No ffwD, but how about a TwD rewind?

The thought of this week’s ffwD dish, chunky beets and icy red onions, produced a resounding “Absolutely not!” from me. Normally, I’d try a recipe with “outside my comfort zone” foods, but my sordid past with beets, making me fall privy again and again to their pretty deep pink color, has fooled me one too many times into thinking their color equated to something other than flavorless, mushy, lunchroom dreariness.

And raw onions are no better! Ask my co-worker (Codename: Tasha). I will throw away an entire salad if pungent raw onions made it in there by mistake. Ultimately, the dealbreaker with this salad was that my main ffwD taste-testers aren’t fans of beets or raw red onions. I had no intention to make a salad that no one would eat. Therefore, we can add raw onions and beets to my ever growing list of “Foods Yummy Chunklet Will Not Use When Cooking”. Past notables include mustard and anise.

However, to keep with the Dorie theme, why don’t we head back to May 5, 2009? Back when I only read blogs but didn’t write one. Back when the majority of my meals came from take-out boxes. Back when my niece, the namesake of my blog, had not yet been born.

Why May 5, 2009? That was the day the Tuesdays with Dorie group made tiramisu cake from Dorie’s “Baking” cookbook. Last week, my sister (Codename: Gamer Psychologist) defended her graduate school thesis with distinction, and I wanted to make her a celebration cake! Knowing that tiramisu is one of her favorite desserts, I knew Dorie’s cake version would be perfect.

This cake was pretty fantastic. However, next time, I’ll double the amount of espresso syrup that is soaked into the cake layers. I really want that depth of flavor to permeate more thoroughly to give the cake that authentic “soaked ladyfingers” characteristic. Also, I’ll probably make one and a half times the amount of mascarpone frosting to make the cake even more decadent. Overall, Gamer Psychologist and I really enjoyed her celebration tiramisu cake and will be enjoying it for some time. She has already said that no one is allowed to have a piece!

To get the full recipe, grab a copy of Dorie Greenspan’s “Baking: From My Home to Yours“. Or, better yet, join us for Dorie’s French cooking group at French Fridays with Dorie featuring recipes from Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

49 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Food,Photography & France
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 00:54:24

    I only learnt to love beetroot since living in France. The cooked ones that you find on the stalls in the markets look like the devil’s “do-dos” but taste like heaven. It takes a large leap of faith!

  2. Tanvi
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 02:06:18

    I am same way with raw onions..cant stand the pungent taste..this cake looks so moist n wonderful!

  3. Maureen
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 02:35:13

    Anytime you have beets (beetroot) or onions, just save them for me, okay? I never met a beet or onion I didn’t like. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Maris(In Good Taste)
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 03:52:36

    You have a very lucky family!

  5. Three-Cookies
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 04:45:08

    Awesome tiramisu. I understand the issue with raw onion, I find it less then pleasant on its own but with some foods the raw onionny taste is muted, eg pickled herring and raw onion:)

  6. Nancy
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 05:12:48

    The cake looks delicious. I’ll have to try it. It’s another recipe I might have passed up in the book, but your yummy pictures have inspired me. As for Dorie’s recipe, I was the only one who ate it. My family said nay, nay. What I learned from Dorie is that soaking the beets twice really took away that raw onion pungent kick and they were icy and crunchy.

  7. Adriana
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 06:14:56

    TwD rewind works for me. What a beautiful cake! Your sisters are lucky girls! I have to admit I had avoided beets for most of my life but biting into my first roasted ones was fun. Then again – I was never forced to eat them in my impressionable youth.

  8. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 07:02:39

    That cake looks amazing you rebel! Katherine hates beets and hates when I eat raw onions. I’m not the biggest fan of beets. But marscapone and espresso …. sign me up.

  9. spicegirlfla
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 07:13:12

    Yummm… I love tiramasu! The texture of the cake looks awesome. I’ve never had a “cake” tiramasu. My daughter requested a ice cream tiramasu that I made over the weekend but it didn’t include marscapone, which I think just makes the tiramasu taste heavenly!

