ffwD: Cinnamon (Crunch?) Chicken

Lately, I’ve been on a couponing kick. Not the extreme-extreme kind like the reality show, but I’m hooked enough where I’m more diligent about updating my grocery store savings card online and enough where I’ll unabashedly take the unclaimed coupon circulars on Sunday mornings for extra coupons. It’s like a game to try and pay as little as possible for an item you actually need. Now I understand the rush, to a lesser extent, that some couponers get when they see how much they saved at checkout. It’s fun knowing you didn’t have to pay full price for something or that you received additional discounts off an item that was already on sale because you brought an additional paper coupon.

So, when I read Dorie’s recipe this week, I was slightly worried by her suggestion of using store-bought speculoos, specifically the LU cinnamon sugar spice cookies. These usually run between four and five dollars a box at my grocery store.

But, imagine how giddy I was when my savings card had a one-time only coupon on LU cookies for $1.25 a box!! Yay! I was so psyched that I almost didn’t care how this cinnamon crunch chicken tasted. Thankfully enough, this chicken dish was simple and rather tasty. And, the sweet cinnamon sugar aroma permeated heavily through the air while I stirred in the cookie-creme fraiche mixture. The only downer was that the cookie crumbles didn’t stay crunchy, but that could’ve been me leaving the mixture to boil too long. No worries though. I ate two more of the LU cookies with Nutella as my dessert that evening!

To see how other bloggers fared with the cinnamon crunch chicken, check out French Fridays with Dorie where we make recipes from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

58 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica Maher (@kbelleicious)
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 08:25:46

    Very interesting with the cinnamon. I have never heard of those cookies before but since I am freak when it comes to cookies I now must get me some. The chicken looks spectacular!

  2. Cher
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 08:34:12

    I don’t think anyone found the “crunch” on the cinnamon crunch chicken. How lucky you were to find the cookies you wanted & at a great price point!

  3. Ronda
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 09:01:01

    Oh the joy of coupons! Yay you!

  4. JamieAnne
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 09:11:34

    I love that you are using coupons! YAY! I am a big believer in coupon savings. Why pay more than you have to?

    This chicken looks good, cookies sound strange in a chicken dish, but I bet it tastes wonderful.

  5. Parsley Sage
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 09:13:49

    Coupons! Can you believe there are no coupons in Cayman😦 I used to be a fiend about coupon clipping, for the reasons you mentioned. Its like beating the supermarket at their own game. Great looking chicken, sorry it got a little soggy but it sounds like it still tasted great

  6. Louise
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 09:31:41

    Cinnamon Crunch Chicken? Now that I must look into. Yours sure does look inviting, Yummy! The un-crunch cookies sure didn’t take away from the appeal:)

    I’m a coupon queen from way back but oddly enough, I no longer use coupons. (reporters use to follow me shopping, no kidding:) A shame really especially since September is Coupon Month!!!

    Thanks for sharing…

  7. Three-Cookies
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 09:41:27

    Cookie chicken sounds interesting. Coupons are not so common here. This week a coupon was sent to me for a free product, thats a good price, but its a product that I only eat in moderation since I am allergic:)

  8. oneexpatslife
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 09:59:27

    Yay, tasty dinner and a bargain to boot! Very cool. I will be making this as soon as the christmas cookies start hitting the shelves around here, but all of your tasty photos are making me hungrily wish that I could make it now.

  9. Life is Full
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 10:01:54

    I love the thrill of saving with coupons too especially when it’s a big saving. In Canada doubling of coupons is not allowed so we don’t get to save as much.

    I didn’t make the chicken but it sounds great. Thanks for posting the picture of the LU biscuits. At least I know what to look for should I attempt the recipe.

  10. Maya@Foodiva's Kitchen
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 10:04:17

    Wow, I didn’t realize those cookies were on the pricey side. Great thing you had that coupon! The color of your chicken looks lovely, almost caramelly.

  11. Marcella
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 10:36:40

    Congratulations on the coupon deals! I could not bring myself to try this one; I cannot abide cinnamon and meat. Glad you had a good cooking week!

  12. Adriana @ GreatFood360°
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 10:37:25

    Your chicken looks really good! The color is fantastic. I have the worst time with coupons here because stores only accept the ones that already come with the food items. Once I even printed out a grocery chain’s policy on online coupons and I still was given a hard time about it!.

