Forever Nigella: Street Party!

This month’s Forever Nigella (hosted by Mardi at eat. live. travel. write.) required participants to make fun appetizer-like finger foods that one would bring to a British street party. In Britain, street parties are traditionally held to celebrate national events. The Royal Wedding was offered as inspiration for this virtual street party but, honestly, my friend (Codename: Candelabra) and I couldn’t find too much inspiration in that considering we’re on the western side of the Atlantic. On a more humorous note, I find it hilarious that Ricky Gervais has been asked several times whether he was planning on watching the Royal Wedding, and he gave this very blunt answer. (See #3 of Week one hundred and sixty-four – April 2011).

Don’t get me wrong! Both Candelabra and I were very excited for this theme because Candelabra had the perfect recipe submission: Nigella’s cocktail sausages.Candelabra has been jonesing to make these sausages again ever since she first served them at her sister-in-law’s baby shower. And when I say jonesing, I mean that for EVERY THEME since the beginning of Forever Nigella, Candelabra has suggested we make cocktail sausages for our joint submission. (Actually, Candelabra refers to them as cocktail “weenies”, as in, “Let’s make the weenies!” But, I can’t get on board with that term.)

Let’s take a look here. For “Seasonal Sensations”, these sausages were a possibility but there were too many other Christmas-y type dishes I wanted to make instead. Plus, Candelabra was too busy to participate that month.Then came “Seduced by Chocolate”. Making the sausages might have been a bit too “suggestive”, especially if we somehow incorporated a chocolate dipped sausage!! “Ciao Italia” might have worked but the way Nigella prepares these sausages isn’t authentic Italian. So, when Candelabra heard the “Street Party!” theme, she immediately exclaimed, “Cocktail sausages! They actually make sense this time!”

I have a sneaky suspicion that Candelabra will continue to suggest cocktail sausages for future Forever Nigella themes. The craziest part is that Candelabra has so much stuff going on this month that she won’t be able to make her beloved cocktail sausages in time. Isn’t that terrible? ‘Tis the life of a surgical oncologist…

Now that I’ve made these cocktail sausages, I understand Candelabra’s enthusiasm. The prep is minimal and the smell of the sesame oil and soy sauce is intensified during the cooking process while the sweet honey comes through on the palate. The sweet and savory sauce is so tasty that you’ll want to make sure and get all the lovely sauce onto the serving platter. I highly recommend these for your next party. So does Candelabra!

To see this month’s round-up of “Street Party!” Nigella recipes, head over to Forever Nigella! Or, better yet, join in the fun for next month!

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Spike
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 10:26:46

    fun idea for a theme party! I have to go check out the Ricky Gervais comments now. He cracks me up

  2. Ronda
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 11:31:04

    Fun!

  3. Laural (bhealthier)
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 12:23:56

    omg, i hate weenies!!! I thought they were medjool dates HAHA. Jeff’s nana is total british off the boat and makes weenies often. can’t do em. but love your spirit!

  4. Three-Cookies
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 12:47:28

    This looks and sounds sort of like Chinese sausage

    • yummychunklet
      Apr 26, 2011 @ 12:55:51

      The sauce and baking do make these sausages similar to Chinese sausage. But, Chinese sausage is usually somewhat dry when taken out of the package and cooked to plump them up while Nigella’s sausages start out plump and then get slightly dry from the baking.

  5. Kankana
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 13:00:27

    Nigella is one of my fav and who can ever say no to such a party theme 🙂

  6. Parsley Sage
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 17:02:12

    Little weenies! They looks delicious and TOTALLY royal 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing!

  7. Pachecopatty
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 18:08:32

    These do look delicious and the party idea sounds like fun;-)

  8. Cakelaw
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 18:47:27

    These look delish and would be perfect for a royal wedding street party!

  9. Ryan
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 19:18:36

    Ha, Haaa, I love the deliberations between you and your sister on how you came to make the “weenies.” They look great and sound really good! Nigella rocks!

  10. sanyaliving
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 21:21:15

    Love your friend’s persistence!
    They look great!

  11. Elaine
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 21:31:42

    I’ve never made these, but when we have a potluck at work it seems like someone always makes them in a crock pot with grape jelly and they smell good when they are cooking and they taste great. Yours look good!

  12. Meri
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 22:22:09

    haha, I guess the… fifth? time was the charm for the weenies! Does it bother you that now EVERYONE is calling them weenies in the comments? jk.
    I never was able to find that Ricky Gervais quote?

  13. sweetlife
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 23:45:25

    how fun great event, love the sauce..weenies..just so funny to say, thanks for sharing

    sweetlife

  14. Liz
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 05:47:07

    Oh, gosh, my hubby could eat a bucketful of these!!! They look marvelous! I’m making my Nigella appy on Friday 🙂

  15. Jessica
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 14:34:17

    That’s a lot of sausage. I’m glad you and Candelabra finally got to prepare them!

  16. cakewhiz
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 15:16:41

    this looks like such a fun event and seems like you had a great time making these weenies….

  17. Peggy
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 16:18:24

    Oh there’s always a time for cocktail sausages! These look great and what a great submission for the Street Party!

  18. Mary
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 18:15:29

    These look wonderful and I can understand why she was so anxious to post them. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  19. Maris (In Good Taste)
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 21:00:54

    These look yummy!

  20. Trevor Sis. boom
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 21:09:27

    I want to be a guest at Nigella’s house to watch the royal wedding. We would eat these weenies with the gusto that only Nigella can muster. Yum!!!

  21. rebecca
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 22:03:29

    fun event and love little cocktail sausages as a Brit we used to have them at kiddies parties

  22. Maya@Foodiva's Kitchen
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 22:35:56

    Candelabra seems like she’s on to a good thing because I served cocktail sausages too for the Street Party! Except mine were slightly warmer, all wrapped up in blankets…haha. I like the flavors of these weenies. Can I say weenies?

  23. Little Inbox
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 23:29:14

    This is such a mouth-watering finger food.

  24. Cher
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 06:59:52

    Hmmm. Not so much a fan of the cocktail sausage (sorry), but love the street party theme for the Royal Wedding. Although, I am sure my neighbors would find it excessively odd if I hosted a street party at 4 AM…

  25. Anita Menon
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 12:10:15

    They look great, but I can’t have them. I am poor fish and chicken devourer only. But they sure do look so appetising..

  26. Chaya
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 22:55:37

    The odor is filling my kitchen (in my mind) and I love it. What a wonderful way to cook sausages.

  27. Chaya
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 23:21:33

    Hi, you are tagged for some fun. Share your menu.

    http://comfycookc.blogspot.com/2011/04/mothers-day-tag-menu.html