ffwD: Roasted Rhubarb with Cardamom & Saffron Ice Cream!

This week’s recipe was my first foray into rhubarb. I’ve pretty much stayed away from the plant because I know the leaves are toxic. Um, no thank you.However, when Dorie suggested serving the roasted rhubarb (sans leaves) with ice cream, I jumped all over it since I’m not one to ignore my newly purchased ice cream maker despite the cooler weather in Chicago! In addition, having recently made out like a bandit on green cardamom pods in North Carolina, I’ve been eagerly looking for recipes using the spice. All these random bits of information lead to the logical step of combining all the elements together and making cardamom and saffron ice cream with roasted rhubarb!Just a side note: I wasn’t taking any chances with the whole toxic leaves thing, so I bought a bunch of rhubarb from my farmers market.Not to be outdone, the strawberries announced their presence at every stall with their intoxicating aroma. So, I had to buy a pint of them as well.What attention hogs, those strawberries!Anyway, the cardamom and saffron ice cream tasted fantastically delicious: “spicy” sweet (from the cardamom), “clean” spicy (from the saffron),and “fruity” sweet (from the roasted rhubarb).I will say that even with the honey added, the roasted rhubarb on its own was still just a bit tart, which was mellowed by the ice cream. Regardless, the pairing worked so well that I contemplated eating a bowl for breakfast this morning. Is that bad?By the way, look who’s back!And, now he has a friend!Thanks, Metiche!

Check out how other bloggers served their roasted rhubarb by heading to French Fridays with Dorie. As usual, the recipe for this dish can be found in Dorie Greenspanโ€™s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

47 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ronda
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:16:01

    Oh! I so have to get back into the swing of French Friday’s! I love rhubarb, but I grew up in East-Central Minnesota. I don’t think you can make it through childhood there without eating rhubarb. As a matter of fact I picked 12 gallons of rhubarb last week and today I am making rhubarb jam and vodka. Great pics!

  2. Three-Cookies
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:18:42

    I didn’t know the leaves were toxic. Certainly good to know. Its good that you ice cream machine is getting a good workout:)

  3. chutneyandspice
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:22:19

    your photos look really really lovely, so fresh and colourful, and that ice cream sounds AMAZING! Rhubarb is so tart isn’t it, I do love it but need something vey sweet with it. I’ve got a chutney recipe on the blog for rhubarb and ginger chutney which I really really love, so delicious with cheese. Have a great weekend!!

  4. chanzdutt
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:31:27

    Ur photos r so tempting…….ur blog is awesome ..Seems ur creating delicious things with ur ice cream maker

  5. Adriana
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:38:39

    Hello Metiche! That ice cream sundae looks so scrumptious between the tasty homemade spicy ice cream, the fruit sauce and the pistachios. Oh yum! You could have also done rhubarb, yogurt and honey for breakfast.

  6. saffronandhoney
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:44:37

    Well done with the rhubarb! Great together with the strawberries too. And that ice cream sounds so tempting.

  7. Cher
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:48:31

    Uh, no. It is like a fruit-vegetable & icre cream has dairy. I think it is exactly breakfast food!

  8. Heather
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:49:02

    That looks amazing! Beautiful strawberries too:)

  9. Eileen
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 10:14:45

    Ummm…cardamom and saffron ice cream? YUM. I can’t really begin to imagine what that would be like, but I want some.

  10. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 10:17:41

    I love it. And those strawberries look amazing. I love the flavors you used in this dish.

  11. kitchen flavours
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 10:29:48

    Oh, what a lovely ice-cream! Fantastic ingredients combination! And the strawberries are gorgeous!

  12. Candy
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 10:29:58

    Great post! And your ice-cream looks and sounds amazing. I’m sure it was perfect!

  13. Maya@Foodiva Kitchen
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 10:43:46

    Oh, it’s cardamom days again….love that you used it to flavor your ice cream! Yes, we’ve got to get rid of our spice stash somehow, right? ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m experiencing rhubarb envy right now because I’m not able to get my hands on fresh rhubarb to roast, but if I did, yes, I would so have it for breakfast with your delicious ice cream!

  14. forgottenbeast
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 10:54:43

    Strawberries are great attention hogs. And I see nothing wrong with dessert for breakfast, leftover cookies often end up being my oh-so-wonderful start to the day ๐Ÿ˜€

    Roasted rhubarb sounds delicious! I’d love to try that on top of some ice cream. Yumm.

  15. the urban bakesr
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 10:56:02

    what a fabulous flavor combo!

  16. Maris (In Good Taste)
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 11:07:43

    You did a fantastic job. This looks so lovely and the strawberries are amazing!

  17. Mary
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 11:20:32

    I would definitely have this for breakfast! It looks amazing – wonderful flavors – I HAVE to buy an ice cream maker – beautiful photos
    Mary

  18. sweetlife
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 11:33:15

    holy yum!! tart,sweet and delish..you hit every sense !! this is on my weekend menu! thanks for sharing

    sweetlife
    have a great weekend!

  19. Liz
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 11:36:46

    LOL, I say anything with fruit in it is fair game for breakfast! Your fabulous ice cream was the perfect pairing for the rhubarb…..mmmmm.

  20. Betsy
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 11:52:09

    The whole dessert looks awesome, the ice cream, the rhubarb and the strawberries. So glad that it’s strawberry season again. Nothing like fresh picked.

  21. pachecopatty
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 12:50:31

    I think you’ve got it all going on here and I’m loving all your flavors with the rhubarb, which I am a huge fan of rhubarb, congrats great job ๐Ÿ˜‰

  22. Kathy
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 13:17:56

    Such interesting flavorsโ€ฆ.I need to bring out my ice cream maker. Your rhubarb looks perfect! Paired with ice cream what could be better! Great photos!

