ffwD: Tourteau De Chevre

HAPPY MILITARY SPOUSE APPRECIATION DAY!
My friend and sorority sister (Codename: GPL) is married to a Naval officer. I was a bridesmaid in their Disney wedding last year. Due to recent events, I can only imagine what it’s like for GPL and all the spouses faced with the uncertainty of military life. That being said, I want to honor GPL and dedicate today’s tourteau de chevre to her!The tourteau itself was easy to prepare. However, every time I make Dorie’s sweet tart dough, I always fall for the “roll out” procedure. I faithfully chill the dough for several hours and try in vain to roll it out. I have yet to succeed in obtaining one cohesive rolled out piece. I always end up piecing together the broken bits of dough and hand pressing them into the pan. Today was no exception. I think I’ll just save myself the trouble and do the hand pressing method from now on.Also, I used an 8-1/2 inch round springform pan and made the mistake of pressing the dough up to the top of pan. I didn’t realize that the batter probably wouldn’t rise that much. So for most of the baking time, I had about one inch of rather burnt dough running around the top of the pan. Oh, well. I just cut that part off after releasing the cake from the pan.Because of the goat cheese, I drizzled a bit of honey over each slice with some sliced almonds. I suppose some dried cranberries or figs would be nice as well for a different layer of sweetness and a pop of color. I really enjoyed this cake, especially the sweet tang of the goat cheese. However, I’m wondering how this would taste as a savory type appetizer. Maybe with some pesto on the side or fresh thyme, rosemary, or even chopped artichokes incorporated in the batter. Hmm. Seems I’ll be making this again because now I’m intrigued…To see how other bloggers fared with the Tourteau De Chevre, head over to French Fridays with Dorie. As usual, the recipe for this dish can be found in Dorie Greenspanโ€™s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

46 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cher
    May 06, 2011 @ 07:49:29

    Ah – looks like you never had an extra dough issue! Good save.
    As a former military spouse, I can attest that it is not an easy life & the families of our Military need every ounce of support we can give them – especially in times like this. So, hats off to GPL!

  2. Mary
    May 06, 2011 @ 07:52:11

    That looks gorgeous! I have lots and lots of baking to catch up on!

  3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    May 06, 2011 @ 08:08:39

    I love the burnt picture.:) That looks fabulous and is a really nice tribute.

  4. Three-Cookies
    May 06, 2011 @ 08:11:40

    This is a great 2 in 1 dish. Serve it as a savoury and then drizzle with honey and serve as dessert:)

  5. Jessica
    May 06, 2011 @ 08:29:11

    Yeah, I would hand-press the dough too if that happened every time.

  6. Ronda
    May 06, 2011 @ 08:47:10

    Lovely!

  7. betsy
    May 06, 2011 @ 08:51:03

    I had a hell of a time rolling this dough out too. I ended up doing a lot of hand-pressing. Next time, I’ll just press it in right away.
    Your end result looks fabulous. I like your honey and almond topping.
    I think this would be nice with a savory topping too, as it wasn’t very sweet. Nice job!

  8. Allison
    May 06, 2011 @ 09:09:54

    Cheers to your Tourteau de Chevre, the troops and their families. Lovely of you to choose to support them in your blog. And I love how you added almonds and honey… but the idea of serving this savory? Serious evil genius, my friend. You’re a serious evil genius.

  9. Yuri
    May 06, 2011 @ 09:12:16

    Your cheesecake looks lovely! I should go to the kitchen and start baking mine. Happy Friday!

  10. Eileen
    May 06, 2011 @ 09:16:47

    Looks good to me! I also had trouble with chunks of dough coming off when I tried to roll it out, but then I put plastic wrap on top, and it worked perfectly. The plastic helped it squish together instead of breaking off. Just an idea, if you haven’t already tried it.

    That’s lovely of you to honor your friend. Three cheers for GPL and her family!

