ffwD: (Not Really) Pissaladiere

This week’s recipe put me in a quandary. First, I’ve been skittish lately with any recipe involving yeast. I always seem to get bad packages of dead yeast, ultimately resulting in non-expanding dough. Trying to coax myself to make another batch and to ignore the wasted ingredients takes some doing. Second, I’m a fan of black olives but only in sandwiches for some reason. They’re okay on pizza but not necessarily as one of three main toppings. Which brings me to my third issue: ANCHOVIES. Um, no thank you. And before anyone says “ffwD is a chance to try foods outside your comfort zone”, let me tell you now that I’ve used that reasoning before, and it won’t fly this time. I’ve tried anchovies and didn’t like them. But, in the spirit of ffwD, I did purchase a tin of the smelly fish just for my sister (Codename: Chunklet’s mom) who loves anchovies. I will make this pizza with anchovies just for her when she heads to Chicago. Here’s the tin:

So, this week’s assignment, pissaladiere, could be seen as an opportunity to practice my yeast dough-making skills or as a futile attempt to force feed undesirable fish into my system. I chose the former seeing as that skill would probably be more useful for the upcoming holiday baking season. I made sure to purchase yeast the day that I was going to make the dough and made sure to use my thermometer to check the warm water’s temperature. I did get a little creative by adding dashes of basil, oregano, rosemary, thyme and sage to the dough. As for the toppings, I stuck with the caramelized onions (using two as opposed to six) and added roasted tomatoes. The combination tasted pretty fantastic.

For those who haven’t already, make sure to enter my ONE-YEAR BLOGAVERSARY GIVEAWAY FOR A $100 AMAZON GIFT CARD AND SUBSCRIBE TO MY BLOG FOR A CHANCE AT ADDITIONAL PRIZES!

To see how other bloggers fared with their pissaladiere, check out French Fridays with Dorie where we make recipes from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

51 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grumpy Grateful Mom
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 00:50:04

    I can’t do anchovies either, but I LOVE black olives on everything. Your pissaladiere turned out beautifully.🙂

  2. oneexpatslife
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 04:01:08

    I’m ok with anchovies, but like you, I still need to work on yeast doughs. In fact, while I loved my pissaladiere toppings, I thought my dough came out a bit dry. No idea why. Apparently this is still a hole in my kitchen skills.

  3. Maya
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 04:28:24

    Is there such a thing as dud yeast? LOL, I never came across any🙂. I think it’s honorable that you’re going to remake this with anchovies for your sister, she’ll be over the moon, I’m sure. And your herbed dough sounds delicious, I’m going to give that a go!

  4. ceciliag
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 06:32:18

    I love caramelised onions, and with those tomatoes this great.. c

  5. Liz
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 06:48:45

    I should have taken a cue from you and revamped this one for the picky family!!! Mine went in the trash after 4 mini samplings by the family😦 Yours is beautiful!

  6. saffronandhoney
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 07:21:04

    I like your version too! And thanks for posting the anchovies ‘proof’😉

  7. Cher
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 07:43:12

    There are certainly two distinct camps when it comes to anchovies.
    Sorry about your yeast woes. Usually a proof (let the yeast sit in the slightly warmed liquid for ~10 minutes) helps you figure out pretty quick if everyone is alive in there. If the liquid is too hot though, it will kill them off. Don’t give up🙂

  8. Trix
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 07:58:20

    It looks delicious, anchovies or not! And here’s my yeast tip: to prevent wasting your ingredients always proof it first. Just dissolve it int he warm water and wait 10 minutes. If it gets all foamy, it’s good to go!

  9. Eileen
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 08:09:51

    I know I’ve liked food that has anchovies in it (caesar dressing, for example), but I’ve never had one that’s just sitting there. I’m a little nervous, but figure I could always pick them off the top of this. Hope to make it tonight.

    Yours looks great, whatever it should be called! love the idea of the tomatoes. YUM. It made me laugh that you took a picture of your anchovies as proof that you bought them.

  10. SoupAddict
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 08:16:04

    I sat out this week (too little time, not ’cause of the fishies🙂 ), but wishing I had just bought the puff pastry and given it a quick try. Like others have said, it’s fairly rare to have freshly bought dead yeast. Problems usually occur in the handling of it (i.e., too hot water). Store your leftover yeast in the freezer and it will keep for a very long time.

