Month-long Birthday Celebration: CLOSING DAYS!

It’s the last day of May, and my month-long birthday celebration comes to a close tonight. Here’s a look at my last week of treats:

*May 24th–Growing up in a Filipino family, it’s normal to prepare Filipino food without a recipe. However, I also grew up in the South. Every now and then, my mother would come home from work with some recipe scribbled in unfamiliar handwriting and armed with a bag of groceries. This meant that one of the Southern lady nurses my mother worked with had shared an “American” recipe with her. One of the few American recipes that made repeat appearances in my family was what we called Mandarin orange cake. However, I recently discovered it’s actually called a “Pig Pickin’ Cake”. I’m not a fan of that name, so I’m sticking with Mandarin orange cake! Here’s my mini-cake version:

*May 25th–After a particularly awesome night of partying last year, I somehow misplaced my pair of red peep-toe heels. Not sure how this happened but I went out and bought a new and cuter pair!

*May 26th–I love the Daley Plaza farmers market on Thursday because I can stroll through the stands right after that morning’s court call. Usually I’m “sampling” their wares, but on occasion I’ll buy some fresh produce. This year, there’s several new stands including a crepe making station, Flip Crepes. Instead of my usual salad, I stepped outside my comfort zone and bought an “Il Capriccio” crepe wrap that had goat cheese, olive tapenade, honey balsamic vinaigrette, crushed hazelnuts and baby spinach. Yum!

*May 27th–With my office closing early for the holiday weekend, I treated myself to my first mani/pedi of the season.

*May 28th–I finally bought a plum-colored Cuisinart ice cream maker from Sur La Table with a $50 SLT gift card that was burning a hole in my pocket! Good thing I waited because SLT ran a Memorial Day special where any Cuisinart ice cream maker purchase came with a $15 SLT gift card. Score!

*May 29th–Today was Chunklet’s birthday! She turned two years old!To celebrate, I made her Yo Gabba Gabba cupcakes and for the grown-ups these appetizer versions of Beef Wellington!

*May 30th–Happy Memorial Day! (in the U.S.) After spending a couple of hours at a hot (but fun!) cookout, I walked by Lake Michigan to stick my feet in the 50 degree water while eating a strawberry shortcake Good Humor bar.

*May 31st–Last day! My plan is to see The Hangover 2 tonight. I may even hang around and see Bridesmaids again. (It was that funny.) Then, I’ll be grilling a Home Run Inn pizza, which I’ve heard you could do but never had the nerve to try.

With that said, thanks so much for helping me celebrate my birthday ALL MONTH LONG! I’ve had a blast, and I hope to see more folks out there take the time to do a little something special for themselves everyday during their birthday month! And, on a side note, I want to wish Yuri at Chef Pandita a very Happy Birthday!

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ryan
    May 31, 2011 @ 08:58:08

    Happy Birthday! I’ll miss your month of birthday posts. They were so much fun! It sounds like you had a great month and the red shoes and the ice cream maker sound like fabulous gifts to yourself!!! Great ideas!

  2. Mary
    May 31, 2011 @ 09:06:05

    I’ll bet you hate to see your month-long celebration end. It sounds like you used your last few days wisely. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  3. Jessica
    May 31, 2011 @ 09:12:43

    Sounds like you treated yourself well during your month! I also don’t approve of the cake’s original name.

  4. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    May 31, 2011 @ 09:18:17

    That ice cream maker sounds wonderful. What a great May you had. Katherine’s parents are southern and make biscuits by feel, something we’ve never been able to do. You should’ve seen us trying to follow their stuffing “recipe” our first Thanksgiving!

  5. Eileen
    May 31, 2011 @ 09:36:38

    I’m sad that your birthday month is over. I liked living vicariously through your treats.

    That crepe sounds amazing. I lo-o-ove savory crepes. I still fantasize about one that I had in paris, which included spinach, little cubes of a bacon-type cut of pork, cheese, and creme fraiche. I could have eaten 15 of those.

    Let us know how your ice cream maker works! I’ve been considering getting one myself, but am faced with my perpetual kitchen problem of finding the space.

  6. Cher
    May 31, 2011 @ 09:48:17

    Sounds like a perfect end to a birthday month. Great job planning something for every day.
    I have the ice cream attachment for my Kitchen Aid mixer and homemade ice cream is the best…

  7. Three-Cookies
    May 31, 2011 @ 09:49:08

    My plan is to see The Hangover 2 tonight AND TO HAVE A HANGOVER TOMORROW?

  8. torviewtoronto
    May 31, 2011 @ 11:07:56

    yummy looking food fabulous

  9. Ronda
    May 31, 2011 @ 11:29:11

    What a yummy looking cake!

