this cake, and thanks for linking back!

  6. Trackback: Weekend Food & Awards x 3! « Yummy Chunklet
