Lemon Caper Chicken with Croutons in Ina’s Garden!

As I expected, my cooking time was limited this week after my trip to North Carolina and then dealing with an appellate brief at work. Luckily, Chaya from Comfy Cook’s Kosher Kitchen chose Ina’s chicken recipes for this week’s themed Ina’s Garden! Chaya herself made Ina’s Indonesian ginger chicken.

My intention was to make one of Ina’s more involved chicken dishes. Instead, I did my own twist on two of Ina’s recipes: her lemon chicken breasts and her lemon chicken with croutons.First, I cut up my bread, drizzled the cubes with garlic-infused olive oil and placed them in the oven to bake at 350 degrees for about 15-20 minutes. Second, I used skinless (instead of skin-on) chicken breasts (instead of a whole roaster), and dredged them in a bit of seasoned flour. I lightly fried the chicken in a bit of olive oil (instead of baking them). I placed the cooked breasts in a warm dish and covered them with aluminum foil to allow the juices to settle.

Meanwhile, I added about 2 tablespoons of capers along with minced garlic, dry white wine, lemon juice, oregano, salt and pepper to the pan drippings. I cooked the sauce over medium low heat just long enough to cook the garlic and thicken the sauce. When both the sauce and the croutons were done, I placed the croutons on a dish, spooned just a bit of the sauce on top, added the chicken breasts and drizzled the remainder of the sauce on top. For a final flourish, I topped the whole thing with sliced lemons.This dish was really delicious with its light and lemony flavor. The sauce wasn’t heavy at all and softened the croutons just enough so the roof of your mouth wasn’t torn to shreds. I also liked the fact that Ina’s chicken recipes are adaptable and can be made pretty easily, depending on your time and ingredients on hand. And, after such a busy week, this dish was right up my alley. If you want to see Ina’s lemon chicken breasts done properly, make sure to check out April’s blog, The 21st Century Housewife’s Kitchen!

Now, I know I’m not the only one who loves Ina and her multitude of chicken recipes, so let’s see your link ups from your Ina chicken creations! Feel free to link up a chicken dish you’ve done before, but we’d love to see new chicken dishes made! If you couldn’t make it to Ina’s Garden this time around, we hope you can join us on July 7th, when Peggy at Pantry Revisited has us making Ina’s zucchini gratin! And now, the Ina’s Garden cooking group has its own homepage here. The upcoming schedule should be up soon, so no excuse about not knowing what to cook in advance!

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chaya
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 00:45:24

    Great Photo

    I really must try this. This looks so good.

  2. Sutapa
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 01:38:21

    The whole dish looks so appetizing !

  3. kitchen flavours
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 02:58:03

    Looks delicious! I hope to cook one of Ina’s chicken recipes soon!

  4. Maris (In Good Taste)
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 03:52:00

    This is now on my to do list!

  5. curtorimfoodieszone
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 04:20:39

    Yummy C , this is absolutely delish and ur chicken turned fantastic!
    Love the addition of capers here , so good!
    I also love the fact about Ina’s recipe being easy peasy and quick and delicious at the same time!

  6. curtorimfoodieszone
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 04:23:58

    That yeah u know am sure that its me Mia :-)))

  7. Little Inbox
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 04:41:20

    This is so tempting. Must be very flavorful.

  8. Three-Cookies
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 04:43:57

    Awesome. Nice crunch from the croutons, like a deconstructed crusted deep fried chicken:)

  9. April @ The 21st Century Housewife
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 05:23:42

    Great combination of recipes and ingredients! Your chicken looks wonderful!!

  10. Mary
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 05:39:15

    Isn’t Ina fabulous! Your photos make me SO hungry. I’ve tried this dish myself and it was a huge hit, delicious
    Mary x

  11. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 05:53:12

    Wow that looks really good! I love lemon and capers with about any meat and I think having the croutons just takes it to a whole new level. Looks wonderful.

  12. Louanne
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 05:57:36

    Now that is a delicious plate of chicken! I just love the flavor of capers & lemon with chicken. Adding to my repertoire!

  13. Liz
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 06:13:41

    Wonderful selection! Another great Ina recipe I need to try~

  14. purabi naha
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 06:24:55

    Hi, first time here in your blog and I am loving your recipes. This chicken recipe is easy and delicious. Hope you’ll visit my blog too!!
    http://cosmopolitancurrymania.blogspot.com

  15. Pam @ From Apples To Zucchini
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 07:20:56

    This looks amazing! I love lemon and capers together, so I am sure I would just love this one!

  16. Geni - Sweet and Crumby
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 07:34:22

    This looks like what I order at one of my favorite Italian restaurants. Would love to be able to recreate it at home. TY!

  17. Louise
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 07:38:22

    This may be an Ina recipe but I must say, yummy, you have totally made it your own. The lemon, the capers, the crunchy croutons, it sounds fabulous and looks absolutely gorgeous!

    Thank you so much for sharing…

  18. erica@fashionmeetsfood
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 08:25:31

    The name doesnt really sound appealing to me – but your photos definitely do! Yum! Looks divine.

    xo

  19. Peggy
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 08:38:36

    Yum – that looks delicious!!! I have to try it.

  20. forgottenbeast
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 10:47:05

    I love the idea for the group–Ina Garten makes such delicious food! (And I’m sorta obsessed with her show). Can’t join in due to vegan-ness, but I might try to make a veg-friendly version of the zucchini gratin for the the next Ina’s Garden, especially since my zucchinis are just about ready!

    (Your chicken still sounds/looks delicious, however!)

  21. Grumpy Grateful Mom
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 10:55:04

    Looks delicious! I have a gift for over-cooking chicken! I made a chicken dish on Monday–not so yummy!

  22. sara
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 12:37:15

    This looks so good! Capers and lemon are so delicious together!

  23. Katrice
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 13:11:00

    Interesting looking dish! I may have to try this!

  24. kankana
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 16:39:54

    This is one of those meal with which you don’t need any sides. Truly delicious🙂

  25. Parsley Sage
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 16:59:09

    Oooh! Great dish! I’m a big fan of lemon/chicken anything but I never in a million years would have though about serving it with croutons. Genius!

  26. Peggy
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 19:19:47

    Oh wow, this looks so awesome! Love the croutons in this dish too =)

  27. Simply Life
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 19:55:40

    I just started appreciating Ina more this year and now love her recipes!

  28. chunklet's mom
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 19:59:06

    I made this recipe before, and it’s so good! Looks like your dish turned out great!

  29. Angela
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 21:24:01

    What a perfect blend of flavors. I am crazy about capers; they are a favorite pizza topping.

  30. Cakelaw
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 04:30:18

    This looks delicious! I love the zing that capers give to meals.

  31. jay
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 05:35:04

    very appetizing n yummy..Am turning great fan of your yummy recipes..:)

    Tasty Appetite

  32. Elaine
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 18:40:00

    Mmm…this looks so good. My tummy is rumbling because I haven’t eaten yet!

  33. sanyaliving
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 08:16:36

    They look great! I’m waiting for things to stop being so crazy hectic so I can join you guys on one of your Ina adventures! Everything you’ve made so far looks fantastic!

  34. claire
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 08:36:42

    you had me at light and lemony flavor… looks amazing

  35. marla {family fresh cooking}
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 08:50:28

    Your lemon chicken sounds amazing!
    Cookin’ Canuck and I are in week 3 of Get Grillin’ and would love to have you join us. Please link up to 3 entree recipes including this dish. Doing so will qualify you to enter our Ild De France Cheese giveaway. It’s also a way to share your amazing recipes with all of us. http://su.pr/17fizq

