Dorie Brownie Friday!

Confession time: As much as I love salmon, the thought of this week’s ffwD recipe, Salmon and Potatoes in a Jar, was really unappealing to me. Without my former live-in taste-tester (Codename: Surfer Psychologist) convincing me to make it anyway, I felt this dish sounded too unappetizing to feed to others who were not relying on me for free room and board. So, instead, I decided to make brownies this Friday!

In keeping with the Dorie-Friday connection, I chose one to follow one of her brownie recipes, the Tribute-to-Katharine-Hepburn Brownies, which can be found in Dorie’s Baking: From My Home to Yours cookbook.

I won’t bore you with the details about my long, drawn-out, never-ending day prior to making these brownies, but I will say this: these brownies were a snap to make! And they tasted awesome, which is saying something because I’m not a huge brownie fan. I did indulge a bit and cut the brownies into nine large, fat squares as opposed to Dorie’s recommended sixteen. Yeah, it was that kind of day. And, yes, they’re that good. I especially liked the melted pieces of chopped chocolate in these brownies!

I’m sure I’ll make the Salmon and Potatoes in a Jar at some point but probably not until my other sister (Codename: Chunklet’s mom) comes back into town for a visit. When I described the recipe to her, she thought it sounded really good, kind of like lox. I guess I’ll have to make sure to pick up some cream cheese and bialys for her as well!

To see other bloggers who actually followed this week’s recipe, check out French Fridays with Dorie where we make recipes from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

46 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eileen
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 08:23:03

    I’m with you, yummychunklet! I’d take brownies over the inedible mess I produced any day. People seem to have really liked the jarred version of the salmon, but I chickened out. Oh well. Those brownies look AMAZING.

  2. saffronandhoney
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 08:26:12

    Aw the brownies look gooey, melty, and awesome! I could go for one right now (that kind of day too haha).

    Hope you’ll try the salmon one day🙂 It turned out really well!

  3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 08:27:43

    Oh, those look good. As much as I love salmon, and the results I’ve seen so far, can’t argue with this pick.

  4. Parsley Sage
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 08:33:34

    Oooh! I like the melted pieces too you FFwD rebel, you! Glad you went with the sweets. I’m not really feeling salmon in a jar today either🙂

  5. Food,Photography & France
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 08:42:18

    They are outrageously sexy brownies – you should be ashamed of yourself

  6. gnashingrefined
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 08:55:32

    Brownies > Salmon (even though I love both)

  7. Peggy
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 09:14:46

    The salmon and potatoes does sounds really good, but brownies would win every time for me! So I’m glad you made them instead =)

  8. Betty @ scrambled henfruit
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 09:17:08

    I think you made a wise decision, going with the brownies. They look amazing, and just the way I love them- with nuts and gooey chocolate.🙂

  9. Ronda
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 09:17:12

    The idea of salmon in a jar sounded awful to me too, but I am not a salmon fan. Those brownies, however, I could be a fan of those!

  10. Anita Menon
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 09:45:18

    I remember precisely how the katherine hepburn brownies look in Dorie’s book. I have had it in my head ever since to give it go but never got around doing it till now.
    They look indulgently good.All that chocolate goodness can bid any bad day goodbye.
    Hope you are feeling better now

  11. Kathy
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 10:14:55

    YC, I’m with you…just couldn’t wrap my head around eating raw, pickled fish…and I will try just about anything. The brownies look sooo much more appealing! Have a wonderful weekend!

  12. JamieAnne
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 10:26:32

    These look wonderful. I love brownies. Brownies are way better than fish in a jar.😉

  13. Vianney Rodriguez (@sweetlifebake)
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 10:29:26

    with the first picture I’m glad you went with brownies, lol
    they looks AWESOME!! I agree nine large fat peices are the way to go!!

    happy weekend!

  14. Miriam Barton
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 10:32:05

    I LOVE brownies!!! These look so fudgy and perfect! Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  15. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 10:51:24

    Nice choice! Brownies always trump any other food🙂

  16. spicegirlfla
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 10:53:52

    I’m all for the brownies too! Really rich and indulgent looking, I’d love to be your new roomie for a taste of these!!

  17. forgottenbeast
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 11:12:52

    Did not click on the link, but will go ahead and say brownies sound WAY better than fish-in-a-jar😀

  18. Eileen
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 11:55:00

    I keep returning to your page to stare at those brownies. I have problems. lol

  19. Liz
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 12:25:45

    I think brownie therapy is more effective than jarred salmon therapy…good choice! They look marvelous~~

  20. Three-Cookies
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 13:34:34

    They look absolutely amazing, chocolatey, gooey, nutty…

  21. kitchenbelleicious
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 14:06:55

    Oh my sweet friend- this is like my very own present here on your blog. I love my brownies and I have never tried this recipe. So glad you did so now I know they are good. Have a great weekend

  22. Maya@Foodiva Kitchen
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 15:59:26

    These brownies look evil….but in a very, very good way! I’d trade my salmon and potatoes in a jar for a big tray of these brownies anytime🙂.