  13. Eileen
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 10:43:39

    Looks great! I never have much luck with coupons. All they do is make me buy things I wouldn’t normally. I find it interesting that you had no “crunch”–I’d assumed that was why Dorie advises against homemade cookies. Mysterious.

  14. Miriam Barton
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 11:21:51

    It looks fabulous for chicken lovers.🙂, have a nice weekend!! Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  15. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 11:24:35

    Gotta love simple and tasty. Good to see this, I’ve had mixed success with cinnamon and chicken. It can be really great or prompt a negative review from Katherine to put it kindly. I love the sound of this though, can’t wait to see the others too.

  16. sara
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 11:55:29

    I love coupons, but I usually use the online kind! It’s always fun to get a deal.
    This chicken dish looks really interesting! I think I would have been really skeptical of cookies+chicken, so it’s great to hear that the recipe turned out really yummy!🙂

  17. Elin
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 12:25:28

    Lucky gal…you got the coupon and paid less for a box of speculoos🙂 Wow..your dish looks delicious ! Mine was drier but it taste good. I reduced the cream thus the dryness :p After hopping to all the rest, I realized that it should be wet🙂

  18. spicegirlfla
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 12:26:42

    I’m not a coupon clipper but I do always seek out the sale items! I hate spending full price for anything!!! This sounds yummy and easy; I’ve not experimented with cinnamon and chicken – definitely a new twist for me!

  19. Krissy
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 16:30:44

    Fun to read your blog. I used to do lots of coupon and ads shopping, but then I found that I was buying too many items just because I have a coupon or because it was on sale. So my rush these days is not going out to eat very often…just make and bake at home and that is my savings. But good for you to use your coupons and to find ones for things you need. Your chicken looks delish.

  20. Caroline
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 16:55:43

    I rarely use coupons, but am all about sale items. But look what great stuff you can buy! This chicken sounds so tasty.

  21. sanyaliving
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 18:06:05

    Your chicken looks great! Very saucy n juicy looking! I wimped out n made Dorie’s roast chicken for lazy people!

  22. Elaine
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 18:31:39

    Your chicken has such a pretty color and looks so juicy.

  23. chunklet's mom
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 18:46:15

    Yay couponing!

  24. Peggy
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 19:08:28

    What an interesting dish! And hooray for $1.25 LUs!

  25. Liz
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 19:28:37

    What a deal! I made my first trip to Aldi’s in about 20 years to find mine…$1.99! Your chicken pieces are so much darker than mine…much prettier🙂

  26. Pam @ From Apples To Zucchini
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 20:00:28

    I made my own cookies (after missing the recipe in the book – duh!), because I didn’t want to spend so much on them – what a great deal you got! If I hadn’t added extra cookies on top, we would have never had the crunch either, so its not you!

  27. Betsy
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 20:37:50

    I love using coupons too! I didn’t love this one, but glad I tried it. And it gave me an excuse to buy the cookies (which I always enjoy). There are always at my local grocery story for less than $3 a box.

  28. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 23:23:04

    I am trying to be a better “couponer” but I am so bad at remembering them. Although yesterday I was inspired by a gal who had a binder in her shopping cart with the coupons organized by category as she walked through the aisles. I was seriously impressed.

  29. peachkins
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 06:06:29

    I haven’t tried cooking cinnamon with chicken…it sounds interesting…

  30. Laurie Lessner
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 06:39:04

    Good to no others didn’t have any crunch either. Glad my cookie sub didn’t make a difference with that part. Your’s looks so yummy!

  31. Maris (in Good Taste)
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 08:05:32

    I think it looks good and I bet it tasted good too!

  32. Laural @ Being Healthier
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 08:30:38

    innovative cinnamon n chicken!! I tried to coupon… i save three inserts of coupons but didn’t clip any. I was bummed. I gave them to my mom. my sister took all the couponing genes I think.

  33. Pachecopatty
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 11:28:45

    Your chicken looks delicious, Congrats on finding your coupon for the cookies;-)

  34. Andrea
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 11:31:04

    I am behind again! I’ll get there! This looks great!

  35. ambrosiana
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 15:00:52

    Oh!! I miss those coupon deals from America!! Interesting combination of chicken and cinnamon!!

