PASTA WITH PIZAZZ in Ina’s Garden!


Welcome to the first-ever Ina’s Garden “themed” post: PASTA WITH PIZAZZ, which was selected by Chaya of Comfy Cook’s Kosher Kitchen and Bizzy B. Bakes!

For my PASTA WITH PIZAZZ submission, I chose Ina’s Pasta with Pecorino and Pepper. To me, it’s an indulgent version of pasta cacio e pepe because it incorporates cream. However, to add a bit more pizazz, I tossed in some frozen green peas for color and turkey bacon for a meaty flavor. Although Ina’s recipe calls for Italian egg noodles, I couldn’t find any in my grocery store and bought multigrain angel hair instead.

Thanks to my sister, Gamer Psychologist, for giving me this new dish!

For those of you new to my blog, Ina’s Garden is a group of bloggers who celebrate all things Ina Garten! (Chaya of Comfy Cook’s Kosher Kitchen and Bizzy B. Bakes, April of The 21st Century Housewife and The 21st Century Housewife’s Kitchen, Louanne of Louanne’s Kitchen, Mia of Bright Morning Star, and Peggy of Pantry Revisted).

Twice a month, we get together to cook fun recipes from Ina Garten, and we invite you to cook with us! Every first Thursday of the month is a cook-along recipe that everyone makes and posts about that day. Every third Thursday of the month is a themed post where everyone chooses their own Ina recipe that best fits that theme and posts their dish. For both Thursdays, a linky box will be included on all six of our blogs so that you can link up your submission. How easy is that?

If you couldn’t join us in Ina’s Garden for PASTA WITH PIZAZZ, we hope to see you on June 2nd where Louanne from Louanne’s Kitchen has chosen Tabbouleh for our next cook-along recipe. (Click here for the recipe!) If you have an Ina pasta dish you’d like to submit (either one you made for today or one from a previous post), feel free to link it in the Cookie Monster box below!


28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yuri
    May 19, 2011 @ 00:46:29

    Looks like Nigella [on the right] is having some of this pasta with pizzaz 😀 Your addition of peas and bacon added both color and flavor. Beautiful 🙂

  2. chutneyandspice
    May 19, 2011 @ 02:14:32

    what a lovely idea! I don’t know who Ina Garten is (is that terrible..should I know?!) but you have inspired me to find out. That pasta dish looks delicious and I am loving the red bowl too – I have an addiction to cookware I think .I’ll look out for more Ina’s posts in the future.

  3. Cakelaw
    May 19, 2011 @ 02:49:07

    Beautiful pasta YC – and congrats on the launch of your new event.

  4. Cakewhiz
    May 19, 2011 @ 04:27:08

    That pasta looks great and your ina garden group sounds like fun….i would love to try out some of her cake and dessert recipes. I am going to consider joining too …is there a process for joining?

  5. April @ The 21st Century Housewife
    May 19, 2011 @ 04:37:25

    Your pasta looks really scrumptious. I love the addition of the turkey bacon and the peas to this recipe. Using multigrain pasta is a great idea too – for flavour and nutrition!

  6. rebeccasubbiah
    May 19, 2011 @ 05:33:51

    great dish and fun event just been watching her with sis in law

  7. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    May 19, 2011 @ 05:51:01

    I like your choice of lighter pasta with this. Great toppings. Looks gorgeous and I’m sure it tastes wonderful.

  8. Kathy
    May 19, 2011 @ 06:30:45

    Your pasta looks fabulous! And it looks so pretty in your lovely new dish!

  9. jessica
    May 19, 2011 @ 07:20:29

    My oh my this looks insanely delicious. I can just taste the flavors of the turkey bacon and peas with the cream sauce. YUMM! I didn’t get a chance to participate this time around but I look forward to next time. So glad you invited me though and thanks for visiting so I could find your amazing blog! XO
    jessica

  10. Three-Cookies
    May 19, 2011 @ 08:19:38

    The dish matches the food – especially the reddish turkey bits!

  11. spicegirlfla
    May 19, 2011 @ 08:37:42

    Looks so light and pretty! I’d love to make this for a spring luncheon. I’m a big fan of Ina’s; love all her recipes!

  12. Chaya
    May 19, 2011 @ 09:23:44

    It looks light and nutritious and yummy too.

  13. kitchen flavours
    May 19, 2011 @ 10:23:15

    Your pasta dish looks really good, I love your addition of green peas and turkey bacon, sounds delicious! I’ve made one of Ina’s pasta dish too, will link it up soon!

  14. Meri
    May 19, 2011 @ 10:27:40

    This looks great- any ideas for vegetarian subs for the turkey bacon?

  15. Laural (bhealthier)
    May 19, 2011 @ 11:30:05

    what a great idea with ina’s garden and great recipe! yummy !

  16. Liz
    May 19, 2011 @ 11:31:18

    What a lovely pasta dish….I don’t know how I missed this one in Ina’s cookbooks…but I guess this is why you’ve started this new group! I’ll try to get with the program for next month 🙂 Now off to visit more pastas~

  17. Ronda
    May 19, 2011 @ 11:47:01

    Yum!

  18. jay
    May 19, 2011 @ 11:57:39

    your recipe is toooooooo good..will surely try…thankz dear for sharing..:)

    Tasty Appetite
    Event: Letz Relishh Ice Creams

  19. sara
    May 19, 2011 @ 12:31:49

    Ooooh, gorgeous pasta! Love the addition of the peas. 🙂

  20. Cooking Gallery
    May 19, 2011 @ 13:19:13

    The pasta looks lovely…! I love the generous topping of cheese on top of the pasta, yummy…:)!!

  21. Barb
    May 19, 2011 @ 13:28:54

    If it’s pasta, I love it. I once did an interview (foodie, of course) and was asked what food would I be..um, hellOOOoooo? Pasta….

  22. foodfashionandflow
    May 19, 2011 @ 16:13:30

    This looks so delicious, especially with the peas and bacon. YUM!

  23. Peggy
    May 19, 2011 @ 17:07:31

    This pasta really does have some pizazz! Love the combo of peas and bacon!

  24. Priya Mahadevan
    May 19, 2011 @ 18:26:43

    It has a ton of pizazz for sure, mon amie :)! That is one fine looking pasta 🙂

  25. Elaine
    May 19, 2011 @ 19:17:42

    It’s such a pretty and colorful pasta!

  26. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    May 19, 2011 @ 20:52:04

    This looks delicious- I love Ina’s recipes. 🙂

  27. peggy
    May 20, 2011 @ 13:54:41

    Oh yum. This looks so delicious I wish I could have had a plate of it for lunch today instead of my bland turkey sandwich!!!

  28. Louise
    May 20, 2011 @ 18:42:21

    I learned of Chaya’s dedication to all things Ina Garten when I did a post for Ina’s birthday back in February. It’s here if you want to check it out:)

    What a GREAT idea to share recipes. Your Pasta with Pizazz looks absolutely dee..lish..ess!!!

    Thank you so much for sharing…

