Roasted chickpeas ARE good!

So, I’m admitting right now that I’m the last blogger to join the roasted chickpeas bandwagon, but it’s not my fault! One of my co-workers brought some in one day a couple of years ago but made the mistake of saying that she followed a Rachael Ray recipe. This “She-who-shall-not-be-named” along with Sandra Lee are two television personalities that I can do without. Seriously, I could live a happy and fulfilled life if I never heard either of their grating voices ever again. Needless to say, there was no way I was trying those roasted chickpeas.

However, I do enjoy chickpeas in general but have become slightly bored by my normal preparation of them. So, I took a stab at roasting them. I was a little concerned about the popping noises I heard during the initial roasting time, but only a couple of the chickpeas were sacrificed. The ultimate result turned out pretty tasty, spicy and crunchy! I plan on trying different spice combinations next time. This is definitely a keeper.

ROASTED CHICKPEAS
(The recipe I followed is an amalgamation of several recipes I read online, none of which by you-know-who.)

1 can chickpeas
1 & 1/2 tsp. olive oil
1/4 tsp. garlic salt
Generous sprinkling of cayenne
1 tsp. cumin

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Drain and rinse the chickpeas. Dry the chickpeas with a paper towel and remove the skins. Place the chickpeas on a cookie sheet. Drizzle the olive oil over the chickpeas and mix with your hands to coat.

Roast for 15 minutes, shake the chickpeas, and roast for another 15 minutes until golden brown.

Sprinkle the seasonings on the chickpeas and stir. Roast for another 5 to 15 minutes, or until crispy.

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Three-Cookies
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 08:04:49

    I’ve made this previously, they are pretty good. Deep fried is better of course!

  2. Eileen
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 08:06:39

    I must confess, I have a love/hate relationship with “She-who-shall-not-be-named.” It’s very complicated. lol As a personality, I find her SUPER annoying, and her claim to cook healthy Mediterranean food (when eaten in moderation) is a joke, but some of her recipes are pretty good, and I appreciate them for being quick, affordable, and she doesn’t shy away from spice. I totally get why you hate her, though. lol Matt usually likes the recipes of hers that I cook, as long as he doesn’t know it’s hers. If he knows it’s hers, he automatically hates it.

    I’ll have to try those chickpeas! I’ve never had them roasted before.

    Sandra Lee is a nightmare, though.

  3. kitchenbelleicious
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 08:45:16

    they are good and good for you and delicious and yummy and just all of the above!

  4. Ker-Yng
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 08:57:47

    I don’t think I’ve ever had crunchy chickpeas before, they sound good! Thanks for sharing your recipe. By the way, when I was posting my last post, I thought you might like those strawberry pictures. I added another one for you today!😉

  5. kitchen flavours
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 09:08:37

    Looks super delicious! Seen a few recipes from bloggers about this roasted chickpeas and have been meaning to try them out! Thanks for the reminder!

  6. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 10:38:25

    I haven’t done this. Do you feel better. They look great, not sure why I haven’t!

  7. forgottenbeast
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 10:39:38

    I tried roasting chickpeas and was disappointed by the result. I might have to try again, but I dunno, hummus remains a pretty fabulous way to use up my cans of chickpeas, it’s hard to branch out🙂

    And RR does indeed have the most obnoxious show-host voice ever. But her ideas are sometimes good…

  8. Renee
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 10:50:12

    Yum! We’re big fans of chickpeas here. We’ll have to try!

  9. Mary
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 11:56:57

    This is one of my favorite snacks. I love your recipe for them. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  10. Mariko
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 12:28:26

    Yep, I completely agree. She bugs.
    I don’t know why but I also, for some reason, refused to hop on the chickpea roasting band wagon until recently. I just didn’t believe in it. But I tried it just a few weeks ago and I thought, Um…. Can I ever eat chickpeas any other way again?

