ffwD: Pancetta Green Beans

This week’s ffwD recipe is pancetta green beans, a simple side dish that works well with mostly any main course. I followed the recipe and tossed the beans with crispy pancetta, but I have a feeling this dish would also work with some prosciutto or even bacon.

This dish was simple. Almost too simple. Did anyone else feel a little unfulfilled with this week’s recipe? Like something else needed to be mixed in, measured or sliced? Or that there should be more to it? Maybe it’s just me. I suppose I’m used to seeing a ffwD recipe with an abundance of ingredients (chicken b’stilla), multiple steps (orange-almond tart), and sometimes a labyrinth of preparation options (double chocolate mousse cake). While simple is good, I do enjoy having a bit more involvement. I mean, how much can one say about the experience of making green beans and pancetta?

Anyway, I served this side dish with baked tilapia and Julia Child’s white butter sauce, or buerre blanc, which I have been wanting to make for quite some time. I seriously thought I was going to pass out when I saw that I had to whisk TWO whole sticks of butter into the white wine and shallot reduction just to get one cup of sauce. However, it was completely worth it. The creamy and tangy sauce went extremely well with the fish even after it had cooled a bit. Plus, I cheated a little and put just a bit on the green beans and pancetta as well. It was that good! Sorry that I don’t have any photos of the fish or white butter sauce. I didn’t think about that until after all the fish had been eaten!

Make sure to check out other bloggers’ thoughts and results of these pancetta green beans at French Fridays with Dorie. As usual, the recipe for this dish can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 01:01:05

    I’m not a fan of green beans, but I’d eat the pancetta. I think it’s amusing that you felt that this recipe was too easy compared to your previous ffwD adventures! I guess it’s a nice break!

  2. Three-Cookies
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 04:31:34

    Too simple? I suppose simple is nice somtimes:) The greens look very green and healthy.

  3. Liz
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 05:11:04

    I wasn’t bowled over by these, but I rarely am by a veggie side dish. My hubby, though, thought they were fabulous! And I was ready for a break…just wait till you make the short ribs…a two day project🙂

    PS…your beans look great~

  4. Ronda
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 07:36:08

    That sauce sounds wonderful! Your green beans are nice and green too!

  5. Cher
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 07:59:31

    Ah! Another bean + fish pair. Great minds. And the butter sauce sounds heavenly. When Julia tried the fish in butter sauce in Julie & Julia – that had to be one of my favorite scenes from the movie (I also watched the movie just to see the Julia scenes…)

  6. Ker-Yng
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 08:18:29

    I’m skipping this week’s as the green beans I saw weren’t fresh. I think I would feel unfulfilled like you if I were to make this. Your beans look great and the baked fish with butter sauce sounds delicious!

  7. Flourchild
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 08:21:46

    Im glad you enjoyed this recipe, It was super easy, but a nice change! Your pictures are great!

  8. Anne-Marie
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 08:23:39

    I agree with Liz’s comment: next week when we’re up to our elbows in shortribs and gremolata I’ll be longing for the EZBeanz. Good beans, Miz Chunklet, and the fish with cream sauce was inspired. See? Butter is good for you!

  9. Elaine
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 08:49:20

    I almost didn’t do this week’s recipe, but I am glad I did because we did enjoy them. I agree with some of the others that this was a nice break recipe in between the tart and the ribs. Your beans look great and I bet were really good with Julia’s fish.

  10. ComeUndone
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 08:58:10

    LOL I know what you mean thinking “that’s it for the recipe?!”. Good work on tackling beurre blanc.

  11. Sarah
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 09:15:06

    Next week you might be longing for the green bean days!! I think it’s smart that you did a little extra for this meal. I would love to see some pictures from the rest of the meal!

  12. Krissy
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 09:49:01

    I’m with you. It was funny to me that my cyber friends actually voted this recipe in…it just seems like something you cook on the side of “real cooking”…I guess that’s why we dreamed up a whole dinner that included these beans, which were good…

  13. Terri
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 09:52:28

    Looks yummy! I may have to try a beurre blanc– you make it sound easy!

