Zucchini gratin in Ina’s Garden!

Welcome back to the first July installment of Ina’s Garden, a cooking group dedicated to all things Ina Garten! This week, Peggy of Pantry Revisted selected Ina’s zucchini gratin, which can be found here or at Food Network’s site here. Here’s a look at my downsized version:

As you can see, I only made enough to fill two ramekins. Why did I do this? For starters, I’m not completely sold on zucchini. My few encounters with it were mostly lackluster and unmemorable. Of what I could remember, the zucchini was mushy and tasteless. I didn’t want an entire pan of the stuff sitting around. However, Ina’s recipes have yet to fail me, so I knew to give zucchini a second chance. Besides, the cheesy breadcrumb mixture sounded very tempting.

Obviously, I decreased the amount of ingredients that the recipe suggested. To make a two ramekin version, I used 1 zucchini, half an onion, and only 2 tablespoons of butter. I didn’t measure out the seasonings or the breadcrumb and cheese mixture. I just added as I saw fit. Same went for the milk though, to be safe, I measured out just 1 tablespoon of flour for the roux. And because I knew that having a wedge of Gruyère sitting around wouldn’t help my snacking habit, I used shredded low-fat mozzarella for the topping instead.

This recipe has completely changed my opinion of zucchini! The filling was rich, creamy and the zucchini had a nice flavor, especially with the sprinkling of nutmeg. The topping was gooey and crispy at the same time, and I don’t think I missed out by using shredded mozzarella. I’ll definitely be adding this to my cooking repertoire! I told my friend (Codename: Candelabra) about this dish, and she suggested I try it with a combo of zucchini and yellow summer squash next time.

I hope you have a chance to join us in Ina’s Garden this week and make Ina’s zucchini gratin. It was extremely simple and less time consuming than the recipe indicated. So, let’s see tons of linkups below! However, if you couldn’t make it to Ina’s Garden this week, we hope you join us on July 21st, when Mia at Bright Morning Star will be hosting “Sweet Baked Love” featuring all of Ina’s sweet baked treats! And now, the Ina’s Garden cooking group has its own blog here with a list of upcoming themes so you can plan ahead which recipe you’d like to make and which theme you’d like to join!



42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chaya
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 00:59:34

    I am happy, you came away with a better feeling toward zucchini. My gratin was also tasty.

  2. Ruth
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 02:01:13

    This looks wonderful! I’ll bet you wished you’d made more?

  3. Mariko
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 02:37:47

    I really like zucchini. I think if you eat it fried and well seasoned/battered, you’d change your mind.
    Of course, there’s nothing healthy about that, but HEY! Look over there!

    Anyway, I’d like to try this. I’ll have to check out the recipe.

  4. Maris (In Good Taste)
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 03:57:26

    You really know how to bring out the very best in vegetables!

  5. jay
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 05:04:42

    lovely idea dear..I want to try your recipe now..:)
    Tasty Appetite

  6. Little Inbox
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 05:29:06

    Sounds great to have zucchini cook in this way.

  7. Three-Cookies
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 05:42:11

    Similar reaction, I would not have thought zucchini gratin would be particularly appealing.

  8. Liz
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 05:58:36

    I’m so glad this changed your opinion of zucchini…it didn’t work for my hubby, but I loved this dish!

  9. Louise
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 06:57:14

    I too am delighted you have become a zucchini convert. Your gratin looks delicious!!! Perhaps, Ina can do something to improve my feelings about rhubarb.

    Thanks for sharing, Yummy…

  10. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 07:24:31

    Oh I can’t wait to try this. I kept scrolling down and up, down and up. That crust looks amazing!

  11. Mary
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 07:27:33

    This sounds wonderful and it is a great way to use the squash that is beginning to overflow the garden. I’ll wager this was delicious. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  12. gingerbreadbagels
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 07:32:35

    This recipe by Ina is my all time favorite Ina recipe. Yours look sooooo good. I wouldn’t mind eating this for breakfast.🙂

  13. Ronda
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 07:35:30

    Oh how yummy! I love zucchini. I am always looking for new ways to eat it (and to possibly tempt the hubbles to tolerate it).

  14. Eileen
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 07:50:41

    Oooh! That looks GOOD. I love zucchini, but I get bored with my standard olive oil/garlic preparation of it. I’ve never cooked any of Ina’s recipes, but I may have to try some. (As far as annoying tv personalities go, I’d take RR over Ina any day.) No offense, Ina fans. lol Anyway, yum! Good for you for trying it, even though you don’t like zucchini. Glad it turned out well.

