It was like we were Julia Child and Avis DeVoto…

…because we were meeting in-person for the first time!

My friend (Codename: Vinegar) and I became friends when we started chatting with each other through an online game we’ve both been playing for approximately five years. Several weeks ago, Vinegar informed me that he, his boyfriend, and their friend were coming to Chicago for a weekend and asked if we could finally meet up. “Of course!” I exclaimed. I was excited to meet the voice with whom I’ve had countless conversations with debating politics, arguing game strategies, and gossiping about other players. I imagine this was the same excitement and anticipation Julia Child felt when she was meeting Avis DeVoto for the first time after two years of exchanging 120 letters back and forth!

We agreed to meet for breakfast because, unfortunately, my schedule wouldn’t permit otherwise. At 8:30 A.M., I waited at the restaurant anxiously, hoping I’d be met with an instant stamp of approval from my good friend. When the three of them arrived, I immediately identified Vinegar because of our shared trait of black hair. A strong embrace was followed by a dual exaltation of “It’s finally good to put a face with the voice!”

As we sat down, the four of us couldn’t stop talking, especially me and Vinegar. We talked so much that the waitress had to come by four times to get our order, and this was only after we made a conscious effort to stop talking and pay attention to the menu! The meal was so memorable that I still remember what everyone had. Vinegar had an omelet and fruit (barely ate the omelet but ate most of the fruit), his boyfriend (now fiance!) had three strawberry crepes and ate two of them, and their friend had the Ironman omelet. I ordered something more simple: oatmeal with roasted peaches.

The roasted peaches were sweet, soft and perfect in my oatmeal as it successfully warmed me up from the unusually chilly June morning. Even though the guys ate most of their food, I only had about four bites of mine. It was delicious, but we talked so much that eating was secondary to our gathering. Plus, (and I’m a bit ashamed to admit this) Vinegar, his fiance, and their friend are three of the most gorgeous men I have ever met, so it was weird eating in front of them! Now, I’m a very confident woman, but having three funny, witty, intelligent, gorgeous, and unavailable men eating a meal with you makes you utter a soft curse under your breath and no amount of soft, delicious peach topping can console you.

However, the four bites of peach topping I did eat was pretty fantastic. Soft slices of roasted fresh peaches with a slight sugar glaze and walnuts sat perfectly atop my bowl of steaming oatmeal. I’ve been thinking about my new friends and this oatmeal ever since. So much that I’ve been anxiously awaiting the appearance of peaches at my farmers market with this peach topping in mind.

When the market rolled around this week, I eagerly searched through the stands, but none of them had any peaches. Just as I was giving up my search, I saw one stand I had overlooked. As I walked closer, I could see baskets of the fleshy stone fruit. Whee! These peaches were soft to the touch, perfectly colored, and smelled so fragrant!

Early the next morning, I sliced the peaches in quarters and rolled them in a mixture of cinnamon sugar. I also chopped some pecans on the same cutting board as the peaches so that the peach juice would lightly coat the nuts and then sprinkled more of the cinnamon sugar on them. I placed the peach slices and the nuts in a pie pan lightly coated with Smart Balance and baked for 20 minutes at 450 degrees.

The smell of the roasted peaches was heavenly!

I took the peaches and half of the pecan mixture and set them aside while I stirred the other half of the pecan mixture in the oatmeal. Then I spooned the oatmeal into two bowls, sprinkled brown sugar on both, and placed the rest of the pecans on top.

Oatmeal with brown sugar and pecans (waiting on the peaches)

Finally, I placed three slices of roasted peaches on top of each bowl.

I even had two peach slices leftover for a snack!

I think this is now my preferred method of eating oatmeal because it will always remind me of meeting my new friends for the first time! Love you guys!

56 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Parsley Sage
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 14:50:06

    HAHAH! I’m sorry, I thought your story about meeting Vinegar was hilarious. I never even thought about being food-eating conscious. By the way, where’s the picture of the hotties!? Don’t tell me you met up with three gorgeous men and didn’t get a picture…

    Well, at least there’s some sexy peaches to look at🙂

  2. rebecca
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 14:59:33

    wow great breakfast and fun you guys got to meet maybe you can attend their wedding soon-_)

  3. Spike
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 15:15:51

    sounds like a fun breakfast and great oatmeal!

