ffwD: Citrus Berry Slushy?

Anyone else think this week’s recipe sounded like orange juice Jell-o with berries? Just me? Anyway, that’s what I thought it was. However, I may have overestimated this recipe because it didn’t turn out right at all.

Now that my sister and live-in taste-tester, (Codename: Surfer Psychologist), has moved to Hawaii, I’m left with downsizing the ffwD recipes to single servings as best as possible. For this week, I chose to halve the recipe and make two mini-loaf sized terrines. I also chose to leave out the orange and pink grapefruit segments but included kiwi in the berry mix.

My troubles began when I let the orange juice gelatin chill for a bit longer than two hours. When I remembered to check on it, the mixture had become slightly more solidified past Dorie’s suggested “egg white consistency.” So, I had to break it up with a fork, gently fold in the berries, and hope that the gelatin would reset. Wrong! After four hours, the mix was completely liquid. I went into mini-panic mode, mixed another cup of the orange juice gelatin, and split that between the two mini-loaf pans thinking the new juice would congeal around the existing mix.

After allowing the pans to reset overnight, I woke up this morning to find that the loaves were still liquidy. I wanted to salvage this dish, so I stuck the pans in the freezer in an attempt to make a frozen juice pop sort of deal.

After two hours, the mixed seemed frozen through, so I dumped one mini-loaf pan over and got a slushy-juice consistency.

To make it appear fancy, I put it in a nice glass.

I’ll be saving the second mini-loaf pan till after work to see if it solidifies any further.

Overall, not my greatest attempt but it worked out okay. The slushy was very sweet with the berries and stood okay as a frozen dessert! I’m not sure I’ll try my hand at the gelatin version again, but I can appreciate the colder, frozen version, especially in this heat!

To see the right way to make this citrus berry terrine, check out French Fridays with Dorie where we make recipes from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

50 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anita Menon
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 10:35:32

    Looks yummy to me. I can taste the tangy cold burst from here🙂

  2. Cher
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 10:39:56

    Oh – you did go through the wringer on this one. But you were tenacious, for sure.
    Nothing wrong with a fruit slush🙂

  3. Food,Photography & France
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 10:55:06

    I love the shot in the freezer tray, but i think you’re applying some digital colour enhancer that has taken acid. It can work, but this could be arrested for possession with intent to blind,

  4. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 11:00:13

    That recipe screams summer. OK, maybe it’s the glass too. I’m convince the recipe was flawed if it didn’t work for you. Somehow, it’s still managing to make me grab a spoon.

  5. oneexpatslife
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 11:12:07

    I’m so sorry, I think we all have weeks like that sometimes. But your slushy looks very tasty and maybe is better for the summer heat anyway!

  6. Eileen
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 11:27:51

    Oh no! How frustrating! Kudos for turning a potential disaster into a slushy, though! I probably would have just curled up in a corner and cried. Okay, not really. Packets of gelatin may have been thrown, though. I was glad that I read in the P&Q section that the gelatin was setting faster than 2 hours for people before I started, b/c mine was ready after an hour.

  7. Steph I
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 11:42:51

    Oh my, what a pain! So glad it turned out tasty and you invented a new dessert! Good for you. Love the photos…especially the one on the pretty plate.

  8. Simply Life
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 11:45:21

    what a fun idea for the summer!

  9. gaaarp
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 13:00:33

    There’s a restaurant south of us (in Amish country) that serves a fruit slush on their breakfast buffet. My wife liked this terrine presicely because it reminded her of frozen fruit slush!

  10. Ronda
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 13:19:33

    I have yet to get a gelatin dessert to work. It always sounds so straight forward, but in the end I have a mess. At least yours was an edible mess!

  11. spicegirlfla
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 13:49:23

    oh boy..well, I think the slushy looks really good!! And I believe you found a whole new twist to this recipe! I bet it tasted fantastic!!

  12. Mary
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 14:00:53

    I think it looks fun in the fancy cup. Mine didn’t cut right either…I have to stop multi-tasking in the kitchen🙂.

  13. Dessert By Candy
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 14:07:56

    The culprit is kiwi. The fruit contains an enzyme that prevents gelatin from setting. Another tip is that if your gelatin set too much before you had a chance to fold in the fruit, just warm the mixture to liquidfy it so you can do the chilling over again.

    Great save with the slushy version!

  14. kitchenbelleicious
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 14:46:40

    It might not look like you wanted it to but it “looks” perfect to me! I love slushy’s and these flavors are yummy

  15. Life is Full
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 17:12:12

    Sorry it didn’t turn out despite your efforts. I think Jello boxes warns against adding kiwi fruit into the mix. Anyway, it’s still a lovely way to eat all those great fruits! Keep up your good work in the kitchen!

  16. Maris (In Good Taste)
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 18:29:40

    I will say it all looks very colorful and pretty

  17. Maya@Foodiva Kitchen
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 18:53:02

    LOL, I like reading about your attempts to salvage this dish…bravo for not giving up and turning it into something equally yummy! Yes, it’s the kiwi that prevented the gelatin from setting. Similarly, don’t use fresh pineapples with gelatin. I read all about working with gelatin from David Lebovitz’s site, it’s very helpful.