  23. Parsley Sage
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 14:16:05

    Ice cream for breakfast? Pretty much awesome. Cardamom & Saffron Ice Cream with roasted rhubarb? GENIUS!

  24. Marcella
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 14:29:25

    I am completely distracted by the ice cream and those beautiful chopped pistachios! I’m blind to the rhubarb ๐Ÿ™‚ Your dish looks so great. Rhubarb and strawberries is a classic combination and one of my very favorites.

  25. chunklet's mom
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 14:30:00

    i’m glad you put the little mouse in with the strawberries, because that photo looks too good to be real ๐Ÿ˜‰

  26. Tricia S.
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 14:57:29

    Is that Ratatouille or Rhubarb I am looking at (or both :)…that little mouse looks faintly like a certain Disney character. I hope it is because that would make him all the more French- for those who know the story ! Your photos are out of this world. I somehow screwed this up – not sure if it was the green rhubarb or Nana’s fault for not teaching me about rhubarb when I was little. (kidding Nana !!) Anyhow – we are on the hunt for more. Nana tried 5 different stores today – how crazy is that- and came back empty handed. But we had not considered making our ice cream – esp with your combos. Wow- amazing job with amazing photos to prove it.!!!

  27. Nancy
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 15:13:39

    Toxic leaves, you say. Wow, you learn something every day. Thanks for sharing.

  28. kitchenbelleicious
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 15:36:01

    saffron ice cream! Are you kidding me, How do you come up with this stuff! That is such an amazing idea- I wish I could taste it right now. The suspense is killing me!

  29. RadioDiva
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 17:02:42

    Y.C…you never cease to amaze! Between chunklet’s bday, baby sis moving, work and this blog, you make the mad beats that the rock the streets!! Seriously, great looking food, tempting pics, wonderful commentary(the “Toxic leaves..Um, no thank you.” comment..LOL Funny!!). Keep up the wonderful work. I always look forward to reading your blog because I actaully feel like I’m trying something wonderful and gourmet, yet simple and classic. Don’t stop working your awesome magic powers, my dear!!

    =)

  30. Elaine
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 18:38:19

    You are too cute! I would have never thought to put those flavors together, but your dish looks wonderful! And no, it is not bad to eat ice cream anything for breakfast. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  31. Ker-Yng
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 21:07:29

    Good job there! You were really creative!! I love farmers’ markets too, those strawberries look amazing!

  32. Krissy
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 02:29:04

    Not only does your rhubarb look fresh and delish but those strawberries do too. And, of course, you should eat this for breakfast. All your photos and this post look terrific…I’m planning to hunt down some better rhubarb and to try this again.

  33. kitchenarian
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 07:49:47

    You outdid yourself this week! This ice cream sounds amazing and your rhubarb dish is beautiful. Great job! I would definitely make your version – oh did I just say I would make rhubarb again? See what you have done to me?!

  34. sanyaliving
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 08:11:14

    That looks so good!!!
    The flavours sound great and you really can’t go past those strawberries! They look amazing!

  35. Louise
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 08:57:42

    Oh goodness, that ice cream looks heavenly! Glad to hear you’re getting good use from that ice cream maker. I can use a gallon or two my way:)

    I really must give rhubarb another go. Katie keeps tempting me and now YOU and so many others. Perhaps…

    Thanks for sharing, yummy…

    BTW, We’re going on a virtual picnic at my blog. And since today is International Picnic Day, it’s time to kick off the Picnic Game. You know the one, I’m going on a picnic and I’m bringing… Hope you can join us. This is our third year and we have a ball!!!

  36. Mary
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 10:46:01

    That looks fantastic! Rhubarb and cardamom are probably the most used ingredients on my blog and in my kitchen, so I would have definitely had this for breakfast. Yum!

  37. Genkinaonna
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 14:04:04

    Yummy! I just got an ice cream maker too…I think some experimenting might be in order! And btw, I had mine for breakfast too, so you’re totally in the clear!

  38. Simply Life
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 15:33:06

    wow! what a treat! I’m loving this flavor!

  39. mygreatmenu
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 20:20:42

    Fabulous photos. The flavors of the ice cream sound wonderful. I love making homemade ice cream, especially with a new kitchen toy.

  40. Anita Menon
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 21:06:34

    Ice cream looks heavenly. Just the tub to dig in ,inthis hot weather (Bahrain)

  41. Grumpy Grateful Mom
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 22:29:24

    Looks great to me!!! My husband loves rhubarb, so I grow it and we eat a ton. And, I think ice cream is definitely perfect for breakfast, especially if you’re eating it with a vegetable. ๐Ÿ™‚

  42. Quay Po
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 20:35:37

    I still have a few packets of rhubarb in my freezer, I wish have the ice cream machine now! This looks so good for this crazy hot weather.

  43. Yuri
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 17:38:26

    Loooove your pics! The one with ratatouille and the mini cow are just hilarious. I’ve never tried rhubarb, maybe I should get some seeds and grow my own ๐Ÿ™‚

  44. Renee - Kudos Kitchen
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 18:21:45

    Cardamom, saffron, rhubarb and camera hogging strawberries? Oh gosh! The combinations of flavors and textures over your ice cream must have been to die for! I love how creative you were with this recipe and I had to laugh at your attention hogging berries. Very entertaining ๐Ÿ™‚

  45. Karla
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 14:43:29

    Oh my goodness, your ice cream sounds delicious! Lovely! My mouth is watering over your strawberries, too. Great post!

  46. Angela
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 21:11:49

    I can’t imagine who I missed this when you posted it! Yum!

  47. Trackback: But they just got here! « Yummy Chunklet