  14. gaaarp
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 10:17:42

    I made these with the short ribs. I like the fact that we often have different elements of a meal (main dish, dessert, sides, etc.), as I like to make more than one recipe at a time.

  15. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 11:41:32

    This is random, but I love your plates! It is so pretty.

    Anyways, I am so excited you tried Julia Child’s white butter sauce because I think it is pure deliciousness.

  16. Jessica of My Baking Heart
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 11:41:48

    It *was* super easy. I felt like I needed to be doing something else, but nonetheless, I loved these! Yours look great!🙂

  17. kitchenarian
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 18:35:35

    I agree with you, this recipe was super easy but I loved it. I have already made it twice this week! Great post.

  18. Tricia
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 18:54:57

    I am so impressed that you added the “extra credit points” of buerre blanc to this week ! I had a fleeting moment of thinking that there wasn’t much to this recipe but that was quickly followed with “let’s get it done” and then “Oh my gosh…this is so good…I wonder if they will notice I finished it ” Nana and I are gearing up for the short ribs so this quick hit was a welcome relief🙂

  19. Betsy
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 20:08:29

    It was nice to have an easy recipe for a change. The beurre blanc sounds very decadent. I like your plate.

  20. ryan
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 21:22:34

    Ha, I thought the same thing, “Wow, its done already?” It was a nice little breather for me but well done on the beurre blanc! It sounds lovely!

  21. sara
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 21:41:09

    Yum, that fish with buerre blanc sounds amazing with the green beans…the perfect pairing!🙂

  22. Cakelaw
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 23:16:19

    I am with you – I kinda thought – beans huh. I bought pancetta, but believe diced bacon would have been just as good. Love the sound of your fish with white sauce – yum!

  23. sanyaliving
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 23:38:30

    Can I just start by saying I luv the name of your blog!
    Would have loved to have seen the sauce and fish photos and I am imagining it soaking the beans now! Fantastic!

  24. Brownieville Girl
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 04:38:06

    A lovely fresh looking veg dish.

    Always a good sign of a sucessful dinner when it is eaten so fast there is no chance to photograph it!!!

  25. Mary
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 08:56:39

    What a lovely looking vegetable dish. You did a great job with this challenge. I hope you have a great weekend. Blessings…Mary

  26. StephIrey
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 09:46:31

    I agree…not much to write about, but boy were they good! Yours look delicious. And I love a sauce made with two sticks of butter!!

  27. chunklet's mom
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 11:54:34

    I approve the pancetta part. I guess the green beans are okay😉

  28. Lana
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 00:59:05

    No, I did not miss hundreds of ingredients and a long list of directions. I was extremely happy we can make something simple:) Otherwise I would not have been able to catch up. Yes, I am selfish, and these beans allowed me to come back and play.
    Yours look great. And your dinner sounds like a good match.

  29. Renee (Kudos Kitchen)
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 14:52:22

    Love that you added Julia’s buerre blanc sauce to fancy up this dish a bit. I’m sure that must have been an amazing addition to this very simple recipe. Good for you for mixing it up! Can’t wait for next weeks short rib recipe. Seems like we’ll really get to the ribs of the matter with that recipe🙂

  30. Allison
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 16:53:09

    Thanks for the tips on the Burre Blanc…It’s been on my list for a while. Might have to make that right away!

  31. Trevor Sis Boom
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 21:34:22

    I loved this dish. But not enough to give it a post of its own. lol. I love JC’s b.blanc sauce! Almost enough to drink!

  32. cca
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 22:05:46

    i havent braved burre blanc, but i appreciate all the insight! looks delish!

  33. Teresa
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 03:38:33

    Beurre blanc! Sounds delicious. Personally, I was happy to have a simple recipe this week, especially since the shortribs will be a two-day affair.

  34. Lola's Kitchen
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 07:28:36

    I agree it was a simple which was fine with me since I served it with the short ribs! Yours look very good.

  35. Trackback: ffwD: Short Ribs in Red Wine & (No) Port « Yummy Chunklet
  36. Serene
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 08:20:54

    Ohmigosh, buerre blanc, I’m totally gonna make that this weekend!