  11. Kathy
    May 06, 2011 @ 09:21:53

    I have also had problems with this tart dough..I could see as I was mixing it would not hold together, so I added 1 to 2 tablespoons of ice water. Makes it much easier to roll. Your Tourteau looks fantastic!! The honey and almonds make this look awesome! Have a great week-end and Birthday!! Here’s to our Military..for a job well done!

  12. Parsley Sage
    May 06, 2011 @ 09:23:47

    Oooh! Great brain train there, Yummy! Can’t wait to see your savory version…I imagine it would be very good ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy Military Spouse Appreciation Day!

  13. Krissy
    May 06, 2011 @ 10:07:05

    Your tourteau is beautiful…same issue with mine and pressing the dough too far up the sides…maybe I should have cut some off, but no one around here knew the difference and I certainly did not tell them. I love the way you finished your tort…the honey and almonds are a perfect touch.

  14. pachecopatty
    May 06, 2011 @ 10:37:01

    I love the tourteau with the drizzle and sliced almonds, finishes it off nicely;-)
    I used the plastic wrap method to roll out the dough and I probably did use more water than Dorie called for in the recipe. Another thing I do is pat the dough into a round shape before chilling which helps get you off to a better start because you’re not fighting to make a round shape out of a square.
    Have a nice weekend;-)

  15. Monica (Ms. Hobby)
    May 06, 2011 @ 10:55:46

    Excellent tribute post! Great idea to top it with almonds and honey!

  16. ComeUndone
    May 06, 2011 @ 12:45:40

    Was it the tart dough or sweet tart dough recipe that you used? The tart dough is very easy to work with, no cracking whatsoever. Perhaps you want to give that one a try? Good looking cake!

    • yummychunklet
      May 06, 2011 @ 17:46:51

      I did use the sweet tart dough, but from some of the other comments, I might need to add just a bit of water to help the dough adhere to itself. Thanks for the suggestion, though!

  17. Barb
    May 06, 2011 @ 12:51:26

    this looks SO delish, I might be off to make it as soon as I get my computer work done (you know, in between commenting on other people’s blogs…)

  18. Summer Rose
    May 06, 2011 @ 13:50:27

    I wish i had baked this one too:-)
    Sure have to catch up with FFwd ๐Ÿ™‚
    I think i would sure have more than a fair share of burnt edges as my oven runs in HIGH and hopefully will be fixed soon ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Love how the tart looks and honey compliments it to the T.
    Happy day pal!

  19. chunklet's mom
    May 06, 2011 @ 14:51:55

    I wouldn’t have known the tart was burnt until i saw the picture. The pictures look great!

  20. sweetlife
    May 06, 2011 @ 16:46:09

    great pics..rolling sough has always been a problem for me..I also prefer to hand press..great dedication to the mspouses!!

    sweetlife

  21. Christina
    May 06, 2011 @ 18:56:31

    Your torte looks delicious! I’ll be making this the next time I need a dessert to share!

  22. Liz
    May 06, 2011 @ 19:01:00

    I have the same trouble with this dough…in the end, it looked OK, but caused some frustration ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad yours was still a success. I love your idea of a savory cake…make sure you share it with us all when you make it!

  23. kitchenarian
    May 06, 2011 @ 19:42:57

    I made mine with the savory crust. I will have to make it again using the sweet crust! Your cake looks delicious. We loved this in our house. I ate mine plain with a glass of wine. Yum!

  24. Jay
    May 06, 2011 @ 19:55:41

    awesome presentation dear…I bet it has tasted divine ..
    Tasty Appetite

  25. Tricia S.
    May 06, 2011 @ 20:19:02

    How have I not drizzled honey on this yet ? Great post and lovely photos – that top shot with the almonds is just gorgeous ! Nana and I made this together and enjoyed the results. And what a lovely idea to share the military spouse info – kudos for reminding us !

  26. Anita Menon
    May 06, 2011 @ 23:04:27

    Fabulous. God I miss baking. I can’t wait to getback to my home ( right now am at my mum’s) and start baking…

  27. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    May 06, 2011 @ 23:33:28

    This is gorgeous!!! I am so making this one soon. Maybe one day I’ll get back into the swing of FFwD. I love the sound of this, and I also love the sound of your savory version. Yum!