  11. Grumpy Grateful Mom
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 13:21:52

    I will confess to being anti-chick pea, but I’ve never tried them roasted. I think I’ll make these soon. I’m still a bit skeptical, but I know my kids will gobble them

  12. Kathy
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 13:22:43

    I love roasted chickpeas…I followed the recipe of she who shall remain nameless. I actually enjoy her sometimes. But roasted chickpeas are wonderful…glad you enjoyed them!

  13. rebecca
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 15:17:08

    bookmarking this for sure great snack idea

  14. bhealthy
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 16:16:37

    hmm i love love love roasted chickpeas! so amazing! i have a can right now, might have to try it again!

  15. Mary
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 16:49:21

    I’m so glad you’ve made these – they’re the best- andI love the cumin, cayenne mix – YUM
    Mary x (also much better snack then chips don’t you think?)

  16. Geni - Sweet and Crumby
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 17:55:28

    I love how simple, nutritious and delicious this sounds and looks. Thanks so much for making me now the officially last foodie on the chickpea bandwagon.

  17. Parsley Sage
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 17:57:24

    Oooh! Totally munchable. They kind of look like cornnuts, which are my FAVORITE junk food snack. Lie to me and tell me they taste just like the ranch kind🙂 Great recipe!

  18. kankana
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 18:11:41

    They are indeed good!! and addictive. You can’t stop munching once you start.

  19. Andi Winslow
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 18:27:15

    I agree with you, not sure why but for whatever reason! But I do enjoy reading and seeing you and what you post. You are a inspiration to me to keep cooking. I just need to venture beyond my norm and try other ingredients. Thank you for all your kind words and checking me out………………hugs to you andi thewednesdaybaker.

  20. Maris(In Good Taste)
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 18:30:54

    Craving them right now. I can see how they can be addictive!

  21. Simply Life
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 18:42:48

    this is such a great snack!

  22. torviewtoronto
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 19:10:33

    delicious to snack

  23. Liz
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 19:57:44

    Too funny….you made me laugh. I have many foodie friends who feel the same way…one refers to RR as The Roach. Anyway, I, too have shied away from the roasted chickpeas, but may have to follow your lead. They actually sound darn tasty!

  24. Trix
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 21:08:24

    Better late than never, right? Yeah, roasted chickpeas are the bomb. I am happy for you that you’ve discovered them! As for Rachel Ray? Ick. Annoying and stupid. Sandra Lee is also one hot mess, but she is such a tragic wreck that I love laughing at her, and you really have to admire someone with such an un-self-examined drinking problem. (Hey, mine is examined so it’s ok! lol) so I think I’d miss her if she went away. I mean, hello! Kwanzaa Cake? Classic.

  25. Anu
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 06:57:19

    wow…I too tried this recipe but from one of Rachael Ray’s show…very nice and healthy snack…

  26. Louise
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 07:04:34

    I won’t even begin to express my feelings on “reality” food TV hosts and hostesses. However, I am about to jump on the roasted chickpea wagon as soon as the grandkids arrive from Idaho. I can’t wait to try them with the kids!!!

    Thanks for sharing…

  27. spicegirlfla
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 08:48:51

    I adore roasted chickpeas! And I think there are many different ways to spice them up! Recipes and food trends are always evolving and changing; your posting this recipe just sparks a reminder to me to make some again real soon!! I’m very glad you shared this!

  28. Andrea
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 09:48:19

    O love them roasted. They have a much better texture and and nice flavor to them!

  29. Meri
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 13:11:02

    I love buying these at the persian market down the road- but when I tried to make them they were… not crunchy enough. sort of tasted like stale nuts. yikes. So I just buy them again haha. I hear you on Rachel Ray. Barf.

  30. Frankly Entertaining
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 14:13:11

    I’ve never even considered roasting chickpeas, but now you have me thinking. Also, I love your description of “certain” tv personalities!

  31. Lisa (Smart Food and Fit)
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 10:37:41

    I’ve heard of roasting chickpeas but never realized it was this easy to make. I bet you could have lot’s of fun exploring with different spices and herbs.🙂 Have a great weekend!