  4. Eileen
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 15:50:28

    FUN! I love that you mentally tracked what and how much everyone ate. lol I’ll definitely be stealing your roasted peaches in oatmeal idea. That’s one of those “d’oh!” things that I can’t believe I never thought of.

  5. Ker-Yng
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 16:08:59

    Your breakfast story was funny! Great job on the peaches too!

  6. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 16:40:59

    What a great story, although women have never had trouble eating around me…. hmmm. I love these peaches.

  7. Maris (In Good Taste)
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 16:51:03

    What a fantastic story. i also want to see the pictures!

  8. peachkins
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 17:43:09

    Now I want a bowl of that!

  9. torviewtoronto
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 20:24:43

    I haven’t had like this looks delicious
    Torviewtoronto and Createwithmom

  10. NN
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 20:52:39

    I finally made it to the internet!!

    Ahhh… peaches make me miss GA.

    They look amazing.

  11. Maureen
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 01:43:08

    Your story reminded me of meeting a long time internet friend in person. All the things that go through your mind — will you get along in person the same way, will you be what they expected, will you have spinach on your front tooth. So glad you and Vinegar got to meet and best wishes to him and his fiance.

    The roasted peaches look divine!

  12. saffronandhoney
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 01:57:47

    I love the story and how food still became an integral part of it! I am often that person at that table who is like ‘sorry… we kept talking and haven’t even looked at the menu!’

    And what a great new idea for oatmeal – I can’t wait to try it.

  13. Pudding Pie Lane
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 05:07:26

    It’s breakfast time for me and I want that pecan porridge so much! It’s always great to catch up with old friends🙂 And have you seen Julie and Julia?

  14. Mary
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 07:26:24

    What a fun story! And I am excited that you found peaches in the market–that means they are coming here soon!

  15. Ronda
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 11:22:36

    My goodness that looks so good!

  16. Marina
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 11:59:16

    🙂 I guess it’s so nice to meet someone who share same hobbies and passions🙂 That’s so great!

  17. Lisa (Smart Food and Fit)
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 12:52:48

    Awesome story! That’s great you guys got a chance to meet up. I can’t wait to try this recipe, my boys would go nuts for it…no pun intended! Have a great day!

  18. Simply Life
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 13:15:46

    sounds like a fun time!

  19. Mary
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 14:14:27

    Such a lovely story, must have been great to meet – the breakfast looks to die for, those peaches are amazing – Yum
    Mary

  20. Grumpy Grateful Mom
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 14:56:41

    Your food always so delicious! I need to get some peaches! I’m glad you had so much fun with your handsome friends. And I love the codename:vinegar, almost as good as yummy chunklet.🙂

  21. Manja
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 16:31:17

    wow beautiful pictures. That looks gorgeous and delicious.now i am hungry T.T i will try out the recipe^^

  22. Andi Winslow
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 20:00:26

    Do we know your name? I am not sure so I will call you Yummy. That is a cute name. Thanks so much for all your comments on my page, they are appreciated. So you saw the lemon bread, and why not use any flavor yogurt sounds like fun, maybe someday I will try that. And will all the flavors of yogurt the possiblities are endless. Have a great day and keep baking my friend. Thanks, andi thewednesdaybaker

  23. Elaine
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 20:30:26

    What a great story! How fun that you and your friend Vinegar finally got to meet. Your peaches and oatmeal look like the perfect breakfast.

  24. Beth
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 20:32:18

    My mouth is seriously watering looking at those peaches. Wow. How nice that you finally got to meet your buddy!

  25. muppy
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 00:28:47

    I love your post, such a lovely story. And your peaches look divine, can’t wait till its peach season here, they are one of my favourite fruits🙂

  26. Barbara
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 05:54:37

    It’s always that way when you meet with good friends…you talk so much, you forget to eat!
    Love what you did with your peaches!

  27. spicegirlfla
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 07:53:59

    Omg I so smiled sharing in your experience of dining in front of 3 gorgeous men!! What a wonderful time you had and what a wonderful simple dish this is! Oatmeal is not a summer breakfast, but I am now ready to make a bowl full just to top it with some roasted peaches and pecans!

  28. Louise
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 08:15:01

    It’s breakfast time in Pennsylvania and guess what, oatmeal is on the menu:) Now if I only had a few peaches to roast. What a fabulous idea!!!

