Red, white & blue cookies plus an award!

Happy Fourth of July weekend! The hot weather, having finally made its way to Chicago, limits the amount of time I want to spend inside my oven-like apartment. This means any baking is restricted to evening hours and only an hour at a time. However, in honor of the Fourth, I wanted to bake something fun, so I kept it simple and made sugar cookies with red, white, and blue frosting.

RED

WHITE

BLUE!

I used a sugar cookie recipe from Sur La Table (recipe below). This was also my first time using a shortening-based frosting recipe. I think the shortening made the frosting shiner than I expected. Then again, it could have been the amount of liquid food coloring I used.

Now, my plan was to send some of these frosted cookies to my sister (Codename: DSN Engineer) via my sister (Codename: Gamer Psychologist), who is flying out this weekend for a visit. However, a phone call to TSA informed me that frosted cookies would not make it through security in carry-on luggage unless I put the frosting in a separate 3-ounce container. Um, no. Only three ounces of frosting for three dozen cookies? This would never be acceptable to my sisters. So, I was only able to send plain sugar cookies. This really didn’t bother Gamer Psychologist because she actually prefers plain sugar cookies. It’s DSN Engineer that likes the frosting. In an ironic twist, Gamer Psychologist’s flight was oversold and she ended up having to check her bag (for free!) anyway. D’oh!

On a different note, I’m very proud to say that I’ve been awarded the “One Lovely Blog” award by High Heels and Good Meals.

Receiving this award from High Heels and Good Meals is pretty cool to me because I didn’t expect a blogger who discusses food and fashion to read my food-only blog! So, I’m really honored. High Heels and Good Meals is a great blog that mixes her love of food and fashion together. I really enjoy looking at High Heels and Good Meals for current fashion trends and styles, and she does so by modeling them herself! If you don’t have High Heels and Good Meals in your Google Reader, I highly recommend you do so!

Now that I’ve received this award, I need to tell you seven (summer-inspired) facts about myself. 1) I don’t care for hot weather. 2) I can deal with the heat better if I’ve got my iPod and headphones to distract me. 3) I’ll completely ignore the heat if I’m at a music festival, like Lollapalooza with Foo Fighters as the headliner. 4) I find the Taste of Chicago overrated. 5) I never swam in Lake Michigan until last summer because I thought the water was warm like the ocean. Wrong! It’s mid-50s in the summer, and a perfect way to cool off! 6) My favorite “ice cream truck” treat is a Good Humor strawberry shortcake bar. 7) I think sandals or open-toed shoes look good only if you’ve gotten a pedicure.

And, in honor of the holiday, I’d like to pass this award onto all the food bloggers in the United States! Have a safe and happy Fourth of July! (By the way, for all the Doristas out there, did I miss something or was the LYL for yesterday never posted?)

OUR FAVORITE SUGAR COOKIES
adapted from Sur La Table

Ingredients
1 c. butter, softened
1 c. granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
3 3/4 c. all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 c. heavy whipping cream

Instructions
In a medium bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla. Sift together flour and baking powder; stir into creamed mixture, alternating with the heavy cream. Cover dough and chill for 2 to 3 hours until firm.

Preheat oven to 350F (175C). Grease cookie sheets or use a Silpat liner. Using a cookie dough scoop or tablespoon, scoop out balls of dough, roll the dough into ball shapes, and flatten a bit onto the cookie sheets.

Bake for 12 to 15 minutes in preheated oven until bottom and edges of cookies are light brown. Remove from baking sheet and cool on wire racks. Store in airtight container. Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maris (In Good Taste)
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 12:57:51

    These cookies are so patriotic! I love the frosting!

  2. Three-Cookies
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 13:04:34

    Really bright attractive colors. There are restrictions on frosted cookies? Because over-consumption poses health risks? Or if passengers found out they would want some or cause a riot?

  3. Ronda
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 13:19:40

    Very festive!! I will have to try that recipe.

  4. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 14:17:40

    Those cookies look great. It’s so blazing hot here today! Congrats on the award, well deserved.

  5. Yuri
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 16:22:38

    I am not celebrating 4th of July but I’m having fun reading all these red-white-blue posts🙂 those cookies look great, hope you have an awesome weekend!

