ffwD: Pumpkin Stuffed with Everything Good

I’m not going to lie. I wasn’t too jazzed to make this recipe, which seems to be the theme (for me anyway) of October’s ffwD recipes. My main concerns with this recipe were that it’s yet another pumpkin recipe, which I don’t really care for, and that Dorie’s picture makes the pumpkin look like it’s the size of a watermelon. There was no way I was going to buy a pumpkin that big when it’s just me eating it this time around. However, my local grocery store came to the rescue and had a whole stand of cute mini-pumpkins. The smallest one I could find was around two pounds and just as cute as a button!

My cute as a button pumpkin!

My only other concern was the baking time: 2 hours! Seeing as it’s already dark when I arrive home in the evening, I resorted to waking up early in the morning to prepare the pumpkin and stuffing, bake it, and have enough time to photograph it in the morning light before heading to work! Heated up stuffed pumpkin would have to suffice despite Dorie’s recommendation of serving it immediately from the oven.

I coaxed myself out of my hesitations by rationalizing that “at least the stuffing sounded delicious”, with my version comprising of cheddar and mozzarella cheeses, turkey bacon, bread cubes, dill and parsley. The nutmeg-speckled cream added to the decadence of the stuffing, and I was somewhat saddened by the fact that I didn’t have any chestnuts to throw in as well. However, Dorie was right on the money about having leftover stuffing, but no worries! I baked up the leftovers in its own dish for 20 minutes alongside the pumpkin.

At the one hour and a half baking mark, I was happy to see that there wasn’t much liquid that had oozed out of the pumpkin. Still, I baked it for an additional 20 minutes with its little cap off. When I finally cut into the pumpkin, I was a bit nervous that the pumpkin flesh had separated from the shell. But, there wasn’t anything I could do about that. I took just a little taste, and I must say that it tasted pretty fantastic! I’ll be enjoying my little stuffed mini-pumpkin for the next few days.

There’s only three days left to enter my ONE-YEAR BLOGAVERSARY GIVEAWAY FOR A $100 AMAZON GIFT CARD! SUBSCRIBE TO MY BLOG FOR A CHANCE AT ADDITIONAL PRIZES!

To see how other bloggers fared with their pumpkins stuffed with everything good, check out French Fridays with Dorie where we make recipes from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

51 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ceciliag
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 06:52:22

    and such a sweet way to serve it in its beautiful dish. When I was teaching I always used to prep my dinners in the morning, it makes the evenings so much calmer. Good for you,, I love the little pumpkins too i have a couple sitting on my counter just waiting for me to do something lovely but they just look COOL. c

  2. C
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 07:02:53

    This recipe intrigues me. I have never used a real pumpkin in my cooking. Libby’s has come through but that would not do here. It is time to buy a pumpkin.

  3. Cher
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 07:14:27

    This one did take a while, didn’t it?
    I love pumpkin, so was happy for this one. You were able to get some nice wedges out of your (the shell was tough on mine & it didn’t slice cleanly). Looks good.

  4. Melanie @ Melanie Cooks
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 07:21:43

    Stuffing is my favorite part in most “stuffed” recipes🙂 Your stuffed pumpkin looks delicious, and the presentation is excellent!

  5. spicegirlfla
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 07:32:10

    Oooh…I’m so glad you made this! It looks amazing! You know, I love pumpkin! I’m making a baked pumpkin this weekend, I hope this recipe has changed your mind about loving pumpkin!

  6. Louise
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 07:57:25

    I just bought Marion (she’s 91 years young) the cutest little pumpkin. I should really surprise her and serve it like you. I can only imagine those lovely flavors melding together in such goodness. Maybe Sunday, I”l try…

    Thanks for sharing, Yummy!!!

  7. Eileen
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 08:32:29

    Your slice looks so pretty! I’m glad this one surprised you. October was a rough month for me, too, Dorie-wise, so it’s good to end on a high note.

