Seven years? Really?

How time flies! In 2004, my sister (Codename: Gamer Psychologist) moved in with me after she finished undergrad and got accepted into graduate school here in Chicago. Fast forward seven years, and Gamer Psychologist has finished all her graduate classes and is now taking the final step of her program: a year-long practicum at an out-of-state facility. Where did she get accepted for her out-of-state practicum? Her first choice, the University of Hawaii! I guess this means her new codename is now Surfer Psychologist!

For the past few weeks, all I’ve heard from Surfer Psychologist is “Ugh. I have to pack. I hate packing!” Last Thursday, she finally made some progress towards the packing goal by purchasing new luggage. On Saturday, she managed to wash all her clothes but kept whining, “Ugh. I have to pack. I hate packing!” FYI, when your little sister keeps saying, “Ugh. I have to pack. I hate packing!” over and over, it really means “I’m not going to pack. I’m just waiting on you to pack for me.” Which is what happened. I ended up folding and packing all the clothes and shoes Surfer Psychologist needed after making her decide “Yes” or “No” when I’d hold up an article of clothing in front of her. I also organized her TSA-mandated plastic baggie of travel-sized toiletries. Yes, I’m that sister.

On Sunday, my mother drove into Chicago to see Surfer Psychologist off at the airport Monday morning. My mother headed back home just this morning (Wednesday), and after a long day at work, I find myself alone in my apartment for the first time in seven years, knowing that no one else is expected home. It’s a strange quiet feeling.

But, not to worry! My mother left some strawberries she brought up from the South, and I had some coconut milk leftover from last week’s ffwD recipe. What was I to do? Make coconut milk-based strawberry ice cream, of course!

It’s a fun and tasty combination that reminds me of my mom and Surfer Psychologist. Plus, it’s about all I could muster energy-wise because I’m just so darn exhausted. I’ll be back on the blogging and commenting saddle soon!

46 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JamieAnne
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 18:35:40

    Yum! What will you do now that you’ve got the place all to yourself? Risky business style dancing? Fruit juggling?

  2. Maris (In Good Taste)
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 18:38:58

    You will get use to being alone and just think what a fabulous place t visit you have now!

  3. Three-Cookies
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 18:42:42

    Now you have another place you can visit. Hawaii should be fun. When you cook/bake will you make same portions or reduce?

  4. lifeisfull
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 19:07:01

    You are such an awesome sister! I hate to pack too so I know just how appreciative of you your little sister must be. Hope you won’t feel too lonely.

  5. Mary
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 19:14:33

    Oh how exciting, sad and delicious! Lucky (very smart) sounding little sister !! It must be very bittersweet for you – but just think of the vacations!!
    Delicious ice cream – as I have come to expect🙂
    Mary x

  6. Mother's Secret Home Recipes
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 19:43:35

    Delicious Ice cream….sad that your little sister is moving but Hawaii is a wow place and she will definitely enjoy and you will have wonderful vacation in Hawaii.

  7. Ronda
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 20:20:15

    That is the exact prescription for the empty house feeling.

  8. kitchen flavours
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 21:10:47

    You are such a wonderful sister! Wish your sis all the best in her new venture!
    Yes, it is lonely now… nothing beats the comfort of homemade yummy ice cream! Sounds great with the coconut milk, looks really creamy!

  9. Maureen
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 21:11:56

    While I love my space, I hate it when someone leaves as there’s always a big hole where they used to sit. I hope your little sister loves it in her new home and that she does really well. surfing sounds good 🙂

    I’ve never used coconut milk in ice cream but I’m gonna have to try it.

  10. Priya Mahadevan
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 22:02:56

    What an awesome combo of coconut milk and strawberries!! Lip-smacking yum!

  11. Miriam Barton
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 22:50:44

    That’s great about your sister! And the ice cream is making my mouth water🙂, Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  12. Little Inbox
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 23:14:18

    At least you take your time to enjoy the yummy ice-cream after packing up her things, haha…

  13. betty
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 23:55:18

    congrats on your sis🙂
    & this icecream looks totally delicious!

  14. Sutapa
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 00:32:08

    All best wishes to your sis and yes another new place for you to go and spend your vacation!
    Yummy ice cream … !

  15. Anita Menon
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 00:44:39

    Aren’t you the sweetest sister in the world!! Packing can be the dreariest activity sometimes. But the ice cream sure looks like something which would have lifted up your spirits

  16. Food,Photography & France
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 00:49:08

    Home made ice cream – the best. Good pics too.

  17. Ruth
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 02:31:18

    Coconut milk and strawberry sounds amazing together! I must try it!

  18. jay
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 04:24:01

    your sis is lucky to stay with u all these years…u r absolutely awesome..!
    Congrats and best wishes to your Sister..
    ice cream sounds lipsmacking..
    Tasty Appetite

  19. smartfoodandfit
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 04:41:39

    Sounds like you and your sis have a wonderful relationship. congrats to her successes! This ice cream sounds amazing! YUM!

  20. Liz
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 05:41:50

    You are such a nice sister…I hope you can squeeze in a visit or two while she’s in Hawaii!!! What a fabulous flavor of ice cream…I love the addition of coconut milk, and wonder whether I could get away with adding it to my ice cream without the picky family’s knowledge???