  10. kitchenbelleicious
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 07:22:53

    that cake looks incredible and I wouldn’t have gone for the raw onions either. I need to have them at least sauteed a bit or something. I love that this is a cake version of tiramasu- amazing

  11. Mary
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 07:36:54

    I think everyone has a food they won’t venture near. For me it is oysters. Your version of tiramisu sounds scrumptious. I know I’d love to try it. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  12. Liz
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 08:07:34

    LOL, how could I forget you won’t eat onions?! Yeah, good reason to skip this week…and glad you did. Because then we get to drool over your fabulous tiramisu cake! Beautiful~

  13. pachecopatty
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 08:10:51

    I’m going to be an’ absolutely not’ next Friday;-) So, I can relate and really didn’t have much to say this week about beets and raw red onions but I do like them.
    Your cake is beautiful and I love the idea of a tiramisu cake-probably would be a bigger hit than beets and onions with my family;-)
    Enjoy your weekend;-)

  14. forgottenbeast
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 08:12:07

    Gorgeous cake! I love the look of shaved chocolate. And I would recommend giving beets another chance (but I also might just be weirdly obsessed with beets). I’m with ya on the raw onions! I will spend an hour picking tiny bits of raw onion out of food before eating it.

  15. Cakelaw
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 08:19:00

    This was a terrific cake to make. I have made it twice and loved it. I can’t abide raw onion, but have a love affair with beets.

  16. Parsley Sage
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 08:27:31

    Congrats to Gamer Psychologist! Awesome accomplishment and totally worthy of an out of control awesome cake๐Ÿ™‚ Well done!

    While I’m pro-beet, I’m not a fan of raw union either. Although, I recently learned i can do raw spring onion…really finely chopped or grated even. Cause with me, its more a texture thing than a taste thing. Maybe you could give that a try?

  17. Dessert By Candy
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 08:30:07

    I know what you mean by skipping a recipe when all the ingredients make you and your tasters go ick! The tiramisu cake is a great choice and it looks fantastic! You’re spot on that it can use more mascarpone cream and coffee syrup. Congrats to your sis too!

  18. Frankly Entertaining
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 08:35:58

    It seems like you made the perfect compromise. There have been plenty of times where I felt like I wasted food because no one wanted to eat one of my creations. I’ll have to remember your strategy!

  19. Peggy
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 08:39:14

    I actually love beets – but the raw onion, I could probably do without. This cake sounds like a suitable replacement, and definitely a great way to celebrate the thesis!

  20. Eileen
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 08:39:39

    That looks like the cake of my fantasies! lol I finally broke down and bought Baking. I wish I’d bought it back when you did, when it was $16! Now it was $20, and I had to buy it from a different seller on Amazon, so the time frame they gave me for delivery was any time between 6/29 and 7/19. WHAT??? Prime shipping has spoiled me. lol I’m sad that the Tuesdays With Dorie group is closed to new members, but it’s probably a good thing, b/c I don’t need to bake dessert every week.

  21. Louise
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 09:29:44

    Beets and I are gradually becoming friends. It may take a while though:) And, of course, they don’t even have a chance when spoken about in the presence of this sinfully decadent gorgeous cake!!! Oh heavens, I’m sure I could eat the whole thing!!!

    Thanks for sharing, Yummy…

    P.S. Happy National Picnic Month!!! Come see the round-up, ooo la la:)

  22. Betty @ scrambled henfruit
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 09:30:22

    I love beets, but raw onions are not my favorite. I do love the looks of that cake though- tiramisu is one of my favorite desserts.๐Ÿ™‚

  23. sanyaliving
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 11:20:44

    I have that book! I am totally going to make this desert! Looks amazing!
    But i have to say the salad was amazing (but I love beetroot and onions!)

  24. erica
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 11:52:24

    well doesnt this just look like a little piece of heaven!!

  25. Barbara
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 12:12:21

    I’d say this more than makes up for not doing the beet dish! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Tiramisu in cake form would be really good…your photos are making me very hungry!

  26. chunklet's mom
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 13:57:12

    the cake looks wonderful! I hope she liked it.

  27. Lola's Kitchen
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 14:05:44

    I’m going to try this cake! But the salad really is good:)

  28. Angela
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 14:55:02

    Oh my gosh, that looks so good! Irresistible, even. I am going to give beets a try this weekend. I love them as pickles (my great-grandmother’s recipe, only) but have never tried them another way.