  28. kurinji
    May 07, 2011 @ 05:35:41

    Fantastic!
    kurinjikathambam, Event: HRH-Healthy Summer, Roundup: HRH-Puffed Rice

  29. greedy rosie
    May 07, 2011 @ 06:49:27

    Wow, that looks lovely – so fresh.

    I would agree that a touch more water will help roll out the dough, but I learned recently that it makes the dough shrink a bit – great idea to keep the pastry edges up as you bake!

  30. Peggy
    May 07, 2011 @ 08:39:32

    Great save with the crust! The toureau de chevre looks fantastic & you did such a great job with ffwD, as always! =)

  31. Simply Life
    May 07, 2011 @ 09:55:48

    oh my gosh! that looks amazing!!!

  32. Goddess Wannabe
    May 07, 2011 @ 14:31:30

    Looks lovely – goats cheese and honey. Yum!

  33. Cooking Gallery
    May 07, 2011 @ 16:43:02

    Oh yum, with goat cheese…! This sounds and looks delicious indeed :).

  34. Eva
    May 07, 2011 @ 18:38:24

    Wow, that looks completely mouthwatering!! I love the idea of a goat cheese cake, yummmmmmmm ๐Ÿ˜€

  35. Candy
    May 07, 2011 @ 19:39:05

    I meant to include a link in my blog to this nifty gadget I picked up for rolling out dough and it worked great with this one! Your tourteau looks great. We had the same thoughts about this one being sweet/savory.

  36. Cakelaw
    May 07, 2011 @ 19:46:43

    Yoor torteau looks smooth and delicious – and what a lovely dedication to your friend and her husband. I always press Dorie’s tart dough out – which is why I love it so much.

  37. Louise
    May 07, 2011 @ 20:23:57

    What a lovely post, yummy. I so wanted to post a recipe from the Military Wives Cookbook today but the day just got away from me. You might enjoy the poem I posted a while back. Here’s the link if you get a chance.

    I have never attempted to make a tourteau but I am totally intrigued by the thought of making it savory. Your idea sounds wonderful. I wish I could get up the nerve to give it try. Perhaps:)

    Thank you so much for sharing…

  38. Joyti
    May 07, 2011 @ 21:30:17

    If you hadn’t shown the picture of and mentioned that you had extra crust on top, I would have never guessed it. The tourteau looks absolutely gorgeous and sounds delectable….

  39. rebeccasubbiah
    May 08, 2011 @ 00:56:28

    wow awesome tart and great reason to make one thanks for coming to Scotland with me hugs rebecca

  40. Terra
    May 08, 2011 @ 15:38:15

    Looks gorgeous to me!!! No one would ever know your crust had to be altered;-) I finally have a schedule that will allow me make some recipes I am dying to try, YAY! I definitely want to try this recipe:-) Hugs!

  41. sara
    May 08, 2011 @ 18:48:41

    Sounds lovely! I like the idea of honey and almonds with this, yum!
    I always get lazy and do the press-in method for this dough – definitely works and is very easy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  42. Anne-Marie
    May 09, 2011 @ 06:39:57

    Really lovely, despite your dough issues!

  43. Maya
    May 09, 2011 @ 08:29:29

    I hardly roll my dough, it’s always a press-in job. Just easier and less stressful to do. Your cake looks wonderful inside (and outside), and whether it’s sweet or on the savory side, I bet it tasted delish! Also, wonderful homage to the military families. I was a military child so I know how tough it feels for everyone in the family at times, especially my parents.

  44. Trevor Sis. boom
    May 10, 2011 @ 23:28:25

    I haven’t had a lot of luck with the sweet dough. I think the sugar is browning too much and giving me problems. I stayed ‘regular’ and was quite happy not to have this too sweet. So glad I made this as I will make it again and again! I like your ideas for working up the savory version! I’ll play with that one too.

  45. Calogero Mira
    May 26, 2011 @ 09:02:06

