A good way to start the day…

…is by getting to eat your bacon!

I went to IHOP the other night with my niece (Codename: Bacon Monster). Whenever Bacon Monster saw bacon on someone’s plate, she immediately stood up in her booster seat, grabbed it, and gleefully chomped on the bacon. This reminded me of a food program I saw that featured cooked whole strips of bacon encased in pancakes. It made me think that had my bacon at IHOP been “camouflaged” in my pancakes, it would have lasted long enough for me to eat and safe from my wily niece! So, I decided to make some, just to try it out.

These bacon pancakes turned out pretty tasty! They may not be the prettiest looking things, but their taste far exceeds their looks. For my version, I sliced strips of cooked bacon and sprinkled the bits over pancake batter that’s been ladled on the griddle. Or, you can go the television route by leaving whole cooked strips of bacon on the griddle, ladling pancake batter over the strips, and cook as normal.

*****************
On a different note, Bacon Monster’s mom (who is also Chunklet’s mom) went on a fun Kawaii shopping spree again and bought me cute Japanese items for my kitchen! I can’t wait to make udon soup to eat from my bowls and to clip something closed with my elephant and sheep clips!

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spicegirlfla
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 07:46:18

    I like your version much better in cutting up the bacon, I’d think it would be much easier to eat than having to cut your pancake with a serrated knife!! Both of your nieces are just adorable! And I always enjoy reading everyone’s code names!!!

  2. Ronda
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 07:48:40

    Okay, I can not mix food like that. I just can’t do it. But I can see how it would save your bacon from a Bacon-Monster!!

  3. chutneyandspice
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 08:09:21

    How lovely and what a great idea with the bacon pancakes. I like the thought of pouring the batter over whole bacon strips but I think maybe those would look really messy, so your way of cutting up strips is a really good alternative. Did you eat them with maple syrup?

  4. Parsley Sage
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 08:43:36

    I reckon Bacon Monster and I would have a bit of a throwdown if we went to IHOP together…I may be a Bacon Monster myself😉

    Great pancakes! Perfect way to start the day, for sure!

  5. claire
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 08:53:53

    YUM… I think my nickname might need to be bacon monster too!
    those bowls are precious too… perfect for soups in the fall!

  6. Adriana @ GreatFood360°
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 09:00:48

    Those bowls are awesome! What a unique find. I only recently discovered the joys of adding bacon to pancake and waffle batter and can say I am a convert.

    Batter + bacon + maple syrup = magic!

  7. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 09:09:21

    Bacon in pancakes. Genius!

  8. kitchen flavours
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 09:50:23

    You can never go wrong in bacon! YUMMY!
    And the bowls and clips are really cute! Lucky you!

  9. The Slow Roasted Italian
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 09:54:58

    What a great idea. Bacon in the pancakes sounds delicious!

  10. Betty @ scrambled henfruit
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 10:55:13

    I love bacon, and think the idea of putting it inside of a pancake is brilliant! I like your idea of crumbling the bacon better than leaving it in strips though. It ensures that you get a yummy piece of bacon in every bite!🙂

  11. Inger Wilkerson
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 10:57:24

    If that isn’t enough for you, the Wisconsin State Fair offers chocolate covered bacon!

  12. Maris (In Good Taste)
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 11:40:10

    I bet those pancakes were fantatsic. I think the bacon flavor in there must be delicious! Love the bowls!

  13. Three-Cookies
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 11:54:29

    The pancakes look quite nice actually. Good way to “save your bacon”:)

  14. lifeisfull
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 11:55:28

    There’s no IHOP here but I’ve heard good things about them. Your pancake sounds delicious for breakfast with maple syrup drizzled over!

  15. Angela
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 14:18:18

    Yum. I will eat just about anything with bacon in it or wrapped around it. This is genius.

  16. Kelly
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 14:24:07

    This is so fun – I’ve never seen bacon in pancakes – what ingenuity! (and, I think they’re perfectly pretty!). I bet my family would love them. Thanks.

  17. rebecca
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 14:41:32

    he he she would get on well with J, fun recipe

  18. Andi Winslow
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 15:46:19

    You are just way cleaver, sounds delicious……..andi

  19. JamieAnne
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 16:53:51

    These look fabulous! The pancakes and the bowls! I’ve made sausage pancakes before, but never thought to add bacon.

  20. chunklet's mom
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 20:28:15

    Awesome pancakes! I should have made these for her on her birthday since she requested pancakes😉

  21. Anita Menon
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 21:30:07

    How utterly cute!! Bacon Monster- ha ha🙂 Pancakes look good. A great idea indeed.

  22. Meri
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 22:28:50

    Mmm- I couldn’t eat these, but I bet they smell amazing and the boyfriend would love them! Also, be sure to stop by my blog because I’m having a giveaway!
    Meri

  23. saffronandhoney
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 23:23:27

    Stop the presses. BACON PANCAKES?! Why haven’t they thought of that before? Best.idea.ever.

    These look delicious and like they just hit the spot.

  24. The Little Foodie
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 16:54:38

    Oh, that’s awesome. Top it with an egg and I’m sold. (And some syrup. YES!)
    Those little bowls are sooo cute. Good job.

  25. Yuri
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 15:32:25

    You crack me up with those codenames😛 and I have kawaii envy. Want those bowls for my collection *_*

  26. Trackback: Oh, how you influence me. | A Dash of Domestic