  29. Ronda
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 15:10:29

    Wow! That looks tasty.

  30. Mary
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 16:18:52

    I love the fact that you’re not going to be bossed around! The cake looks the most divine creation – my mouth is watering!
    Mary

  31. Chaya
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 17:17:07

    I bet I am going to dream about the tiramisu. Beautifully presented.

    I love your blog.

  32. Trevor Sis. boom
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 18:35:00

    How funny. As you know I would have loved it if you would have made this salad and just given it to me for dessert.
    Beautiful cake! I would like to make that someday! Thanks for alerting me to it!

  33. Marcella
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 18:38:52

    You made such a beautiful cake! Looks like the perfect recipe for this week. I don’t even particularly like tiramisu, but your photo of the slice with the little chocolate pieces is making me want some right now. Too bad your sister won’t share๐Ÿ™‚

  34. Krissy
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 20:40:06

    Good choice! No, Great choice. I wish I had been smarter and made something like you have posted here…it looks fabulous! And what a great reason to celebrate. You totally made me jealous enough that tomorrow morning will be a baking time.

  35. peachkins
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 21:08:09

    did you say espresso syrup?? That is so my cake!

  36. rebecca
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 21:15:55

    love your honesty and I would also take the cake you make the best cakes first class

  37. torviewtoronto
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 22:19:08

    delicious looking soft cake

  38. Kathy
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 08:17:20

    I passed on this one too! My husband won’t do beets! Your cake looks gorgeous! Happy 4th!!

  39. sweetlife
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 09:42:39

    the cake is stunning, I love beets, but my hubby cannot stand the sight of them!!
    I’ll take two pieces, lol

  40. Lola's Kitchen
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 10:37:12

    Seems my computer isn’t refreshing the FFwD site so I’m not getting the LYL for this week. Anyone have any ideas on what I should do. I’ve logged off and on several times and have turned my computer off and on. Frustrating!

    • Ker-Yng
      Jul 03, 2011 @ 13:02:51

      It’s not your computer, the link is not up on the site that’s all. I think the staff are having a 4th of July holiday.๐Ÿ™‚

  41. Yuri
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 16:17:27

    I hate raw onions too. Soaking them in cold water makes them OK for me [Dorie explains this method in this recipe but my mom taught me this trick many years ago]. I find cute your aversion to certain foods, I must say I love beet juice but I know I wouldn’t offer you a glass if you ever came to visit๐Ÿ˜› that tiramisu cake looks spectacular and delicious, I never ordered “Baking… From my home to yours”, my cart was full with other books and I forgot to add it๐Ÿ˜ฆ now I’m broke and staying away from amazon, I should ask my bf to buy it for me๐Ÿ˜‰

  42. Genkinaonna
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 16:48:44

    I feel EXACTLY the way you do about beets and raw onions…I opted to make the World Peace cookies from BFMHTY instead yesterday, so my Dorie Karma is still good…that cake looks wonderful!

    : )

  43. Cher
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 09:23:32

    Made this cake for Christmas Eve – it was a huge hit.
    I must admit, one of the reason I gave my salad away is because I just can’t get into beets. Childhood trauma.
    Have a great holiday!

  44. Terra
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 10:08:50

    No FFwD?๐Ÿ™‚ I understand, beets are not for everyone. Wow is all I have for that beautiful cake! Such a perfect substitute, and now I want some:-)
    Hugs, Terra

  45. Ker-Yng
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 13:04:25

    Great looking cake, love the shaved chocolate on top! I made it for Christmas too and I read the P&Q on TWD before making it.๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t mind thin slices of beets in my salad, could hardly taste them!

  46. Frollicking Night Owl
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 12:04:45

    MMMM…. cake is WAY better than beets & raw onions!

  47. Inger Wilkerson
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 16:28:07

    I’d rather have the cake too! I also struggle with the beet issue–a Chilled Apple Beet Soup is the best I have done: http://artofnaturalliving.com/2010/12/13/csa-beets-theyre-ba-ack/

  48. Elaine
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 10:43:37

    Your cake looks delightful!