  8. Elin
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 08:38:00

    Wow…..yours look so delish ! yummy and I love it too ! I shall make this again for sure..this is so versatile….we can stuff the pumpkin with everything good from the fridge🙂

  9. Three-Cookies
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 08:48:42

    It does sound unusual but delicious at the same time. Nice to see pumpkin being used for a savoury dish, the dish could well have become dessert simply by adding sugar and maybe excluding bacon

  10. saffronandhoney
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 08:53:21

    What a beautiful slice of pumpkin! Very versatile recipe, I agree.

  11. Parsley Sage
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 08:56:33

    That may be the world’s cutest pumpkin! I think your dished turned out beautifully! Glad you decided to stick with this one🙂

    Now…you’ll need another pumpkin to carve for your spooky Haggoween!

  12. Adriana @ GreatFood360°
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 09:16:50

    The sliced up wedges look divine! I’m jealous of everyone who found cute little pumpkins like yours. The smallest I could find clocked in at 5 pounds. :-S

  13. Trix
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 09:17:22

    Wow, you are dedicated getting up early to make it! lol. I waited for the weekend. Yeah, it was super yummy

  14. Ronda
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 09:42:23

    That looks fabulous! Chestnuts do sound like a great addition. I bought a pie pumpkin yesterday to make this with, but I am not making it until tonight. I will have it on the blog by tomorrow.

  15. JamieAnne
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 09:45:43

    This looks great! I love finding interesting new ways to use pumpkins!

  16. SoupAddict
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 10:40:09

    I can attest that chestnuts are a fabulous addition! One of my favorite variations is stuffing the pumpkin with a chestnut-sage stuffing/bread pudding. So delicious! Geez, why isn’t it lunchtime yet??

  17. Robin
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 10:43:25

    What a cute little pumpkin🙂 Your stuffing looks amazing! Glad you were happy with the end result

  18. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 10:46:22

    I love how picky you are. I really mean that as a compliment. I mean I guess we all are. This looks wonderful to me!

  19. Thu
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 10:48:59

    This looks amazing. I love pumpkin recipe but normally just stick to pumpkin pie or cupcake. This one is so unique and looks gorgeous. Thanks for sharing.

  20. Krissy
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 11:05:32

    Yes, I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe…it is much better than I thought it would be. Glad to see that the little pumpkins worked so well.

  21. Tasty Mayhem
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 11:22:31

    Looks like yours turned out well. I was NOT in the mood for pumpkin this week after eating beef and pumpkin stew for the last week and a half so skipped making it (made slow roasted tomatoes and re-did the olive olive hens). I’m going to use a mini if it make it at all. Happy Halloween!

  22. Liz
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 11:54:05

    I had the exact same feelings…and actually found a 1 pound pumpkin! I ate every single bite of that 1 pound wonder!

  23. kitchenbelleicious
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 12:29:07

    yes- you basically said it all- pumpkin stuffed with everything good- how can you describe a stuffing that looks and sounds that good? No words- it is amazing and so pretty too

  24. nana
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 12:36:52

    I agree with you about the leftovers. I reheated mine and they were delicious,
    like eating mashed potatoes and melted cheese. I’m glad Tricia liked the recipe
    cause I was hoping to revisit this at Thanksgiving when we all head up to
    Vermont. Great job, your photos are nice.

  25. Kathy
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 13:26:25

    Looks pretty fantastic too! Glad you were able to do this before work. Nice job!

  26. Life is Full
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 16:11:31

    Wow, such dedication to FFWD, waking up extra early to make this! Kudos for your work though, it looks delicious!!

  27. Peggy
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 16:27:39

    I made this a few weeks ago and just loved it. But it takes a long time to cook! Yours is beautiful.

  28. Confessions of a Culinary Diva
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 17:51:52

    Very beautiful! I was glad the pumpkin wasn’t the size of a watermelon also – there could have been a major storage issue when cooking for two. I loved the dish and yours looks perfect!