  18. chunklet's mom
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 19:08:00

    I like the creative attempts at trying to salvage the dish. I hate wasting ingredients, especially when I mess it up:-/. The dish still looks yummy! Me and Bacon Monster would gladly grab a spoon and help you eat it🙂

  19. Patty
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 19:18:06

    I like the look of this slushy fruity concoction! I’m sorry you had to sweat it out while trying to make your terrine come out the way you expected but it does look very refreshing and delicious;-)

  20. Marcella
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 19:27:44

    The kiwi is the culprit. It contains an enzyme that kills the jell power of gelatin. Fresh pineapple does the same thing. Cooked, the fruits are fine. At least you were able to make it work for a hot day.

  21. Liz
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 20:15:00

    Yes, I’ll echo the others…kiwi and pineapple don’t mix with gelatin. I actually bought a kiwi…and then I remembered. I’m glad you were able to salvage your terrine and invent a new slushy!

  22. JamieAnne
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 20:40:26

    The slushy looks AMAZING. I’m not sure what it “should have” looked like, but it looks perfect the way it is.

  23. April @ The 21st Century Housewife
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 23:24:40

    It may not have turned out exactly as it should have, but your citrus berry slushy sure does look delicious to me! What a fantastic recipe!

  24. Quay Po Cooks
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 23:41:36

    It did turn out exactly as it should be? To me it looks flawless! I am so gonna make this.

  25. Krissy
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 23:45:00

    I actually like your frozen in the pretty glass version better than most others I’ve seen. I’m ditching this week and probably next…doing a big wedding for my nephew. But…I can’t say that “jello” is on my list of favorites, and even though this dish is pretty, it is not exciting. I’ll have to try it later, but I actually love what happened to yours…it is pretty and not so jello-y.

  26. Elaine
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 01:48:31

    My first terrine didn’t set either, but I thought it was because of the pineapple… now, I’m not sure after reading your post because you had the same problem. Everyone at my house actually preferred the ‘slushy’ terrine and really the colors stand out more. Serving it in a soda fountain glass gives it a wonderfully festive presentation!

  27. Ruth
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 01:54:16

    I bet this tasted amazing, despite it not being qute how you wanted it. I would happily finish it all off!!

  28. Summer Rose
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 03:29:20

    HA ha , i love u put it in a nice glass to make it look fancy , it sure does🙂
    But at the end of it all , it all looks soooo good and i find myself reaching out for some🙂
    Wonderful weekend!

  29. incidentalcooksuman
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 05:38:34

    Really delicious and refreshing looking slushy..perfect for hot summer day…

  30. Andi Winslow
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 07:46:31

    Better luck next time, but it beautiful. And a reminder of summer! Enjoy Andi

  31. Trix
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 08:54:10

    I am not a big fan of working with gelatin myself, so you have ALL my sympathies!! I would have had a temper tantrum over this, but it looks like you pulled off a biig save!

  32. Peggy
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 08:56:40

    This sounds even better than a gelatin! Maybe it was just meant to be a slushy? Looks great either way =)

  33. Parsley Sage
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 10:22:30

    Well, not everything can be a rousing success in the kitchen. I’m learning that the hard way🙂 I still think it looks very yummy!

  34. Kathy
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 14:03:18

    So sorry you had problems with this one…but you came through it great! I like that you rescued it by making a slushy! It really looks pretty!

  35. betsy
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 17:41:44

    Looks pretty despite not gelling. I like the fun glass presentation.

  36. Nourhan @ Miss Anthropist's Kitchen
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 18:22:17

    Yum! Still looks great😀

  37. peachkins
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 19:23:53

    I love slushies, even in cold weathers and yours has berries! It looks wonderful!

  38. Lola's Kitchen
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 20:24:25

    Nothing wrong with a fruit slushie!

  39. Miriam Barton
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 22:49:29

    Well, it looks pretty🙂, Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  40. Meri
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 00:50:11

    I’m glad you made it into something you kind of liked🙂 I sure love jello,but not with anything in it, just plain!

  41. Bookcase Foodie
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 03:02:50

    If this catches on, you will become famous. We will have to call it Yummy Chunklet’s Slushy.

    I wonder what would happen, if you added some yogurt and blended it all together. Would you get a smoothie?

  42. tinytearoom
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 09:15:25

    It looks enticing in a big glass cup. that is the kind of cooling dessert I want on an unbearably hot summer day!

  43. Ameena
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 11:02:09

    A nice glass can really do wonders for anything…I actually use good silverware and dishes so that my sad looking food looks more appealing.🙂

  44. Adriana @ GreatFood360°
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 16:28:44

    I would love to eat that slushy right now!

  45. Jackie
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 17:12:07

    Sounds like a great save to something that didn’t turn out quite right. What better way to end a hot day than with a yummy sounding frozen dessert.

  46. Cakelaw
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 03:31:22

    I agree – it is really OJ jello with berries. Maybe the kiwi fruit stopped it from setting – I think there is some enzyme in it that stops the gelatin from working by denaturing it. (I hope that’s right – I am too lazy to look it up!)

  47. erica
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 07:14:02

    What a delicious little idea. I am having a party so I just might have to make something like this for the party!

    xo

  48. Laural @ Being Healthier
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 16:56:16

    hahah love the glass to make it look prettier!!! awesome, so refreshing, so fruity, so summery! great dish!

  49. Terra
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 15:17:15

    With my crazy schedule, I never made this dish, and so wanted to. It looks sooooo beautiful, who cares if you had struggles, I love it!!! The little mouse on cheese is just adorable:-) Hugs, Terra

  50. Trackback: Seven Link Challenge! « Yummy Chunklet