  10. Maris (In Good Taste)
    May 31, 2011 @ 11:51:25

    Can you post the recipe for the orange cake? It looks delicious!

  11. Liz
    May 31, 2011 @ 12:12:50

    Love that you made a mini version of this cake! Enjoy the last day of May…you made the best of your birthday month!

  12. Cooking Gallery
    May 31, 2011 @ 12:16:26

    Happy belated birthday to your adorable little Chunklet :)!! Sorry I missed the birthday post…! She seemed to be very happy, but no wonder looking at all the delicious things she can eat at home ;)!

  13. saffronandhoney
    May 31, 2011 @ 12:17:27

    Aw have a great closing day of celebrations!!

    And happy belated birthday to your niece 🙂

  14. Ker-Yng
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:26:21

    Happy Belated Birthday! My birthday’s in May too and I had a month-long vacation. 🙂

    Good score on the SLT!

  15. Parsley Sage
    May 31, 2011 @ 16:53:49

    Best birthday month ever. I’m so very jealous and I TOTALLY think I’ll be using this approach for my birthday in October 🙂

  16. rebecca
    May 31, 2011 @ 17:09:35

    so pleased you had a fun birthday month hugs

  17. Tanvi
    May 31, 2011 @ 17:45:26

    Wonderful round up ..That mandarin cake looks yum! Congrats on the ice cream maker!!

  18. Mary
    May 31, 2011 @ 18:28:51

    Oh my goodness your daughter is BEYOND gorgeous!!!! I have SO enjoyed the birthday month and think it’s just the best idea ever. The cake looks amazing. I’ve always been tempted by an ice cream maker – maybe this is the year!
    Mary oxo

  19. kitchenarian
    May 31, 2011 @ 21:49:11

    What a great month of celebration. I am so glad you bought yourself the ice cream machine. You will love it! I can’t wait to see what you make.

  20. Maureen
    May 31, 2011 @ 23:03:05

    What a wonderful month! You’ve got us all wondering if we could do the same thing. I’m not as disciplined as you are.

    The cake is great. I kinda like the Pig Pickin Cake 🙂 I’m partial to wacky names.

    Chunklet is adorable! I bet you love every minute you spend with her.

  21. Anita Menon
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 03:26:10

    Awww your birthday posts were such fun. Why not celebrate it year long for the next birthday??? I am going to miss reading them. Wishing you and chunklet a wonderful birthday!

  22. Jessica
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 07:25:39

    I must must must make those mini beef wellingtons like next week. They are too cute and they look so good! Love this recap of the month and if i didn’t say it before, happy birthday month!

  23. sara
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 08:24:18

    Happy end to your birthday month!! 🙂 Also, those mini beef wellies are TOO CUTE! Love them – so adorable, and they look super yummy! 🙂

  24. Peggy
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 08:31:14

    You definitely had a fantastic month! And happy belated birthday to chunklet =)

  25. Geni - Sweet and Crumby
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 08:38:55

    I don’t know where to start since this is my first time here on your blog and I adore it! Your sweet little Chunklet is over the top cute. I truly love the mini beef wellington idea and am already thinking when I could serve it…SOON! Yours looks delish.

  26. Miss Anthropist
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 09:32:15

    Ahh, everything looks incredible! And your your little Chunklet is SO ADORABLE! Hope you had a great birthday month!

  27. Brownieville Girl
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 16:09:29

    Only 11 months to go before you can start celebrating agian!!!

  28. kankana
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 16:39:36

    Aawww Chunklet is SO SO SO cute ! happy birthday to her .. i can see clearly that she is a happy baby .. her eyes tells it very clearly. 🙂

  29. jay
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 19:19:10

    ohh…your sweety is so adorable…wat a fantastic month long b day celeb with awesome finishing..:)
    you rock dear..!

    Tasty Appetite
    Event: Letz Relishh Ice Creams

  30. Meri
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 19:30:54

    Mmmm, no matter WHAT you name it, that cake is beautiful and sounds really tasty! Happy Birthday Month, one last time 🙂

  31. Quay Po Cooks
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 20:14:39

    What a special ending of your 1 month birthday celebration! I am going to be a copy cat so this coming August, I will have a 1 month celebration for mine too:D Thanks for the fantastic idea my dear! Oh, I love all the photos of your little princess, she is so pretty and adorable. Please give her a BIG BEAR HUG for me and tell her it is from a Quay Po with yellow skin all the way from Malaysia! Hugs to you too.

  32. Katrice
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 11:47:34

    Ok so those Beef Wellingtons look sooooo good! That is a recipe I really need to try!

