Making tabbouleh in Ina’s Garden!

This week in Ina’s Garden, Louanne at Louanne’s Kitchen chose to make tabbouleh and posted Ina’s recipe at the bottom of her post here.

As excited as I was to make tabbouleh from scratch, I have a confession to make. The holiday weekend and the abbreviated work week have been so busy that I was short on time. So, I cheated and used a boxed version of tabbouleh that I found in my cupboard. I know! I’m terrible! But, making an extra trip to pick up bulghur wheat was just not in the cards. I’ll have to redeem myself in a later post and make a proper attempt at tabbouleh from scratch, as I found the boxed version quite tasty and can only imagine how much better it would be from scratch! I didn’t have any crisp lettuce on hand, so instead I put together a plate of munchies including pita chips, cherry tomatoes, sliced cucumber, hummus and the tabbouleh!Now, I know that the six of us aren’t the only Ina fans out there, so whip up some tabbouleh, join us in Ina’s Garden, and link up! However, if chicken is more your thing, then I hope to see more people join us in Ina’s Garden on June 16th when April from The 21st Century Housewife and The 21st Century Housewife’s Kitchen will be hosting “Comforting and Delicious Chicken Recipes”. You know that Ina loves her some chicken, so there are plenty of recipes to choose from!

Start thinking now about your favorite Ina chicken dish or one you’ve been eying and get cooking! Let’s proudly show our love of Ina’s chicken dishes with all the posts and link ups! Personally, I’m torn between Ina’s chicken with forty cloves of garlic and her tequila lime chicken. See you June 16th in Ina’s Garden!

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chutneyandspice
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 03:27:16

    wow, what a choice, both sound amazing – tequilla lime chicken wins for me I think.

  2. Maris (In Good Taste)
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 03:47:52

    I have to agree that it is hard to choose. The tequila lime sounds a tiny bit more interesting!

  3. Adriana
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 04:14:00

    I can definitely relate to the pressures of short work weeks especially around month-end. You are not terrible, you made time to post!

  4. Three-Cookies
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 05:00:32

    Great modified tabbouleh. Those crunchy things look delicious – fried pita bread?

  5. Louanne
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 05:03:19

    Love your mezze plate! Definitely give Ina’s recipe a whirl when you have a chance – it really is delicious.

  6. Simply Life
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 05:22:15

    I LOVE tabbouleh and haven’t had it in way too long -thanks for the reminder!

  7. Liz
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 05:37:16

    Beautiful plate with your accompaniments! Looking forward to some fabulous chicken dishes~

  8. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 05:49:39

    That plate still looks great. I can’t wait to make tabbouleh with some of my fresh mint.

  9. peggy
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 05:58:37

    You are too honest! Your tabbouleh looks really tasty. Shortcuts are what cooking is all about, right? Looking forward to seeing what chicken dish you choose for next time!!

  10. Ronda
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 07:25:39

    Mmmm…that looks very tasty.

  11. Andrea
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 09:31:19

    I wish people in my house would eat this! I wanted to jump in this week! Tequilla chicken sounds wonderful to me!

  12. Mary
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 10:32:16

    The tequilla chicken is delicious but if I remember there is a lot of chopping involved. I love the ease with which tabbouleh comes together. Yours looks wonderful. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  13. Eva
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 12:14:52

    Tabouleh is great. It has such a fresh and invigorating flavor, making it from a box is nice because it makes everything so much simpler. Plus, you served it with such wonderful accompaniments. Kudos!

  14. Kate@Diethood
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 14:18:00

    The tabbouleh looks amazing! I love everything that’s on that plate. 🙂 nom nom nom!

  15. Peggy
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 16:22:56

    Oh I love love love the 40 clove chicken! And this tabbouleh sounds super tasty too =)

  16. Mary
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 17:01:39

    I must say I’m an Ina fan too! I don’t think your tabbouleh is a cheat at all, I just think it’s very sensible.
    It looked great with all the nibbles
    Mary x

  17. Parsley Sage
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 18:34:38

    Not big deal on the boxed tabbouleh 🙂 Sometimes you gotta cut some corners. At least you still whipped up a fantastic looking dish! Well done

  18. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 21:53:46

    That looks like the perfect lunch to me, whether it came out of a box or not. 🙂

  19. Louise
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 08:00:45

    Tabbouleh in a box! Oh I must have that in the cupboard. (for emergencies of course:) I’m wanting that beautiful dish of yours right now! And, it’s only 9AM!

    Thanks for sharing, Yummy…

  20. birdie to be
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 15:39:13

    This looks great! The whole plate looks amazing together!

  21. gingerbreadbagels
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 09:31:08

    I LOVE Ina’a tabbouleh recipe. Yours looks sooo good! 🙂

  22. April @ The 21st Century Housewife
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 16:04:03

    Your version of Ina’s tabbouleh looks wonderful! Everyone has to use shortcuts now and again, and often they can make the very best recipes!

