More buttermilk to use…

I’ve stated before how I always seem to have leftover buttermilk sitting in my refrigerator just taunting and daring me to find ways to use it up. I had a free evening Wednesday night, and I decided to make two buttermilk recipes I’ve been itching to try: herb & buttermilk breadsticks and garden herb ranch dressing à la California Pizza Kitchen.

I started with the breadsticks since the dough required a two-hour rise time. (Thank goodness I was able to fill up on some tomato basil soup that I hadn’t eaten for lunch.) This bread dough came together quite easily considering I used a wooden spoon to mix in the flour. And, I’m not going to lie: pouring 1 cup of buttermilk into the dough made me happy! As for the baking, I made a batch of softer breadsticks by baking for only 15 minutes while my second batch was crispier with a 20 minute baking time.

As for the garden herb ranch dressing, my only hesitation was with the 1/4 teaspoon of dry mustard. I don’t care for mustard in any form and considered omitting this step. However, the recipe called for the dry mustard and cold water to sit for 10 minutes before any other ingredients were added. Hmm, I guess if the dry mustard got its own step, then it must be pretty important to the flavor of the dressing. As such, I was able to put aside my mustard aversion just this once. Again, I had a huge grin on my face when I got to use another cup of buttermilk in this recipe! Be warned: this recipe makes a rather large amount of dressing, so be ready to share with others or to eat it as a dressing, dip, garnish, sandwich drizzle, and anything else you can think of for ranch dressing. Like as a dipping sauce for herb & buttermilk breadsticks!

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 09:00:03

    What a perfect duet! those breadsticks look so delightful and creamy ranch dressing yum
    Mary x

  2. Three-Cookies
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 09:18:33

    Bread dipped in sauce and they both contain buttermilk! Great way to kill two birds with one stone

  3. Eileen
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 09:21:21

    Nice! I am the biggest buttermilk waster on the planet. I wish they sold teeny tiny cartons of the stuff.

  4. forgottenbeast
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 09:21:24

    I love buttermilk flavor! I make the vegan version (fake milk + apple cider vinegar) to stick in all sorts of baked goods. Muffins, pancakes, you name it. Buttermilk breadsticks sound extra delicious…

  5. Beth
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 09:36:52

    I have some buttermilk sitting in my fridge right now, waiting to be used. This would be a great way to get started!

  6. spicegirlfla
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 09:38:57

    My daughter would love this ranch dressing!! She will dip everything into it! That’s an interesting bread – it looks so good! Not sure if you were aware, but you can freeze buttermilk. I freeze 1/4 cup measurements so whenever I need it, I just take it out to defrost in the fridge! I hate wasting anything!

  7. kitchen flavours
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 09:47:33

    The bread stick looks perfect with the ranch dressing! Buttermilk is quite costly over here, and not easily available! I normally sub with the mixture of homemade yoghurt and milk.

  8. Louanne
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 09:49:32

    These look marvelous – pinning to make for the husband!

  9. Cher
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 09:50:36

    Homemade breadsticks are totally the best. Great use for it.

  10. saffronandhoney
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 11:16:47

    I adore buttermilk and this looks delicious.

  11. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 11:22:53

    Those look great. Buttermilk is a staple in our house.

  12. Tasty Mayhem
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 11:42:32

    Looks like another winner. I’m always looking for a good ranch recipe. Buttermilk does keep a long time in the fridge: I use it to make waffles.

  13. sally
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 12:25:46

    I always have a problem using leftover buttermilk. These recipes look like a great use of buttermilk and I may just have to buy some to make them.

  14. Ronda
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 13:00:27

    Another tasty use of buttermilk!

  15. Inger Wilkerson
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 14:57:17

    Breadsticks have been on my bucket list for some time, so perhaps this will motivate me. I’d probably end up making another batch of your apple pie muffins if I had extra buttermilk!

  16. Kelly
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 16:36:41

    Oh, these buttermilk sticks look dangerously delicious. And complete with dipping sauce!

  17. TrafficDiva
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 16:41:50

    My comment on these breadsticks and dippin’ sauce:

    TO. DIE. FOR.

    I need more things to dip into this sauce (as of this posting, my finger seems to be doing the trick)!! I’ve honestly never tasted anything so good, you could salther this creamy goodness on ANYTHING. And the smell of warmed sticks and the dill from the sauce:

    TO. DIE. FOR.

  18. JasmyneTea
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 17:27:30

    Yum, those actually look really appealing, I’d love to experiment a bit with different breadstick flavours🙂

  19. Kathy
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 17:57:07

    These look so very tasty! I really love the flavor that buttermilk adds to baked goods!

  20. rebecca
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 19:10:03

    wow what an awesome snack

  21. Vianney Rodriguez (@sweetlifebake)
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 19:33:20

    they look awesome, I always have buttermilk. thanks for sharing

  22. Ryan
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 20:53:39

    I would have eaten every last one of those! They look amazing with all of those flecks of herbs and sound so good with the tangy buttermilk. Great way to use it all up!

  23. peachkins
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 20:58:01

    I can’t seem to find any buttermilk here….hmnnn…the buttermilk ranch dressing is a must-try!

  24. Christy
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 00:28:47

    What an interesting use of buttermilk, and I love the look of your breadsticks🙂
    This is just so yummylicious😀

  25. Elaine
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 01:41:17

    How lucky you were to find two recipes that use up so much buttermilk! Your bread sticks look so pretty and sound so good dipped in the buttermilk dressing.

  26. Peggy
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 05:31:55

    This is definitely loaded up with buttermilk! Sounds like a tasty combo though =)

  27. sanyaliving
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 05:58:23

    I love buttermilk! I always buy it but never seem to use it up either.
    What a great recipe. How can you beat anything that looks so golden and bready!!!

  28. Andi Winslow
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 12:00:04

    Did you know you can freeze buttermilkS You can use ice cube trays or small tupperware containers, measure it and freeze. Then its fresh and frozen. heard that on martha stewart radio. I listen and drive every day. So it for sure. I want to make these bread sticks, Yup, I do they look delicious………..happy baking andi

  29. Mary
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 07:53:33

    I always have leftover buttermilk too but I have a few things I love to make so it doesn’t last long. Irish wheaten bread is one thing, and these pancakes are another. They use 2.5 cups, are best mixed the night before and are the best pancakes ever. Even my new-food hating brother loves them. I put blueberries in mine. http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Oatmeal-Buttermilk-Pancakes-101971

  30. Annabelle
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 17:08:48

    I’m literally drooling over my keyboard right here. Damn buttermilk, what have you done to me? @.@

  31. Reem | Simply Reem
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 22:49:19

    I really don’t understand why they don’t sell small packs of buttermilk….
    I always end up wasting some when I buy…
    These breadsticks looks so good, I have some buttermilk I am gonna make these….

  32. Thu
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 19:29:35

    These look delicious, I can feel my wasitline just looking at the photos!

  33. Jayasri
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 15:35:27

    First time in your blog, I have made bread sticks too.., this is different with buttermilk, love to give this a try, they look gorgeous.., beautiful clicks

  34. chutneyandspice
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 04:19:35

    delicious, and I love your blue plate.

