ffwD: Buckwheat Blini with Smoked Salmon & Creme Fraiche

I feel like I’ve been skipping out on too many ffwD assignments lately. Whether it’s the unappetizing sounding recipes (salmon in a jar or raw onion & icy beet salad) or just a lack of time to pick up specialty items (cornish hen), I find myself less motivated to make the effort. I wanted to shake myself out of this funk, so when I saw that buckwheat flour was needed for the blini this week, I resolved not to grumble despite the fact that I had to make an extra trip to the specialty store and that I would probably have to pay through the nose for a package of buckwheat flour. To my surprise, it was only $3.49 for a 1-pound bag. Not bad considering I was expecting to pay in the $7 to $8 range. Plus, I knew that the flour could be used in future baking ideas.

Anyway, onto the blini! I was a bit nervous about the look and consistency of this batter as I set it aside to rise. It didn’t look like normal bread dough, nor did it have any sort of liquid consistency even close to pancake batter. After an hour and a half, the batter didn’t double in volume, but the consistency wasn’t as dense as I feared. I just wish Dorie had mentioned that the batter would become more “pancake batter-y” after adding the beaten eggs. I did learn a new trick, though. If you don’t have a warm spot in your kitchen for your dough/batter to rise, place it in the oven! (While it’s off, of course.) Thanks to my sister (Codename: Chunklet’s mom) for the tip!

Anyway, these little blini didn’t turn out so bad! The color was interesting because of the whole grain buckwheat flour, and I’m always down for some good smoked salmon, dill and creme fraiche! Overall, this was a pretty delicious recipe even after the extra effort to obtain the buckwheat flour!

On a side note, make sure to enter my ONE-YEAR BLOGAVERSARY GIVEAWAY FOR A $100 AMAZON GIFT CARD AND SUBSCRIBE TO MY BLOG FOR A CHANCE AT ADDITIONAL PRIZES!

To see how other bloggers fared with their buckwheat blini, check out French Fridays with Dorie where we make recipes from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

49 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anita Menon
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 00:11:35

    It would be nice to know what a blini is. Haven’t seen it before.

    Looks scrumptious

  2. JamieAnne
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 01:07:24

    Looks very interesting! πŸ™‚

  3. chutneyandspice
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 04:10:30

    those look so delicious and healthy too. I love buckwheat flour we ate lots of it in France this year as they make their crepes out of it, and i love the dense chewiness of it.

  4. oneexpatslife
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 04:19:41

    Happy blogaversary! That’s very exciting. And happy to hear that you enjoyed your blini, they look delicious. Everyone else’s turned out much darker than mine, I wonder if the buckwheat flour over here is somehow different?

  5. Three-Cookies
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 04:20:42

    This is a nice classic combination

  6. Liz
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 05:19:18

    I loved these puppies! And yours are so pretty with some dill chopped in the creme fraiche…yum!

  7. mary
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 06:06:11

    Firstly, THANK YOU SO MUCH for the lovely award – it’s really sweet of you and I really appreciate it!
    These pancakes look divine – love the use of buckwheat – and I’m a sucker for smoked salmon – really elegant and delicious.
    Mary x

  8. Kelly
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 07:05:27

    What a gorgeous gluten free delight! This will be phase II of my grain experiment. Cheers, k.

  9. Cher
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 07:25:41

    Welcome back to FFwD-land… These were fun – especially after the scary salmon in a jar.

  10. Inger Wilkerson
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 07:26:17

    This would make such an elegant brunch! I use lox for brunches a lot but have never used creme fraiche and the dill was beautiful.

  11. ceciliag
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 07:31:08

    We are growing buckwheat next year, mainly because the bees love the flowers but I will mill it as well, this light meal looks heavenly, now i must away and much on a celery stick!! ha ha ha c

  12. Ronda
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 08:02:20

    That looks really good! Now I am going to have to make them. Someday soon I will start doing the French Friday recipes before Friday!

  13. peachkins
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 08:30:47

    Oh Happy Blogiversary Chunklet! The Blinis look great!

  14. Eileen
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 08:34:28

    Glad you took the plunge this week! I like that you mixed the dill in with your creme fraiche, which definitely looks a lot runnier than mine. The only brand I can get my hands on comes out in a solid, gummy block. I don’t think it’s “authentic.” I had to go out of my way to find buckwheat flour, too, but I’m glad I did, because Charlie actually LOVED these pancakes. He ate 3 for breakfast. WHAT? lol

  15. Alice
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 08:37:49

    oh it sounds like you didnt get your yeast to activate. if it doesnt rise, either the yeast was too sleepy and needed more time or they died and you had to start over or your water wasnt warm enough…. they still look good though! and if it tasted good then thats all that matters in the end! πŸ™‚
    happy blogoversary!

  16. Adriana @ GreatFood360Β°
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 08:43:05

    I would have let you borrow a couple of capers. Your blini look so cute and tasty!

  17. kitchenbelleicious
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 08:49:47

    Love the fill in the creme and the idea all together is just fabulous. Perfect for a dinner party. Now I just need to have a dinner party! LOL!

  18. SoupAddict
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 09:15:15

    Nice touch, adding dill into your creme fraiche. I, too, hope the recipe selections for the holidays will be a bit more traditional, less risky. πŸ™‚

  19. spicegirlfla
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 09:42:07

    I think you make such a pretty presentation of this! It definitely makes me want to try this out; I love the dill and creme fraiche with the salmon! Totally yummy!

