Happy Valentine’s Day!

I recently added foodgawker to my Google Reader, and that site is to be approached with caution! Don’t get me wrong. Those dishes and photos are pretty amazing, but for me, it gives me baking ADD: “I want to make that!” “OMG! I have to try that!” “I definitely think I can do that!” Yeah, this is the over-excitedness that gets me in trouble!

That being said, I really wanted to make the cutest Valentine’s Day cupcakes I saw on the site: ones with a pink heart baked in the middle! I followed the original recipe for the batter from bake it in a cake! My zealous nature got the better of me because I lacked the most crucial component to making these cupcakes: a small heart-shaped cookie cutter. I thought that finding one the day before Valentine’s Day wouldn’t be too difficult. My friend (Codename: Candelabra) thought the same. We were so wrong! I went to several stores looking in the baking and crafts sections for this darn cookie cutter, but no luck. So, I attempted to make a cut-out heart template, which was accurately sized, but individually cutting the cake around this piece of cardstock really didn’t work too well. As such, my pretty hearts turned out like this (get ready!):

BEFORE


AFTER

See? This is why the tops of the cupcakes are in the opening photo! I made the frosting using a recipe I saw on Cocina Diary. It was a different way of making frosting than I’m used to, but it turned out extremely delicious! Anyway, here’s hoping everyone allows themselves a little indulgence today, whether it be chocolate, cake, or chocolate cake!

One last note, one of my friends (Codename: DoT Gamer) is celebrating his birthday on Valentine’s Day! So, I hope you have a happy, happy birthday! Here’s a special treat for you!

Happy Birthday, DoT Gamer! You can share the other cupcake with you-know-who!

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 21:23:15

    Those are so cute with the little hearts inside! Have a happy Valentines Day!🙂

  2. Ker-Yng
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 21:27:35

    These are cute, I think you did a pretty good job with the heart inside the cupcake. It is a very clever idea! I don’t know how you do it, keeping a (demanding, I presume) full-time legal job and finding the time to read all these blogs and posts! Keep it up anyway!!🙂

  3. Ronda
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 21:32:17

    Those are so fun! That frosting looks so good.

  4. sara
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 23:04:33

    What a cute idea! Even with not having the cookie cutters, I think the hearts still turned out really well…adorable!🙂

  5. Jessica
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 23:27:36

    I love the amount of frosting those cupcakes have. The heart shape is close enough; we get the idea! I should make some of these cupcakes for the apartment!

  6. sanyaliving
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 23:47:41

    OMG! That is the coolest thing ever!

  7. Three-Cookies
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 02:40:09

    Interesting idea to have the heart inside

  8. Domestic Goddess Wannabe
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 02:52:39

    These are great – the heart inside makes such a nice surprise for the eater🙂

  9. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 06:05:37

    Aww, yummy C,i know exactly what u mean:-)
    That idea is sooo fantastic , i so want to make these too now, and i already have so biggg a must bakes list ….
    Happy Valentines day to u too , with love always !
    Am sure ur enjoying with these absolutely cute and pretty cupcakes!
    Mia.

  10. Cher
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 07:58:00

    How fun! Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

  11. Liz
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 16:17:04

    With all that wonderful, fluffy frosting, your cupcakes must be delicious! And for using a homemade template, those hearts are pretty darned amazing! Good job!!! Happy Valentine’s Day to you!!!!

  12. Brownieville Girl
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 18:45:10

    I think you did really well, particularly considering you didn’t have the right tool for the job.

  13. Elaine
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 19:33:28

    What a great idea to put a heart in the middle of the cupcake. They look so cute! Happy Valentine’s Day!

  14. betsy
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 20:25:57

    Happy Valentine’s Day! Always think of Valentine’s Day as a cupcake holiday (over chocolate). These are so cute, and colorful.
    I’m glad I discovered your blog through FFwD. I stopped by today to award you the Stylish Blogger Award to let you know how much I enjoy it. I know others have done the same, but I still wanted to share my appreciation of what you’re doing. Reading your blog brightens my day. Happy Cooking! Betsy

  15. Mary
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 22:32:16

    These are cute and colorful and altogether perfect for Valentine’s Day. I hope cupid was kind to you. Have a great evening. Blessings…Maryi

  16. Andrew
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 23:56:27

    Happy Valentines Day!

  17. Cakelaw
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 02:49:10

    Awww – these are so cute! Love the ittle hearts inside. Hope you had a great Valentines Day.

  18. Jackie (Phamfatale.com)
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 04:08:54

    Perfect for the special occasion! I love the hidden heart in the center of the cupcake. How cool is that? Hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

  19. chunklet's mom
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 18:32:49

    yup, definitely getting a little angry at reading this post again😛

  20. cca
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 10:44:28

    how cute!!! i love them!

  21. cupcake girl
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 11:47:58

    I also attempted making these howewer ny cake in the middle didnt turn out pink enough. still tasted good though

