Baking Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars in Ina’s Garden!

For the inaugural “bake along” linky for Ina’s Garden, I chose these absolutely delicious peanut butter and jelly bars! (The recipe is posted here as well.)Special thanks to my sister (Codename: Chunklet’s mom) for recommending them to me! The bars have a nice mix of sweet and salty, crunchy and soft. The cake layer is thick enough that serving a slice with a glass of milk makes this a near perfect dessert.

As you can see, I used Skippy peanut butter with a touch of honey.

The beauty of this recipe is two-fold. First, the jelly can be any flavor you want! You can go the traditional route with grape or strawberry or try something a bit off the beaten path like me and use blackberry. Second, because peanut butter and jelly are staples in the average pantry, you’ll always have them on hand to make these bars!

I may have used a pan that was slightly smaller than what the recipe calls for because the cake part of the bars was rather thick. (Not that I’m complaining!) By the way, I lined my pan with Martha Stewart’s 2-in-1 parchment paper and aluminum foil.

The crunch of the peanut pieces scattered over the top of the bars was pretty amazing, but I suspect that the bars would be just as tasty without them. The natural energy boost from the peanut butter and peanuts makes this a perfect after activity snack. If you haven’t seen the episode of “Barefoot Contessa” where Ina makes these bars, she brings them as a snack to her friend’s daughter’s beach volleyball game. I think these bars would definitely make a great snack after a game like that.

I really enjoyed making these peanut butter and jelly bars. The kitchen smelled wonderful during the baking process, and I had to keep reminding myself not to eat all the bars so I could send some to Chunklet’s mom.

If you couldn’t join us in Ina’s Garden this week, we hope to see you on May 19th when Chaya at Bizzy B. Bakes and Comfy Cook’s Kosher Kitchen hosts the inaugural themed choose-your-own recipe linky, “Pasta with Pizazz!” Check out my post here for more details about Ina’s Garden!

I can’t wait to see everyone’s interpretation of Ina’s peanut butter and jelly bars. Make sure to link your post below in the Cookie Monster box.

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. April @ The 21st Century Housewife
    May 05, 2011 @ 02:06:42

    You PB&J Bars look really yummy! I like the idea of using the peanut butter with honey in it, we can’t get that here yet, but I bet it tastes lovely. I found these bars totally addictive – normally I’m really good and just taste a small piece, but these I keep going back to! Peanut butter isn’t that popular in England – a lot of people say they don’t like it – but everyone I’ve given these bars too – even those who profess not to like peanut butter – loves them!

  2. Three-Cookies
    May 05, 2011 @ 02:18:43

    Great choice for the maiden bake along.

  3. Maris (In Good Taste)
    May 05, 2011 @ 04:03:41

    These look so good. I love the topping! Perfect for a bake sale!

  4. Summer Rose
    May 05, 2011 @ 05:35:08

    oMG, these look so so good Yummy C that i so want to reach out for one and NOW:-)
    Will bake these soon and put them up as well as add to the linky!
    I love that u had honey in ur PB butter , i doubt thought we find it here😦
    Maybe we jus do.
    And ur jams are so fantastic too!

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    May 05, 2011 @ 05:49:26

    Way cool! It’s like gourmet pb&j!

  6. Comfy Cook
    May 05, 2011 @ 07:48:05

    What a beauty! Good job, girl. You are inspired.

  7. erica@fashionmeetsfood
    May 05, 2011 @ 08:09:47

    Yum! I love peanut butter and jelly bars. Now I am thinking these might just have to be my weekend project.

    xo

  8. Spike
    May 05, 2011 @ 08:28:43

    love this recipe! your bars look like perfection

  9. Ronda
    May 05, 2011 @ 08:32:24

    Yummy!

  10. Parsley Sage
    May 05, 2011 @ 09:05:20

    Great first recipe post for the new group! I think these bars are absolutely delicious looking. I made my own peanut butter the other day and sadly, haven’t really had any use for it. I think its time to whip up some PB&J bars🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  11. Mary
    May 05, 2011 @ 11:47:11

    I know I’d love these. They really look delicious and I love her recipes. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  12. Joyti
    May 05, 2011 @ 14:12:17

    That looks like a really great snack, or everyday sweet. I adore Ina Garten, her recipes are better than any of the other Food Network chefs…and her show is so calming and soothing…

  13. Yuri
    May 05, 2011 @ 15:01:07

    These bars look great, I love the topping🙂

  14. Simply Life
    May 05, 2011 @ 19:53:00

    Oh DELICIOUS! These look incredible!

  15. Cakelaw
    May 05, 2011 @ 21:03:44

    Yum! Count me in for some of these YC.

  16. sanyaliving
    May 05, 2011 @ 23:06:58

    They look great! I’ve always wanted to try the peanut butter jelly connection, it’s not something we do here in Oz!

  17. Anita Menon
    May 06, 2011 @ 00:20:59

    these look so tempting. An ideal 4 oclock afternoon snack. I missed the lil mouse of yours in the photograph though.

  18. chunklet's mom
    May 06, 2011 @ 00:26:07

    Thanks for sending these to me. Chunklet LOVED these! Her chicken pox are getting much better.

  19. kankana
    May 06, 2011 @ 02:11:38

    They looks so crispy yummy .. I don’t like too much sweet .. but with that peanut butter .. i am going to so enjoy it !

  20. mangocheeks
    May 06, 2011 @ 09:36:14

    We don’t have anything like this in the U.K, I’d love one right now, so woudl my husband🙂

  21. sweetlife
    May 06, 2011 @ 16:43:27

    these look insane good!! love ina!

    sweetlife

  22. Alison
    May 07, 2011 @ 11:47:56

    I love these! Thank you for posting.

  23. kitchen flavours
    May 10, 2011 @ 04:13:00

    Hi, I’ve just linked up! This bars are a winner! Really delicious! Thanks for choosing this recipe. Looking foward to the next one! Have a nice day!

  24. My Kitchen in the Rockies
    May 10, 2011 @ 07:51:32

    I own all of Ina’s books and have made countless of her recipes. They are all super yummy and easy to prepare.
    These bars are also on my long baking list. Yours look mighty good.
    Thanks. Kirsten

  25. gnashingrefined
    May 12, 2011 @ 09:26:22

    I’ve been wanting to make PB&J bars lately! This recipe looks great! mmmm gooey PB&J