  11. kitchen flavours
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 08:23:29

    I am curious about the anchovies in cans, as I have not seen it sold here before. I like anchovies, though we only use the dried ones here. Your Pissaladiere looks delicious. Perfect for an afternoon meal! Have a great weekend!

  12. kitchenbelleicious
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 08:48:08

    Hey it looks like pissaladiere to me! I love it- the anchovies make the whole thing for me! I think you did a great job

  13. Elin
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 08:55:47

    Yours looks great with the added roasted tomatoes…great idea and I think you did a great job on it…pissaladiere no doubt🙂

  14. Jay
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 09:10:00

    wow..you are so talented, I would love to eat it all..;)
    Tasty Appetite

  15. anja jansen
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 10:00:28

    The roasted tomatoes are a great addition on the pissaldiere. Great idea.

  16. Peggy
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 10:04:17

    Oh I love love love anchovies =) Even without anchovies, though, this pissaladiere looks pretty delicious!

  17. spicegirlfla
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 10:14:27

    wow… this looks gorgeous! It immediately made me hungry! I love caramalized onions, and I do like anchovies!! Great idea to add herbs in your dough; I like to add them to my pizza dough.

  18. Louanne Bertrand
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 10:16:32

    Gosh, that looks scrumptious! I grew up eating anchovy pizza, so I love them, black olives, too.

  19. JamieAnne
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 10:17:21

    It looks great! I’m with you on the anchovies. Double yuck.
    I’ll try many things, but not anchovies.

  20. dulceshome
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 11:02:18

    Great story! I happen to like anchovies – but I get it! The tomatoes look like a terrific addition, as well as the herbs. (oh, and I love your new blog theme…😉

  21. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 11:16:32

    Whatever you all it, it looks amazing. I’ll take your anchovies!

  22. Andi winslow
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 11:28:22

    You did it, you brave girl! Looks wonderful great post proud of you to move out of the comfort zone! I need to do that. Andi

  23. Adriana @ GreatFood360°
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 11:54:15

    Your pissaladiere looks so tasty. Those onions must have melted out completely in your mouth. The addition of tomatoes is inspired too. Great job!

  24. mary
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 12:32:44

    Well it looks great with the smelly little fish! the dough looks wonderful – I’m too much of a coward when it comes to yeast – hopeless – but maybe I’ll get over it cause your pizza looks SOOOOOOOOOO good.
    Mary x

  25. Ameena
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 12:59:38

    Nothing mystifies me like yeast. I cannot, for the life of me, make a loaf of decent bread! I gave up.

  26. Frollicking Night Owl
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 13:48:06

    LOVE the idea of the herbs mixed right into the dough! Nice work!!

  27. Miriam Barton
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 14:36:03

    The pizza is beautiful! Now let me tell you my trick about yeast. I buy it in bulk (in a jar, not packages), and keep it refrigerated. Since I started doing that I’ve never had a problem.🙂, Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  28. Cakelaw
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 15:27:06

    LOL – good for you! It looks delightful, and I am glad you put your stamp on the topping.

  29. stacy :)
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 15:50:02

    Oh, yum, the roasted tomatoes look like a wonderful addition – caramelized onions + roasted tomatoes + pastry = bliss! Lovely variation on the printed recipe!!

  30. Robin
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 16:14:43

    Adding herbs to the dough is a great idea. Your pizza looks great!

  31. gaaarp
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 16:25:39

    I buy yeast by the pound and have never had a bad batch. I keep it in an airtight container in the freezer and get out what I need for baking. Your pissaladiere looks great! I love the addition of tomatoes.