  15. April @ The 21st Century Housewife
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 08:03:52

    I love the way you made these in individual ramekins! They look wonderful. I really enjoyed this recipe, and I love your take on it!

  16. Tiff
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 08:25:57

    That looks great! I can’t believe I still haven’t tried zucchini gratin since I love zucchini, but hopefully I’ll give it a whirl soon!

  17. Parsley Sage
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 08:38:37

    Very cool. You’re not the only one who cut down on the size of this dish, I see Lizzy did too. Zucchini must just be a little scary. So glad you liked the way yours turn out. It looks awesome🙂

  18. Priya Mahadevan
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 08:46:46

    As I just finished writing on Bizzy B’s blog, I am making this tonight – got zucchini coming our my ears – a good garden yield! The gratin looks gorgeous!

  19. Ker-Yng
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:44:04

    Very smart to scale down the recipe. I don’t like the idea of baked zucchini too… thanks for this post, now I know they are not as bad as I thought they would be!

  20. erica
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 11:35:43

    How absolutely heavenly does this look! I am so making this tonight!
    xo

  21. forgottenbeast
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 11:52:35

    Missed the deadline for this one–can I quit my job so I have more time for cooking adventures? No? That’s a bad idea? Okay, guess I’ll just wait ’til the weekend to try this. Yours looks delicious! And making it in ramekins seems just right, you get a good serving with LOTS of crispy.

  22. rebecca
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 12:21:54

    wow this looks so good thanks for sharing ebook with your family

  23. Meri
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 13:11:57

    I loooove zucchini. and summer squashes of all kinds. I’m so happy its summer and they are so abundant! I’ve never made a gratin with them before, perhaps I’ll try if I want to turn the hot hot oven on🙂

  24. Beth
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 14:47:37

    I love Ina’s recipes too. This zucchini looks amazing!

  25. sweetlfiebake@gmail.com
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 15:04:26

    My fav ina recipe is her shrimp scampi, good idea to make a scaled down version..they do look yummy, but I love zucchini

    bonnie

  26. Ameena
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 15:53:59

    I love zucchini! I eat it just steamed with salt and it tastes fabulous. This gratin looks like an even better use of it though, and I love Ina! Thanks for sharing.

  27. Peggy
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 16:09:45

    I think you were smart to make a small batch to see if you liked it. I just jumped right in with the whole thing and it was enough to last the two of us a few days!! I’m glad you liked it. It was a nice side dish I thought.

  28. Malli's Mint and Mimosas
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 16:31:14

    The Zuchini gratin looks so so good OMG the crusty top makes me so very hungry!! & BTW I love zuchini and your recipe🙂

  29. Peggy
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 16:38:10

    I just love zucchini and I love your adaptations to this gratin – can’t wait to try it out!

  30. High Heels and Good Meals
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 18:04:33

    Wow! This looks so succulent and I bet it tastes just as good as it looks!

  31. Mary
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 18:25:25

    I love zucchini and I love Ina – so there you are – perfect! Very pretty looking – I could definitely go for these:)
    Mary

  32. cakewhiz
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 20:21:24

    though i like zuchini in my food, i don’t have enough recipes that use it as much as i would like. so, i am glad you shared this zuchini gratin! it looks wonderful!

  33. Maureen
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 21:59:52

    how clever this is. I love gratinéed anything so this is perfect for me. 🙂

  34. peachkins
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 23:33:58

    it looks good.. makisali kaya ako dyan sa Ina’s Garden???

  35. kitchenarian
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 23:50:34

    This looks really good. I love the idea of the individual ramekins. I’m glad you liked it.

  36. Betty @ scrambled henfruit
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 08:48:28

    I’m a zucchini lover, so you don’t have to convince me! This looks really good, and I love your idea of mixing in the yellow squash- they go so well with zucchini.🙂

  37. Lisa (Smart Food and Fit)
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 09:03:03

    I am book marking this recipe, I love zucchini and can’t wait for it to grow in my garden!

  38. Louanne
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 10:31:32

    Yours looks so delicious! I love how crunchy the topping looks.

  39. Elaine
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 10:42:06

    Mmm…this looks so good! I will have to make this as we eat A LOT of zucchini.🙂 I am always trying to find new recipes to use up the zucchini in the frig.

  40. Adriana
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 19:51:31

    This dish looks so rich and comforting – yet it’s not so ‘bad’ as a bowl of pasta. I enjoy zucchini and would love to try it this way.

  41. Food Glorious food
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 11:39:07

    Great Space you have here! I am so glad and happy to follow you for more lovely ideas. Would also like to invite you to follow my blog if you have the time🙂

    http://personalfoodjournal.blogspot.com

