Seven Link Challenge!

Three Cookies tagged me to take part in a Seven Link Challenge! The concept is simple. Highlight a post of your own in each of the seven categories listed below. Then nominate 5 bloggers to do the same. It’s a chance to show off posts you were particularly proud of or garnered more attention than you expected!

There are only two rules: 1) publish a link specifically for the categories below, and 2) nominate up to 5 bloggers to take part. Here are my chosen links for the following categories:

1. The most beautiful post: In my opinion, hands down, the photos from my Brown Sugar Oatmeal with Roasted Peaches and Pecans post looked amazing.

2. The most popular post: Vanilla Profiteroles for ffwD! I suppose I could’ve gone with the most number of views, but this post garnered the most comments I’ve received so far.

3. The most controversial post: Scallops with Caramel-Orange Sauce. From reading the comments, I never knew people had such strong opinions over the zester vs. microplane debate!

4. The most helpful post: I overcame my fear of poached eggs with this ffwD post. It helped me learn to like eggs prepared in ways other than scrambled!

5. The post that was surprisingly successful: My failed citrus-berry terrine. Turns out, my fresh kiwi was the culprit for the gelatin not gelling. But, everyone (including myself) seemed okay with the slushy idea!

6. The post that did not get the attention it deserved: The post where I made Julia Child’s Reine de Saba cake. Granted, the photos are crazy looking, and I literally had been blogging for less than three months at this point, but come on! It’s Julia Child! However, now that I’m thinking about it, I’ll probably make this cake again, do another post, and see what kind of response I get. It will be a lot better looking this time around, I promise!

7. The post I am most proud of: Of course, it would be the post dedicated to my niece (Codename: Chunklet) on her second birthday! I’m so proud of her! Plus, I’m proud of myself with the Yo Gabba Gabba cupcakes I made for her because it was my first attempt at making and dyeing marshmallow fondant.

I’d like to nominate the following bloggers to give them a chance to brag about some of their favorite posts they did! I love reading their blogs and would like to find out what their personal favorites were.

1. Roger Stowell at Camerahols/Food, Photography & France. If you haven’t been reading this blog, you’ll be blown away by the amazing photographs and wonderful anectodes.

2. Meri at Meri-Goes-Round. Her current series of posts include topics ranging from television to vacations. Her thoughts are always amusing to me!

3. Greg and Katherine at Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide. I can’t get over the fact that they’re located so close to Arkansas (my home state) even though they live in Texas. It’s such a fun read!

4. Kitchen Belleicious. Speaking of Southern cooking and baking, this blog is one of my favorites. You’ll always find a recipe winner here.

5. Inside a British Mum’s Kitchen. I love reading this blog because it’s interesting to read a different take on a “familiar” dish from some “across the pond”. Love it!

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Three-Cookies
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 06:51:41

    Interesting roundup. Reine de Saba is a very interesting sounding name. I am sure it will get more attention now that its been brought out in the open once more! Amazing story behind the Brown Sugar Oatmeal with Roasted Peaches and Pecans post. I have been in contact with some persons I have never met – should be fun meeting in person.

  2. Maris (In Good Taste)
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 06:53:36

    Fun to read!

  3. Mary
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 07:05:18

    What a good idea, and I bet you spent lots of time looking through your older posts and reminiscing! Now I need to go and check out some of those, because there are a few I haven’t seen.🙂

  4. Anita Menon
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 07:30:20

    What a lovely concept! A chance to go back in time and evaluate.

  5. spicegirlfla
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 07:47:29

    Love your choices! And I got to check out some that I had missed! I agree on your oatmeal with peaches and pecans, I loved that recipe and seeing it again reminded me I must make this!

  6. Quay Po
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 08:15:06

    This bring you back in time and refresh your memory of your old posts. I am going to check them out now. Tata for now.

  7. kitchenbelleicious
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 08:39:22

    See this is why i love this game because I catch up on posts I missed and would have loved! The profiteroles and julia child’s cake? Come on! Those are amazing and I want to make them both , like now! Seriously good round up of recipes and thank you so much for the shout out. I can’t wait to put together my 7 link challenge!

  8. Mary
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 10:41:04

    This is great fun! we get to see more than usual which is great and a little inside scoop! I’m very happy to take part – double yum
    Mary x

  9. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 10:50:18

    Fun list! I love going through and reviving some old recipes. I agree, the Brown Sugar Oatmeal with Roasted Peaches and Pecans post does have lovely photos.

  10. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 10:56:39

    Ha, we do live in Arkansas, just outside of Little Rock but this made me laugh and don’t feel bad, I once called a woman a man, so embarrasing! Thank you for the nice shout out, I can’t wait to look at your old posts and also see the other picks. We are accepting the challenge and will post Friday.

  11. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 10:59:24

    Also, if you haven’t yet bought a Microplane here’s one more argument in that camp. They’re made in Arkansas.

  12. Caroline
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 13:56:47

    Thanks for sharing these posts…those scallops look aaaamazing! I definitely need to try them out.🙂

  13. Tanvi
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 14:29:17

    Saw this on Nami’s blog a while back..what a fun idea!

  14. Kelly
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 14:31:05

    I love reading these – it gives me an inside look at your blogging life. And, the vanilla profiteroles is speaking to me, big time… !

  15. Peggy
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 16:29:08

    Great choice of links! There were definitely some in there that I hadn’t seen yet =)

  16. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 19:32:04

    Your Vanilla Profiteroles are seriously killer! they are so picture-perfect-delicious that i almost want to save the photo as my computer desktop wallpaper… would that be weird!?! haha❤

  17. Food Glorious food
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 19:58:54

    The is fun! Love your list and maybe I should do it too!

  18. rebecca
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 22:06:20

    fun enjoy your recipes and your such a talented baker

  19. Trackback: Seven Links (and then some) Challenge | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
  20. Inger Wilkerson
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 17:20:47

    The microplane controversy is just too funny (I’ve done a couple raw milk related posts after all…) I don’t buy a lot of specilized tools and thought hard before I bought mine but I truly love it (and it doesn’t take up a lot of space).

  21. Yuri
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 21:15:34

    Great list🙂 love this challenge, makes you look back and remember those days when blogging was weird and exciting and scary hehehe

  22. Trackback: My 7 Links. « Chef Pandita