  36. Alice
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 15:07:43

    how cool that there was a coupon for the cookies! yours looks more cinnamon-y and less creamy… I didnt love this one either but it still tasted good I think!

  37. Tanvi
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 16:53:01

    Yumm…the chicken looks so so yum slathered in all that sauce! Very innovative & flavorful!

  38. Betty
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 20:35:43

    Very interesting dish! I’m going to have to dust off Dorie’s book and try this one!🙂

  39. Cakelaw
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 02:25:41

    I was worried by this recipe too, but it turned out great – yours makes me want it again!

  40. Kelly
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 07:14:16

    What a fab idea for chicken. I love cinnamon on just about everything! Looks terrific too!

  41. stacy :)
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 09:35:25

    I love a good coupon deal too! I suggest using some of those leftover speculoos to make lemon-speculoos ice cream – David Lebovitz has a recipe in The Perfect Scoop – so good! Your chicken looks yummy – glad it was a success!

  42. Ameena
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 10:30:46

    Chicken with cookies? What an intriguing combination!

    I am terrible about using coupons…I lose them, forget them, and then end up just paying the full price. I need to get organized!

  43. Geni - Sweet and Crumby
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 12:02:24

    Sounds interesting. I have mixed feelings about cookies in my chicken if I have to be honest here but you dish looks wonderful and you say it’s tasty so I will believe you. I have never found you to be a liar.🙂 I have been couponing more lately as well. It’s so cool to save money on stuff you were going to buy anyway. Have a great Sunday!

  44. Tasty Mayhem
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 14:56:27

    Such a deal. they are usually 5 bucks in my stores, that is in the few that carry them. To be honest, I think yours looks good with the cookies dissolved in the sauce.

  45. torviewtoronto and createwithmom
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 21:13:55

    glad to hear it was tasty I saw this preparation in another site as well
    i haven’t had like this

  46. Grumpy Grateful Mom
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 23:59:00

    Yum! I know my husband would really like this dish. I would like the Nutella.🙂

  47. kitchen flavours
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 00:32:17

    Wow! I have never use biscuits for a chicken dish before! Sounds interesting and looks very delicious!

  48. rebecca
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 08:47:33

    fun flavor combo

  49. Miri Leigh
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 12:16:17

    Great find with the coupon! This dish sounds delicious; thanks for posting🙂

  50. Kathy
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 14:38:40

    YC…There is so much satisfaction in saving money at the grocery! I have always shopped with coupons…but not religiously! Your chicken looks yummy! How did you like the flavor of the cookies and chicken? Not sure I will make this one!

  51. Steph I
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 17:32:27

    Yeah for your great coupon!! No crunch at my house either. Oh well.

  52. bakingdevils
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 17:37:13

    Pretty looking dish…only if I was a non-vegetarian,,,,my hubby would love it…I start thinking of ways to use the sauce over a veg dish…maybe a big chunk of tofu – marinated with this sauce – would be brilliant too

    -Shilpa

  53. Trevor Sis Boom
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 20:35:31

    Of all the versions of this dish I’ve seen since last Friday yours has the most appetizing presentation and color I’ve seen. I may make D’s speculoos again this Christmas and may try this then but I couldn’t bring myself to buy a box for just this. Now, had I had a coupon like yours….! Great job my friend.

  54. Ryan
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 06:35:36

    Wow! Major score on the LU coupon! That’s always so nice, like finding money in the street or something! This dish sounds so good– I like that it’s sweet and savory and I think cinnamon with chicken is a really good combo! Great post!

  55. smartfoodandfit
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 07:53:26

    I’ll use coupons once in awhile, it’s work to sit and cut them out and look for the one’s you’ll actually use. I go to target.com and print out coupons before shopping at Target and if you have manufacturer’s coupons, you can use them in addition to the target coupon. Not only that but if you have a target card you get an extra 5% off!

    Okay back to your chicken dish! Sounds interesting and a great combo since I eat both on a daily basis!

  56. Lola's Kitchen
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 09:23:36

    Your chicken looks really good! Mine was very white and didn’t look too appetizing. And what a bargain! I would have liked a bargain since the creme fraiche was $5.99 for 6oz!!!

  57. Vianney Rodriguez (@sweetlifebake)
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:41:31

    yeah for coupons, glad you enjoyed the dish.

  58. Tiffany
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 07:15:46

    This looks really really good. I love chicken!