  29. Ryan
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 18:00:35

    That is major dedication to get up early to make something you don’t usually like! Well done you! That stuffing looks SO delicious– I really wish I had a bowl right now!

  30. Betty
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 18:08:57

    That really is a cute pumpkin, and it looks absolutely delicious with that yummy stuffing.🙂

  31. Lindsey @ Gingerbread Bagels
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 19:41:13

    I LOVE this! I’ve never made anything in a pumpkin before but it sounds sooo good and interesting.🙂

  32. peachkins
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 21:52:16

    I didn’t know you can do that to pumpkin! It looks delicious!

  33. Alice
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 23:26:15

    I didn’t have much liquid come out of my pumpkin either…🙂 glad you liked it!

  34. Grumpy Grateful Mom
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 00:50:25

    I love stuffing! But I’ve never had it with pumpkin. It looks beautiful.

  35. forgottenbeast
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 04:01:43

    Gorgeous! I’ve never cooked a pumpkin from scratch, but this most certainly makes me want to.

  36. Simply Life
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 07:35:33

    oooh that really is stuffed with everything good- amazing!

  37. kitchen flavours
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 08:40:18

    This looks delicious! I absolutely love pumpkins and have been seeing lot of pumpkins yummies in bloggerland! Got to make “something pumpkin” soon!

  38. Laural @ Being Healthier
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 10:05:46

    this is totally going on my thanksgiving menu if we can still get pumpkins. im like you – dont like doing anything with a 2 hr bake time AND yet another pumpkin recipe BUT this looks fab. great work.

  39. sally
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 10:37:41

    I have a little pumpkin that would be perfect for this recipe. I’ll have to give it a try.

  40. Sutapa
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 10:55:38

    What a wonderful recipe! What a wonderful presentation!

  41. Mary Hirsch
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 14:00:51

    I noticed you used turkey bacon also and suspect you liked the taste as well as I did. Liked your smaller pumpkin idea. The smallest I could find was four-pounds. And, yes, the nutmeg-laced cream is a trick to be used in other recipes. Great pictures.

  42. Cakelaw
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 17:12:26

    Your little pumpkin is so cute! I had the same issue, and unfortunately, the shopping Gods were not kind and I could not find a little pumpkin r squash. I actually adore pumpkin, but vast quantities of it made one way are overwhelming – luckily, I noticed that pumpkin can also be used in the squash soup coming up, so that is how I am recycling the remainder of my pumpkin.

  43. Jay
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 20:02:35

    sounds gorgeous…such a nice color imparted n very tempting..;)
    Tasty Appetite

  44. betsy
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 20:26:51

    I had similar timing problems. Who has time to prepare and bake something two hours for dinner after a long day at work? I ended up baking it one night and reheating the next. It worked out better than I expected. I’m impressed you rationed your little pumpkin over several nights. I cut it in half and ate the whole half for dinner.

  45. Elaine
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 22:35:00

    You baked it in the morning before work?! Wow, I would have to get up at 2:30 to do that.😉 Your pumpkin is beautiful.

  46. JasmyneTea
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 08:11:05

    Yum, I love pumpkin, but I wouldn’t have thought of a recipe like this to try!

  47. oneexpatslife
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 07:30:59

    Yay, happy to hear that you gave it a try despite your reservations. I was actually really looking forward to this one and was not at all disappointed. But I love squash and there was really nothing not to like about that stuffing.

  48. Alexis @ There She Goes
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 08:17:29

    i love this idea!

  49. Mother's Secret Home Recipes
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 03:33:43

    your pumpkin looks delicious.

  50. Tricia S.
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 17:32:37

    Wow- this turned out amazing considering you “weren’t too jazzed”🙂 Isn’t that usually the way it works ? I was scared because I was excited to make it so thought we would be doomed to disappointment. It was a banner week- Nana and I both liked this one. Yay autumn !

  51. gnashingrefined
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 10:23:18

    Oh My! Time to put the pumpkin in the oven.