  6. Vardhini
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 17:02:08

    Perfect cookies .. love the frosting. Have a nice weekend.

    Vardhini
    Event: Fast food not Fat food

  7. Gen
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 17:12:53

    Too bad about not being able to send the cookies via airplane…they look delicious!

  8. Parsley Sage
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 17:46:00

    Wonderfully patriotic!

  9. sheila @ Elements
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 21:06:36

    Your cookies are so pretty and are perfect for the holiday! Congrats on the award by the way!🙂

  10. kitchen flavours
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 21:15:38

    What fun cookies! Perfect celebration cookies!
    Congratulations on your award!
    Have a lovely Sunday!

  11. Krissy
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 22:42:01

    You’ve not missed a think…no FFwD posts yet. Must be vacation or something. And congratulations on your award…you deserve it! And your cookies are so fun…love those colors. And I love the heat and it’s a good thing because we’ve got it. Walking outside is like opening your oven door and feeling that gush of instant heat that curls your eyelashes…my earrings got so hot today that I had to take them out…they were burning by face. But I love it…solar power charges my batteries.

  12. Ryan
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 22:53:43

    Yum! I love frosted sugar cookies and your red, white, and blue version look so pretty and festive! I hope you have a wonderful 4th and congrats on the award! I love strawberry shortcake bars too.🙂

  13. Anita Menon
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 23:29:24

    Lovely cookies. Wishing you a lovely4th of July.

  14. Anita Menon
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 23:30:20

    Congratulations on being chosen as the stylish blogger!!!

  15. Betty @ scrambled henfruit
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 00:16:17

    What fun, patriotic cookies! Since cookies are my favorite thing to bake, I’m saving your recipe- it sounds yummy!

  16. Jaime Paz
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 01:40:46

    Oh my! With the weather being so hot, an ice cold glass of milk with those sugary sweets would make my afternoon absolutely splendid!

  17. Sutapa
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 01:48:06

    Your love for your country shows so well in this lovely cookies……Happy 4 th July!
    Congrats on you awards!

  18. peachkins
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 09:25:55

    you know, I was thinking of making something for 4th of July too but i’ll be on my cousin’s wedding tomorrow…

  19. Miss Anthropist
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 11:05:55

    Such cute sugar cookies–awesome job! Congrats on the award🙂

  20. Mary
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 12:08:58

    perfect for this weekend! very fun and pretty! Well done on the award – always well deserved
    Mary x

  21. Chaya
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 12:46:56

    These are beauties. So colorful and perfect for July 4th.

  22. cooking gallery
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 13:03:07

    Congrats on the award :)! The cookies look great!

  23. Mary
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 14:12:06

    I know a patriot when I see one🙂. The cookies looks wonderful and couldn’t be more perfect for the holiday. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  24. Beth
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 16:07:58

    Enjoy your holiday weekend! Your cookies look great.
    I’m so happy that it isn’t winter, I really don’t mind no matter how hot it gets. And I’m with you on the pedicures. I keep my toes done all summer.

  25. sweetlife
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 22:12:14

    yummy for the 4th of july. I love sugar cookies and love that you layered the frosting on thick!! Yummy, I’ll take a red one, blue one and white one!!
    happy 4th

    sweetlife

  26. Maureen
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 02:26:28

    These cookies make me want to put my hand over my heart and lower my eyes. So patriotic! LOL Love ’em!

  27. High Heels and Good Meals
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 18:13:32

    YOu totally deserved the award! Your posts make my mouth water, like these cookies for instance! Hope you have a wonderful holiday!

  28. Liz
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 18:54:22

    Great cookies! My family would have to have frosting…and lots of it! Congrats on your well deserved blogger award🙂

  29. Chaya
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 11:48:52

    I came back to thank you for linking this to Bake with Bizzy. Better though, I am baking for the troops and keeping the recipes to easy but good ones and this seems to qualify on all counts. A double thanks to you.

  30. Cakelaw
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 16:36:58

    What perfect cookies for the occasion! They look joyous. Hope you had a good holiday and congrats on the award.

