Hiatus…Sort of…

Actually, I’m going to North Carolina for a week to help my sister (Codename: DSN Engineer) move into her first post-college apartment. She recently accepted a position with IBM in RTP, hence the move. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get into her kitchen and try some recipes I’ve had on hold, but no promises. Also, I’ll do my best to comment on your posts, but again, no promises.

However, I’ll leave you with this question. When posting photos to your blogs, do you prefer close up images or ones that include a fair amount of background (whether it be fuzzy or clear)? I’m debating whether to alter how I take my food photos as I was recently criticized for having “too much” in my photos and not enough contrast. What do you think?

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Food,Photography & France
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 00:47:47

    You could do worse than taking a European vacation to include a course at http://www.camerahols.com!

  2. Maris(In Good Taste)
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 03:28:16

    You are a wonderful sister and I think your photos are great!

  3. Christy
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 04:36:24

    Who criticized your photos, WHO??? Trust us (Maris just said so too), that your photos are great kay!:)
    If you need an opinion, honestly, I have a bit of both too…hehe, sometimes I do close ups and sometimes, I just include the shot with the background.
    You go with your style too, and if it’s not good, trust that we will tell you🙂 Don’t you worry about it:D

  4. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 05:49:34

    Your photos are fine first off. I like close ups and fewer process shots than most. Good luck in NC. Watch out for the mustard BBQ sauce.:)

  5. sweetlife
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 05:58:31

    Have fun with your sister..your such a great sister!! who criticized your photos (how rude!) I enjoy your pics..I have alot of close up shots, but I like to feature more food thank glitter and rainbows, lol

    sweetlife

  6. Ronda
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 06:43:37

    Yes, I like your photos too. I agree with Rufus above that fewer process shots are better.

  7. Mary
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 07:17:19

    First of all have a wonderful time with your sister and best of luck to her. Your blog is beautiful and so are your pictures. I know nothing about photography – but when we are writing about food – it seems like a good idea to focus on that – the food and not a lot of background stuff. (Also who has time to create a landscape design every time you want to take a photo!)
    Have a lovely break
    Mary x

  8. Ker-Yng
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 07:30:02

    I’m no expert but I think your photos are fine. They show me what the dish is like, right down to texture. Having background is fine too if they help to show-off your food more. Have a good break. I like your ‘Gone fishing’ picture.🙂

  9. Peggy
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 08:27:58

    Have fun in North Carolina!

    As for the food photos – I think you take great shots! Personally, it depends on what I’m shooting, whether I include other things or just closeups… but I think a good mix of the two is always great =)

  10. Eileen
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 08:36:48

    I tend to do close-ups, but that’s just because my kitchen usually looks like it exploded and I don’t want to out my slobby self to the world. I think your pictures are lovely. Post the pictures you want to post–if everyone’s blog looked exactly the same, it would get really boring really fast.

  11. Linda
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 08:41:36

    Enjoy your time with your sister. I think your blog and photos are beautiful! I had original used this wordpress theme for my blog and then switched, but I really like your look.

  12. Trevor Sis. boom
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 08:59:49

    Have a wonderful time and don’t listen to those who criticize. Take the photos YOU want. Geeze, some people.

  13. Andrea
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 09:58:20

    Have a great vacation. Don’t listen to those critics. The photos should make you happy. I think some people take food photos WAY too close and it’s like an assault. Some are far too staged. Work for what you like and that’s when they’re the best! And yours are terrific. Poop on Nay-sayers.

  14. chutneyandspice
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 10:00:47

    I love the fact that blog photography is so individual and unique, and that is why it is so important that everyone finds their own way to do it. I love your use of colour and your plates and dishes and really enjoy your blogs. Have a fun trip.

  15. Parsley Sage
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 10:19:18

    I think you stuff looks great now. But if you’re worried, just mix it up a bit. Sometimes I do close up while other times I try to show the whole plate with a few extras. But remember, its YOUR blog and you can post any pictures you want🙂 Have fun in Carolina!

  16. Priya Mahadevan
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 10:55:37

    ah you will be in our neighboring state🙂 such a sweet sister you are !
    Be back soon and safe travels! xoxo priya

  17. Cher
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 11:00:26

    Have a great trip – and do what works for you. When you are happy with what you are doing, it will show… Your house. Your rules!

  18. Ameena
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 11:18:12

    You’ve seen my photos…I don’t really think I’m qualified to give advice on yours!