  20. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 10:25:29

    This looks awesome. Glad you chose to do the challenge. But brownies are always welcome too.

  21. forgottenbeast
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 11:06:25

    Ew, can’t say I’d be much inspired by a raw onion salad either. But I DO love buckwheat, and have some flour left to use–I’ve never made blini but I might need to be adventurous, since pancakes are my all-time favorite way to use buckwheat and blini are a similar concept…

  22. Holly
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 11:10:48

    This looks beautiful! Love the dill on top!

  23. foodfashionandflow
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 11:57:41

    This looks healthy and delicious! The presentation is awesome!

  24. Geni - Sweet and Crumby
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 12:19:40

    Congratulation on your award AND can’t wait to try these for a shower I am giving. I think it would make a beautiful brunch app. So glad you ventured into the FFwD and made these so I could see them!

  25. Kathy
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 14:20:29

    Happy Blogaversary! Your blinis look lovely…great photos!

  26. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 14:50:37

    So scrum-diddly-umptious! The smoked salmon has me salivating right now.

  27. foodie @ Tasting Spot
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 16:20:43

    i like your food pictures and want to invite you to try out tastingspot.com. it’s for anyone that just wants another place to submit photos and share it will other foodies. It’s still in beta version, but would love for you to start adding some photos and help get it going.

  28. Maya@Foodiva's Kitchen
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 18:21:06

    Your blinis look lovely and petite, just perfect to pop into the mouth in one go! Truthfully, I’ve been less motivated with FFWD too lately. I’m a dessert girl and there’s been too many savory recipes in a row….on the other hand, it forces me to expand my savory repertoire and for that, I’m truly grateful.

  29. Krissy
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 19:45:53

    Very nice looking appetizer size blinis. I had a hard time getting excited for today’s recipe…last week too. I’ll have to talk to myself and get going. I guess I’m thinking about holiday desserts but I need to try some of these foods too. It’s beautiful outside here…maybe if I went out and grilled the salmon I would have enjoyed putting it on my blintz.

  30. Quay Po
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 20:09:27

    I learn something new today, blinis. Now I just have to make it and find out how it taste. I have some buckwheat flour in my pantry.

  31. Miriam Barton
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 20:50:08

    Now there’s a way to make buckwheat fancy! :), Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  32. JasmyneTea
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 01:43:09

    Never tried a blini, but I can imagine how it tastes and I think your smoked salmon creme fraiche would be amazing πŸ™‚

  33. cooking varieties
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 03:03:26

    hi yummy chunklet, i have never tried blini before or cooked using buck wheat..must try this appetizing looking dish of yours, after all i fancy smoked salmon a lot.

  34. Kate@Diethood
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 09:13:45

    I loved the blinis! πŸ™‚ When I have something that needs to rise, I put the oven on at 350 and place the bowl with the dough on the stovetop…it cuts rising time in half. πŸ™‚

  35. chunklet's mom
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 09:34:56

    Love the look of how these turned out! They look super tasty!

  36. Elaine
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 09:42:09

    Your blinis look so pretty. I have had a crazy busy week, so didn’t get to make these, but looking forward to trying them soon. I have tried to subscribe to your blog at the very beginning of FFwD, but had no luck and even in my RSS feed your posts don’t show up for some reason, so the only way I have been able to follow your blog and see when you have updated is through Blogger. I will try to subscribe again though. Happy Blogaversary!

  37. Frankly Entertaining
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 12:09:22

    Glad you’re back! FFwD aren’t the same without you!! When I need a warm spot in the kitchen I usually just put the bowl on top of the fridge.

  38. Parsley Sage
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 16:02:16

    Looks pretty delicious to me! I love the salmon/dill combo and I’m glad that buckwheat flour didn’t send you to the poor house. It would me, in Cayman that’s for sure.

  39. rebecca
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 16:35:00

    you did a stella job they look great

  40. Grumpy Grateful Mom
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 00:38:23

    Those look so pretty. I know my husband would gobble those. I use my oven a lot when I need something to rise. I usually let it heat up just a little so the rising will go faster. A great plan unless you accidentally leave it on. Yes, I’ve done that. It was a sad day.

  41. Jay
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 06:13:57

    wow…so totally impressive recipe dear….awesome..;)
    Tasty Appetite

  42. Simply Life
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 06:54:58

    I LOVE smoked salmon and this looks like the perfect way to enjoy it!

  43. Betsy
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 20:03:46

    Happy Blogaversary! I’ve enjoyed following your food adventures this past year. The blini look delicious. Nice presentation!

  44. Cakelaw
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 03:11:17

    Your blinis look great – I liked the colour and flavour of the buckwheat.

  45. renee
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 19:00:15

    Congratulations on your one year blogaversary! I likes your blinis. I too have missed way too many dorie recipes, but I still enjoy reading how everyone elses came out. Keep up the good work

  46. patty
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 21:29:09

    Congrats and yummy blinis;-)

  47. kahlua drink
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 04:35:03

    Hey, Thanks for posting this. You have made some really interesting point in this article. I like it and I’ll keep coming back. Bye!

  48. Kristin & Megan (@BonBonRoseGirls)
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 19:30:16

    What a beautiful dish!

  49. stacy :)
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 15:38:01

    Your blinis look delicious! I loved this recipe and I’m so glad I made the effort to find buckwheat flour too. I’m having trouble with motivating myself to blog about the ffwd recipes – case in point, I’m finally getting around to reading y’all’s recipes from last week and I haven’t even posted mine yet…

