Sorry, raisins, you’ll get no love here!

After reading several posts on this week’s ffwD recipe, beggar’s linguine, I found it amusing that the recipe was met with a lot of hesitation amongst the Doristas*. Whether to include a certain ingredient in their pasta caused a great deal of contention. That ingredient? Raisins.

Though many Doristas ended up enjoying the recipe, several across this corner of the blogsphere noted that raisins were not welcome in their beggar’s linguine and opted to omit the dreaded raisins, including myself. This resistance made me laugh because there are those who do not welcome raisins in any dish at all. Including myself.

I realized that one’s preference towards raisins is pretty polarizing. Sure, you can say there are those that don’t mind them, but to that I say, make a decision and choose a side! There’s no “I’m a member of both teams!” (By the way, I’m kidding there. Everyone is free to feel “meh” about any food they want. Ha!)

But, back to the yucky raisins. I’ve found that once someone is opposed to raisins, the feeling is rather strong. So strong, that my baby sister (Codename: DSN Engineer) found and emailed the entire family a comic strip that articulated her feelings:

This comic became a running joke in my family so quickly that we gave DSN Engineer this t-shirt for Christmas: Bottom line: screw raisins of all kinds. For my family, give us fresh grapes any day, green or red!

*Thank you Trevor at sis.boom.[blog]! for coining that phrase.

On a different topic, I received another Stylish Blogger Award from Ryan at Ryan Bakes.

As such, I have four things I must do. First, thank the blogger that gave this award to me. Thank you, Ryan! Ryan’s blog is fairly new compared to most bloggers I read, but her take on many dishes is refreshing and unique. It’s pretty clear she knows her stuff when it comes to making fun dishes! Make sure to check out her blog!

Second, I have to share seven things about myself. Hmm, I’ve done this several times plus doing a “wish list” of foods I want to make. Now, I’ll switch it up and name seven foods I’m looking forward to baking with now that warmer weather is around the corner (and when they’ll be fresh and in season!):

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

As the third part of receiving this award, I get to pass on the award to up to fifteen other bloggers. I’d like to pass on the Stylish Blogger Award to the following:

Laural at Being Healthier
Yuri at Chef Pandita
Candy at dulceshome
Lindsey at Gingerbread Bagels
Angela at This is what I eat….

Finally, I must inform the recipients of this award. Done and done! Thanks again to Ryan at Ryan Bakes for giving me this award!

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monica (MsHobby)
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 12:03:17

    Photo #4 of the tomatoes caused me to do an audible “mmmm” when I saw those pretty slices. Can’t wait for tomato season!

    And the worst place I’ve found raisins hiding is in the granola in my yogurt parfait. Yuck!

  2. Chunklet's Mom
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 12:20:34

    Good job. I kind of like raisins though 😦

  3. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 12:57:19

    I can eat raisins by themselves but I DO NOT like them in cookies. 🙂 Or in bread pudding or rice pudding or anything else cooked. They become slimy gooey things that I’d rather not eat. 🙂 (Imho)

  4. angela
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 14:10:32

    This post is hilarious! I am on the raisin side, but I completely respect your right to despise them:) Congrats on the award and thank you so much for passing it on!

  5. Ker-Yng
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 15:21:04

    My hubby doesn’t like raisins but I’m the baker in the family and my son and I like them so guess who has to pick them out? 😉

  6. Jessica
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 15:42:43

    Excellent.

  7. Audrey
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 16:41:36

    Poor, poor raisins. You can send them all over to my house.
    Thanks for coming by again — I couldn’t remember who bought the eight figs, or I would have acknowledged you – fixed! 🙂

  8. Parsley Sage
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 20:28:13

    While I, myself, am pro-raisin I can’t help but giggle when I think of all the times someone who is NOT pro-raisin has been ninja-ed by some unsuspecting chocolate chip cookies. The t-shirt rocks. Well done 🙂

  9. chefpandita
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 22:47:47

    Both the comic strip and the t-shirt are hilarious!

    I love grapes, can’t live without wine so it would be kinda silly to say I’m not a raisin person :p

    Congrats on getting the award and thank u so much for passing it along. It means a lot to me!! Hope you had a great weekend 🙂

  10. Three-Cookies
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 05:40:47

    What about rehydrated raisins, do they have a chance since they are almost grapes?:)

  11. Ronda
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 07:34:45

    I ❤ Raisins! My hubby </3 raisins. It is sad.