  21. saffronandhoney
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 06:22:32

    What a wonderful combination! That looks scrumptious.

    Good luck adjusting to living without your sister! It’ll probably feel weird for a bit, but you’ll enjoy it too, I think🙂. Plus, Hawaii sounds like a great place to visit.

  22. Elaine
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 07:07:54

    What a great sister you are! You are going to miss your sister, but on the bright side look at the amazing visits you will have with her! I love your idea of making ice cream with coconut milk. I can imagine how delicious it must be. I have some in the cupboard, so I am can’t wait to try this.

  23. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 08:02:01

    Wow, you make the best ice cream. As for little siblings, they sure do grow up fast.

  24. Parsley Sage
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 08:32:00

    Woo hoo! You can run around in your skivvies and eat ice cream all day if you want with no chance of being caught by your sis🙂 You’ll love having some ‘alone’ time…and just think of all those Hawaiian vacations you can soon have! Great ice cream🙂

  25. Cher
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 08:36:40

    Having family in Hawaii is a great thing. My best friend’s husband used to be stationed there & it was surely one of my favorite places to visit her at!
    I am sure adjusting to the quiet will be a little odd, but on the bright side…more closet space???🙂

  26. claire
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 09:27:45

    congrats to your sister! that is amazing- she must be one smart cookie!
    you will get used to being by yourself, but even better than that, you will get to visit HAWAII!

  27. Eileen
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 11:08:28

    You’re making such great use of that ice cream machine! Yum! That was nice of you to pack for your sister. I doubt I’d have done that. lol

  28. Mary
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 11:09:15

    Those first few days of solo quiet are difficul,t but as you get to reclaim space you forgot you had it does get easier. Your ice cream looks luscious. I’d love to have a bowl. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  29. bonnie from Sweet Life
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 11:18:39

    how exciting for your sister…and how amazing to visit her …i hope your transition is a fun one!! lovely ice cream, take care

  30. spicegirlfla
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 11:53:32

    How wonderful that you two were able to share those years together! It will be something you both will always remember. Hopefully very soon you can spend some time in her new neighborhood! What a nice trip that would be! Sounded like this ice cream was your comfort dish for the evening after coming home to your empty apartment!

  31. Trix
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 15:14:03

    Aww, what a sweet big sister! I have no siblings, so I have to do it all myself. : ( Lovely ice cream!

  32. RadioDiva
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 15:38:00

    WOW, Yummy. Has it really been 7 whole years?! Incredible. And now to have the entire apartment all to yourself?! WOW..just WOW! It just won’t be the same without our little “Sufer” girl. And indeed, Yummy, you ARE that SISTER! LOL!! Well, whenever you’re ready to have movie/cooking night..call me up and I’ll be there!! Ice cream looks so super creamy and rich…a perfect way to kick off this new season in your life! Now you have to try walk ing around the apartment naked…best feeling in the world! HaHaHaHa!!! =) ENJOY!!

  33. Simply Life
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 15:46:51

    congrats to your sister! wow, what a change from chicago to hawaii – I think I know where your holiday travels should be🙂

  34. Malli's Mint and Mimosas
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 15:58:07

    It must be nice to move from Chicago to Hawaii!! Warm weather:)
    The Strawberry coocnut ice cream looks gorgeous too!

  35. Peggy
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 15:59:13

    Aww, best of luck to your sister – she’ll definitely be surrounded by amazing weather and scenery!

  36. rebecca
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 16:10:51

    oh bless you will miss her so much but sounds like a great thing for her, hugs

  37. Beth
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 17:12:45

    What a wonderful sister you are! Your ice cream looks amazing.

  38. Grumpy Grateful Mom
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 17:22:17

    I’m jealous of your sister–Hawaii! And you are a great sister! You pack and you cook! Your ice cream looks divine!

  39. cakelaw
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 17:25:10

    Yum, coconut and strawberry icecream sounds terrific! Congrats to Surfer Pschologist and best wishes for her move.

  40. Quay Po
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 18:32:19

    Oh I wish I have a sister. I always envy people who have sisters. I am sure your sister will miss you as much as you miss her. Seven years together is a long time and I can appreciate the quiet feeling you talked about when the apartment seemed empty suddenly. Anything with coconut milk will taste good to me. Since now I got my ice cream machine, I am gonna make this. Your ice cream look so tempting, I can’t wait to taste the real thing!

  41. torviewtoronto
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 19:40:58

    yummy looking flavourful ice cream perfect for the weather

  42. peachkins
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 19:58:32

    She is so lucky to have a sister like you! and that strawberry ice cream, that’s the best!

  43. chunklet's mom
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 03:00:43

    really love the ice cream idea! The picture turned out great. I miss surfer psychologist already. She’s so lucky, she’s just checking out all the beaches.

  44. Barbara
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 06:16:59

    Congrats to your sister! Love that you did her packing….now she’s fending for herself. But I know you’ll miss her.
    Love the idea of coconut milk in ice cream. Can’t imagine why I’ve never tried it; I use it in lots of other recipes.

  45. Geni - Sweet and Crumby
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 10:27:46

    Strawberry ice cream with coconut milk…total perfection! You are such a sweet sister. I hope she appreciates you.🙂

  46. Inger Wilkerson
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 22:40:11

    Well if you are going to end up missing someone, they might as well be somewhere great to visit!

