An Award & a Reminder!

Jay from Tasty Appetite gave me a Versatile Blogger award! I really enjoy reading Jay’s blog because of all the fun Indian dishes she prepares. I’m still on my Indian food kick, and I always look to her blog for ideas!

Because I’m on trial right now, I’m going to keep this short, forgo the “7 Things about Me” portion, and jump right to awarding this Versatile Blogger award. However, I would be amiss if I didn’t mention the outpouring of support the food bloggers gave this past weekend to Jennifer at In Jennie’s Kitchen due to the recent and unexpected passing of her husband, Mikey. While I learned of this unfortunate tragedy and all the peanut butter pies being made in Mikey’s honor a bit too late to make/post a pie, I am reminded of how thoughtful and sincere people can be in times of need. Being an attorney, my perception is often times cynical and hard-edged, so this was a much needed eye-opener. So, to all those food bloggers who showed their support for Jennifer, I share this Versatile Blogger award with you!

***REMINDER***

This Thursday is another round of Ina’s Garden, a bi-monthly cooking group where we gather together and post recipes by Ina Garten. This week’s theme is a Wild Card week, so feel free to post any Ina Garten recipe you’d like! I may end up grilling something tasty of Ina’s. With the end of summer slowly approaching, grilling is at an all-time high! So, grab your favorite Ina recipe and join us in Ina’s Garden on Thursday, August 18th!

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maris (in Good Taste)
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 05:34:31

    Very sweet post! lovely tribute to all bloggers!

  2. Anita Menon
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 05:36:17

    Congrats on the award.

    Really felt sad about Jennie and felt good about how the blogging community showed their solidarity towards a hurting food blogger

    Great gesture.

    My best,
    Anita

  3. spicegirlfla
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 05:47:58

    Your award is well deserved, congratulations! I agree with Maris, I have found that bloggers are an amazing group of people that care and support each other in good times and not so good times.

  4. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 08:55:13

    A very good idea to share your award, it was beautiful to see how everyone in the blogging community came out to support Jennie and her family. I made my nephews cupcakes that morning (those are more their style) but the sentiment was the same.

  5. Three-Cookies
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 09:41:47

    Excellent post, and sad news, I wasn’t aware.

  6. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 09:43:33

    I hope you’re acquitted. Get it you’re on trial? OK that was a bad one. Congrats on the award. That’s a classy way to share it. Such sad news.

  7. Peggy
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 09:50:37

    What a great way to celebrate the thoughtful bloggers that came together to show support for Jennie!

  8. kitchen flavours
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 10:14:57

    Congrats on the award!
    My heart goes out to Jennie and her girls. Really sorry to hear about her loss. I’m not familiar with her blog, but she is in my thoughts and prayers.

  9. Ronda
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 10:20:33

    Congrats on the award!

  10. Mary
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 11:09:42

    Congratulations on your well-deserved award. There will be many more that come your way. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  11. patty
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 16:28:30

    Congratulations on your award! I think it’s a nice way to be recognized;-) Are you making eggplant this Friday???? I think your choose any recipe from Ina Garten you like is a great idea!

  12. Inger Wilkerson
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 17:13:30

    Congratulations!

    You know I did Ina Garten’s Croque Monsieur last winter after watching it prepared in the film It’s Complicated. Perhaps its time to do that again…

  13. Cakelaw
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 17:20:49

    Congrats on the award, and good luck with the trial!

  14. Liz
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 18:50:16

    What a nice dedication…I’ve found the food blogging community to be very compassionate, too. Thanks for the reminder about Ina’s Garden…and I see your Forever Nigella button, too…yikes…I’m SO behind🙂

  15. Jay
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:06:20

    really sorry for Jennie….My prayers for her and her girls..!
    YOu very well deserve this and many more awards..:)
    Tasty Appetite

  16. JamieAnne
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 21:01:17

    Good luck with your trial. It’s nice of you to remember your blogging friend. How sad. I can not imagine. Congrats on your award.

  17. Miriam Barton
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 21:15:23

    Sweet post.
    Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  18. incidentalcooksumanuman
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 06:10:25

    Congrats on your award..great post and such a sad news..good luck with your trial!

  19. Kathy
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 07:03:40

    Congrats on your much deserved award! Nice tribute!

  20. kitchenbelleicious
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 07:07:01

    I am just like you, by the time I heard about Jennie I didn’t have time to cook and post a pb pie but she was definitely in my thoughts and prayers. It amazes me this food community and how we stick together. I am so lucky to be apart of it. Hope trial is going well and congrats on the award

  21. Louise
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 12:58:41

    I too just found out about Jennie, so sad…The blogging community is absolutely amazing especially during times of sorrow. It really makes you realize how genuine people can really be.

    GREAT award, Yummy! You certainly deserve it. Thanks for sharing…

  22. Caroline
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 13:30:04

    Congrats on the award! Well deserved.🙂

  23. Laural @ Being Healthier
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 16:45:41

    I didn’t know about Jennie – but this post is the case and point of that- every blog I have read or commented on has made me a better person because I find out something new from each one. I cannot imagine losing a loved one , esp. a husband, unexpectedly and what she is going through BUT I am so happy to have been part of a blogging community because of the support from people that I may never even meet in this life. a simple thanks, a simple “yum” a comment of any variety is always so touching to me. congrats on the award.

  24. sophia
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 20:03:31

    What a lovely post. It’s so nice that you’ve got the blog world to keep your “optimistic” eye open.🙂

  25. Parsley Sage
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 22:37:06

    Nice post🙂 And totally deserving win!