  32. Three-Cookies
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 16:40:15

    I am guessing the bread rose to the occasion! You should try adding anchovies to meat dishes, however the taste and smell will disappear. At least it will mentally prepare you

  33. Alice
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 17:34:57

    if you are using active dry yeast, you will need to activate it per the envelope’s instruction for most recipes. it is just assumed that you will do that, if it foams, its good to use, if not, toss it out and start over. in this case, dorie starts to activate it and adding the sugar to the flour mixture allows the yeast to slowly activate, but if you poured the yeast over the salt, the salt will kill the yeast. you can eliminate all these problems if you switch to using instant yeast. King Arthur Flour sells a good one called SAF instant yeast for $6, it can change your yeast experiences and they also sell a yeast spoon that measures out exactly 2-1/4 tsp that is the amount in one package of active dry yeast, it requires no water warming or activating, etc. let me know how it works out if you try it!

  34. Kathy
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 17:58:33

    Your dough looks wonderful and so does you pissaladiere! Great looking photos! Have a wonderful weekend!

  35. Confessions of a Culinary Diva
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 18:39:38

    Those tomatoes look really fantastic! Great post & photos!

  36. Tasty Mayhem
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 20:17:40

    everything those tomatoes go on turns out great. I’m going to make some this weekend with the leftover tomatoes from my dinner. Well, you saw may post about the anchovies and you know my feelings about continuing to eat things you truly dislike…as always this looks great and I love your additions.

  37. Betsy
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 20:50:27

    Are those the moon-blushed tomatoes again? Looks like a nice tart even without the anchovies and olives. It’s the onions that are the star of this anyway. Nice job!

  38. Elaine
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 21:39:28

    I wanted to put tomatoes or tomato sauce on mine so badly! I love the pop of color they give.

  39. Krissy
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 22:36:30

    I love tomatoes on anything that resembles pizza. Your colors are so pretty and way to go with the anchovies….I could not do them.

  40. sara
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 22:43:37

    This looks great! Glad the yeast worked out. 🙂 One tip is that I store mine in the freezer and have had it last for literally years without going bad (I buy it in bulk.)

  41. Life is Full
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 23:55:17

    Your tart looks good! I don’t like anchovies AND olives so no motivation to make this at all. Why didn’t I think of making it with another topping like roasted tomatoes instead?!🙂

  42. Von
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 07:13:17

    when i first started baking, I didn’t know that yeast could die like that, so i kept on thinking that I was doing something wrong when I baked bread but they wouldn’t rise! I don’t think I’ve had anchovies before (except for the fried ones, but I don’t think they count? haha….) This looks delicious!!

  43. peachkins
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 09:12:52

    I go crazy over anything with anchovies!This is amazing!

  44. Inger Wilkerson
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 17:38:47

    I love both yeast and anchovies, so this looks fun and and delicious! FWIW, I buy my yeast in 2 lb vacuum sealed bags (from Red Star), and keep it in the refrigerator, where it has always kept fine until used up (before expiration; I bake a lot). I still proof it every time I bake, having had a few notable failures in the past myself.

  45. sally
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 10:37:03

    Mmm…the combination of caramelized onions and tomatoes looks fantastic!

  46. Frankly Entertaining
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 22:22:33

    I love that you bought the anchovies for when your sister comes to town! I think your version looks delicious!

  47. Trevor Sis Boom
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 11:54:09

    LOL. For all of my pontificating I came here and had to be confronted by my own fear of yeast. I will do all I can to avoid it and, as you saw, I opted for Puff Pastry. Doh. I should practice what I preach. But what fun is that?

  48. Tricia S.
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 19:29:24

    I can’t deal with anchovies either – not happening. Nana reported that it was a great recipe but that we could make it again together over Thanksgiving (and with other ingredients🙂 Yours looked great and you have me curious over yeast now – and realizing I have not used any in a while. (Blaming Dr. Atkins🙂 And what a great sis you are ~

  49. Lisa @smartfoodandfit
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 08:14:04

    I think this look good, anchovies and all!

  50. Mary Hirsch
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 19:24:19

    You seemed to have success with your crust as well. And, I loved your combination of spices and the addition of tomatoes. Anchovies tickle my funny bone also. Good for the both of us on giving this week’s recipe a try.

  51. Terra
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 20:12:22

    Even though you were not excited to make this, you did a beautiful job! It looks sooooo good! BTW – I tried to say Happy Blogaversary on that post, but couldn’t, so wanted to here! Sorry I am so late, my life is crazy:-) Happy Happy Blogaversary!!! Hugs, Terra