  23. Life is Full
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 16:05:55

    Yummy!! I enjoyed these too, lucky you to have brownies for dessert tonight. (No salmon and potatoes ia a jar for me too!)

  24. TrafficDiva
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 16:09:45

    To all of Yummy Chunklet’s blog followers, It is both an honor and a pleasure to be the receipient of these brownies. As a traffic reporter for a major radio and tv company, I presented these wonderful “chocolate kisses from heaven” to my fellow co-workers. And as of this moment, there is very little traffic reporting going on but lots of smiles and finger lick’n going on. Not mention there was a brief scuffle for the last half of brownies between my producers. Needless to say, I had to save some for my family, but now I’m getting the dirtest looks around the station! So, from all of us here at [codename: Clear Channel] THANK YOU YUMMY FOR THE YUMMY BROWNIES!!! =)

  25. Mary
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 17:32:24

    OHHHH – I don’t blame you ! – who needs salmon when you have these delicious gooey brownies – they look stunning:)
    Mary

  26. Cakelaw
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 18:19:30

    These brownies look awesome! I am with you on salmon in a jar.

  27. Angela
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 19:29:56

    Forget salmon! These are fabulous.

  28. Elaine
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 20:40:23

    I hope you do try the salmon in a jar sometime soon because I think you will be surprised and like it. I hope so anyway! But, I can certainly understand why you wouldn’t want to make it without any other taste testers near by. Besides, who wouldn’t want to go for chocolate instead? Your brownies look so good!

  29. Betsy
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 21:37:33

    The brownies looks delicious. You should definitely try the salmon sometime. It’s a lot like lox only prettier.

  30. Yuri
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 22:37:13

    Hello, friend! I miss cooking/baking with FFwD. Been crazy busy these past weeks, gotta reorganize myself and join you🙂 I am trying to come up with some kind of schedule to bake/cook/post/visit blogs while I tweet/FB/work. *sigh

    Hope all is well with you🙂 xoxo

  31. kitchen flavours
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 23:27:20

    Your brownie looks really good! I have been thinking of brownies and blondies lately! This recipe and a few others was bookmarked but have yet to make any! Hopefully soon!

  32. Vardhini
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 01:08:46

    Those brownies look so tempting. Wow .. I am yet to venture into making brownies. Looks good.

    Vardhini
    Check out my 100th post giveaway

  33. smartfoodandfit
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 04:51:35

    Today is my cheat meal day and I’m definitely in a baking mood. Looks like brownies is on my to do list today!

  34. Adriana @ GreatFood360°
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 05:28:49

    I think I have another strategy for dubious FFwD recipes (in addition to playing catch-up with older recipes I might have missed or saddling my friends to make them for me). Good thing I just got a copy of the Baking book! After seeing the brownies, oh my, I’m even more psyched about my new acquisition.

  35. Simply Life
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 06:44:46

    mmm….can I have one even though it’s saturday?🙂

  36. Dr. Reginia
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 08:20:10

    I am such a fan of brownies. These look delicious. I hope they are just a great without the nuts bc I am so allergic to peanuts, walnuts and the like.

  37. Grumpy Grateful Mom
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 09:31:03

    I love brownies! I ate a stale brownie yesterday a still enjoyed it. But, your brownies look delicious!!! I think the melted pieces of chocolate sound heavenly.🙂

  38. Tiffany
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 10:26:37

    My husband loves brownies and he was walking by ans saw the picture of the brownies and said he wanted some!!! It sounds so good!

  39. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 11:22:58

    the gorgeous nuts packed in these scrumptious brownies is to-die-for! These would be amazing with a tea or coffee- mmmmm i want one so badly!!

    xoxo

  40. nana
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 11:57:47

    Thank you for the lovely birthday wishes, and yes, it was exciting to receive a
    comment from Dorie. After doing this blog for almost a year, it would be fun to
    actually meet her. Who knows, Tricia and I might see her in Paris next month.
    Wow, we would be surprised. Those brownies look scrumptious, I could
    use one right about now.

  41. MegSmith @ Cooking.In.College
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 15:39:27

    Oh my goodness my mouth is watering. These look like the best brownies ever!

  42. chunklet's mom
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 14:19:28

    These brownies look so good that i’m drooling over here!

  43. Tandy
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 04:26:40

    brownies beat anything!

  44. Cher
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 11:05:45

    Good call on the brownies…

  45. Terra
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 14:58:44

    You are so cute! I agree the salmon and potatoes in a jar doesn’t sound great, but your brownies sound FANTASTIC! Beautiful:-)

  46. Trackback: Afternoon Drive Munchies! « Yummy Chunklet