    What a nice sister you are…mine barely talks to me, nevermind moves me!! Have a safe trip.

  19. Three-Cookies
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 14:48:25

    Sounds like a fun week coming up. Re photos, one option is to leave it as it is and your readers can adjust their taste/preference, otherwise you will have to post many photos to make everyone happy

  20. Simply Life
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 20:07:00

    have fun! NC is one place I’d love to visit!

  21. High Heels and Good Meals
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 20:21:21

    Have fun helping your sister. Your photos look just right to me.

  22. saffronandhoney
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 20:37:41

    Have a great time! Looking forward to hearing all about it.

  23. chunklet's mom
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 22:15:27

    Ha! Love the frog and toad picture!!!

  24. Eva
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 01:33:02

    Have a nice trip! I like a mix of wide and close up photos, that way you can view the dish in different perspectives/ways. But you should really do what you like, because enjoying what your doing is most important🙂

  25. Joyti
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 04:20:02

    I really think that the aesthetics of photos is in the eye of the beholder. I like mine with a fair amount of background space, not too bright or too much white (the boy actually studied photography and film, and pure white is a no-no), a little ‘soft’ and for the white balance to be a bit on the blue side (so it looks like film rather than digital). Of course, not everyone will agree with my style. I think not everyone will agree with any style, actually. Your pictures are actually very nice, they actually showcase the food very clearly and nicely.
    And I hope you enjoy hanging out with your sis!

  26. blackbookkitchendiaries
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 07:05:54

    have fun🙂 and lets us hear all about it!

  27. jessica
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 07:28:11

    Oh have fun and we will miss you- take pics and can’t wait to see what yummy stuff you cook up when you get back!

  28. Summer Rose
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 08:52:33

    Hey Yummy C , first of all , very very SORRY for being here so late , i havent been around muc and its been awhile since i cot up.
    And the next first thing , i am sure u will have the most wonderful time with ur sis topped with heaps of fun and love.
    About pics , i like them both , close up and with props too , depends on what the food is , and honestly whatever looks good to u is fine🙂

    Loving catching up with all ur birthday posts , so cool and little Chunklet is sooooooooooooo cute , am in love with her now🙂
    And i sure m inspired and must catch up with FFwd , thing is i have started gym classes after a very long break and i automatically eat very differntly when i workout :-)lol.

    WIll catcha soonnn , and have fun and looking forward to hear more about ur trip!

  29. Kathy
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 19:22:02

    Enjoy NC! Hope you get a chance to visit Apex…cute town! I think your pictures are lovely!

  30. ryan
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 20:11:26

    Congrats to your sister on her new job! Have a great visit with her and a fun trip to Raleigh. That’s such a great area, I’m sure you guys will have a blast!! We’ll miss you while you’re gone!!! I agree with the others that I think your pictures are wonderful.

  31. Sutapa
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 10:15:10

    Have a nice time with your sister! Your pics are superb and for foods I love the close shots !

  32. Cakelaw
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 17:10:44

    I think your photos are great. There’s always a whinger – it’s not like they are paying you anyway. Have a great time with your sister.

  33. Louise
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 21:17:08

    I think you pictures are just delightful! As a matter of fact, I LOVE to visit your blog, just as it is…

    Have a wonderful time with your sister and GOOD for her. I do hope you persuade her to “play” in the kitchen. “See” you when you get back!!!

  34. Yuri
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 23:00:03

    Enjoy your vacation, we will be waiting for you! Don’t stress yourself🙂 also who criticized your photos?! Each person has its own style. I love your photos and the most important thing is that YOU like them.

  35. Anita Menon
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 03:10:20

    Though I am no expert on photography and probably I don’t even intend to be one, I have only one thing to say to you ,’ your photographs are wonderful”
    what attracts me to your blog is that your writing which is fresh and very straightforward. your photos are unpretentious and simple.

    while you can keep experimenting with your photographs and see what you feel looks good, my request to you would be to not lose the essence of what you are and how you want your blog to look like. Improving on skills is definitely a wonderful thing but your blog is very homely and i like it that way.

  36. Maya@Foodiva's Kitchen
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 03:42:12

    I happen to like your photos, and if it makes you feel any better, my photos have too much in them too….waaaay too much! But really, who cares? It’s my blog and I do as I please, and you should too! Btw, you do so much for your sisters that I’m getting slightly envious. If you ever need another sister to help, hey I’m up for adoption🙂.