    It sure sounds like you had an exciting meeting, Yummy!!!

    Thanks for sharing…

  29. kitchenbelleicious
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 08:26:19

    What a fun story of you two and how amazing does that dish look! Just beautiful and so fresh and delicious

  30. forgottenbeast
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 09:49:09

    Mm, that does look heavenly! And I love the story behind it!

  31. kitchen flavours
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 10:39:43

    That’s an interesting breakfast date! With three gorgeous guys around, I can understand why you could hardly eat! I think I would be the same too, hehehe! And the peach with oats does look wonderful!

  32. Nancy
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 11:06:57

    I love oatmeal and I’m upset you didn’t finish it. Where did I hear that the first 3 bites are the most satisfying? I think it was Mireille Guiliano in “French Women Don’t Get Fat” I will have to research this.

  33. Joyti
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 13:10:20

    I just had oatmeal with fresh fruit today…your roasted glazed peaches sounds like SOOO much of a better topping. Yum!

  34. Meri
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 14:38:23

    What a neat meet up experience! I always loved that story of Julia Child and her pen pal. The peaches you made look sooo good and juicy.

  35. Kathy
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 15:26:03

    How nice to finally meet! So cool! Enjoyed your post! I will be looking forward to trying the roasted peaches…they sound yummy!

  36. Tanvi
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 18:52:20

    Those roasted peaches look yum! I think they would have paired great with oatmeal!

  37. Malli's Mint and Mimosas
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 18:57:45

    What a cute story and a wonderful breakfast—love those peaches!

  38. Mary
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 19:37:12

    I’m so glad your meeting went well. I can imagine how the food paled when you were with company you enjoyed. You peaches, however, do look delicious and beg to be tried. I hope you have a great evening. Blessings…Mary.

  39. Adriana
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 19:48:05

    What a wonderful story and tie back to Julia Child and Avis DeVoto. The bonds we create with some of the people we meet online (or friendships that flourish that way) can be as sweet as your breakfast. Thank you for sharing with us!

  40. Cakelaw
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 02:40:07

    Drats – all the good ones are taken! My that porridge with apricots looks good.

  41. Suman Singh
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 05:41:52

    Wow, that looks so delicious!

  42. Maya@Foodiva's Kitchen
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 08:51:06

    As juicy and tempting as these peaches look, I would like to view those three gorgeous unavailable men… only then will I get back to those peaches!

  43. Nazarina
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 12:54:36

    This looks utterly heavenly, a must make in my book! Is it not exciting to finally put a face to a voice…wish you could upload yours to your blog, I would love to put a a face to all these great dishes!

  44. Geni - Sweet and Crumby
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 13:19:26

    What a yummy way to start the morning. Can wait to try it!

  45. Alexis @ There She Goes
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 13:24:57

    ooo your peaches look so good!

  46. Priya Mahadevan
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 18:42:06

    lusciously perfect peaches!

  47. Ashley@bakerbynature
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 21:37:20

    Beautiful story, and peaches!

  48. sara
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 21:58:57

    Those roasted peaches look absoultely heavenly! Gorgeous. Love the story too!🙂

  49. Radhika
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 00:55:27

    They look so awesome. An Amazing write-up too.

  50. jay
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 01:11:37

    great breakfast…sounds really awesome..
    hope u had a wonderful time..
    Tasty Appetite

  51. Ryan
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 07:52:51

    I’m glad that you all got to meet up after so much time– it was a great story! Those peaches look amazing. Glad you all had a wonderful time!

  52. franklyentertaining
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 10:28:40

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who wants to see a picture of your new friends!!

  53. Peggy
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 16:15:08

    So glad that you and Vinegar got to finally put faces to voices! And these peaches sound incredible! I love warm peaches by themselves, but I bet with this pecan mixture and oatmeal, they’re brought to a whole new level =)

  54. kankana
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 19:24:49

    I could so relate to you story … putting a face to the name means so much right😀 About that dish .. gorgeous.That would be such a great dish .. i love roasted fruits all the time.

  55. Katrice
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 19:37:01

    I just love your blog and Im seriously gonna try this peach dish for sure! Sounds so good!

  56. sanya
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 06:00:45

    So glad to hear it went well! Love how the internet connects us to people we would never have met! Great looking peaches and oatmeal!