    I am dying for the morels to come up too!

  12. Kathy
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 07:50:50

    Love the T-shirt! Very funny! Enjoyed your post. Honestly, I like raisins!

  13. Trix
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 08:08:18

    That cartoon is too funny! And I agree, raisins need to stay OUT of my cookies. *shudders*

  14. Louise
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 08:38:06

    Dare I say, it took me most of my life to warm up to raisins. However, they have their place. That comic and that T-Shirt are way coooool!

    Congrats to all the award winners and thanks for sharing. Can’t wait to “see” you cook up all those ingredients!!!

  15. Laural (bhealthier)
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 12:10:59

    Hahahaha, LOVE IT! THANK YOU SO MUCH! I feel so honored!

    I like raisins in oatmeal and oatmeal cookies. I agree with DSN Engineer- No raisins in my chocolate chip cookie. The comic strip almost made me pee my pants. Thank goodness I did not, I might have been fired for peeing in my office.

    😉

  16. Jackie (Phamfatale.com)
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 12:55:19

    Désolée: I’m for TEAM RAISINS lol (love the Tee, did you get it custom-ordered?)

  17. Renee
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 13:40:43

    Here Here! Down with raisins in things!!!! I can handle them alone but would highly prefer to eat something else anyday.

  18. Candy
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 14:46:06

    Hilarious!!! No raisins in pasta for me!

    Thanks for the award!! Now that I’m back home, I need to get busy! Loved your visuals of what you are looking forward to. Mouthwatering!

  19. ryan
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 18:04:44

    Ha Ha, I love that shirt! That’s a great idea for the seven things! Yay, can’t wait for spring/summer and all of the yummy produce to come!

  20. Kankana
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 20:56:07

    it’s so funny .. your post .. LOL !!!

  21. Mary
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 08:00:53

    I love that T-shirt. Too cute for words. Congratulations on another well-deserved award. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  22. gingerbreadbagels
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 09:48:50

    That is too funny!!! I promise to never put raisins in your cookies. 😉

    Congrats on the award! And thank you for giving me the award, you made my day. 🙂

  23. Cher
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 19:21:16

    Black raisins & shredded coconut. EWWWWWWWWWWWWW. I can live with the gold ones – they don’t look like little bugs. The Dude has this one special family “holiday bread” recipe where it is just plain sacrelige to remove the raisins – all two cups of them. No one gets why I won’t eat it – even though I bake like six loaves at a time for him to hand out.

  24. Kim- Liv Life
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 23:19:06

    I love your wish list!!! And you can pass your raisins my way, we’ll take ’em all!

  25. Andrew
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 00:44:56

    I actually like raisins, but grapes are better.

  26. Joyti
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 02:02:45

    I dont like raisins too much either. If I have to eat a raisin, I definitely prefer the golden sultana raisins to SunMaid. The boy, however, LOVES them and eats them by the handful.

  27. Cakelaw
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 05:05:10

    Congrats on your award. I don’t mind raisins – as long as they aren’t burnt.

  28. claire
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 10:19:14

    haha that shirt is awesome… Screw Raisins!

  29. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 13:10:33

    My mom gave raisins to me as a snack when I was little. So many that I got sick of them and started sticking them in my toys to hind them. Years later I asked how she could not have noticed all the raisins in the crevasses of my toys. She replied,

    “I did notice. I just thought you were having fun.”

    To this day I have a hard time eating raisins.

  30. torviewtoronto
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 18:44:20

    enjoyed looking through your lovely site

  31. Elaine
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 22:53:49

    Congratulations on getting the award again!! What a fun post and the T-shirt is so cute. I happen to not mind raisins in pretty much anything but oatmeal raisin cookies…go figure!

  32. Adriana
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 13:07:09

    I laughed as hard as I can without disturbing the peace at the cubicle row. That comic is made of WIN!

  33. Christina
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 21:44:54

    This post made me laugh! I’ve never been much of a purple raisin girl, but I do enjoy golden raisins, especially in homemade granola! Thanks for adding me to your reader, by the way. I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts as well.

  34. Trackback: ffwD: Quinoa, (Not Dried) Fruit & Nut Salad « Yummy Chunklet