Whee! It’s May!

Why the excitement? Because it’s my BIRTHDAY MONTH, that’s why! Gone are the days where my family and friends were collected in one general area and a proper party could be planned. With everyone spread out and conflicting schedules, one specific day for celebrating is too limiting.

Besides, so many other events happen during May that my birthday can become an afterthought, even for me! For instance, the beginning of the month has everyone surprised by how quickly April went by after all the Easter and Passover preparations that I can barely catch my breath before cruising all the Cinco de Mayo parties! (I LOVE margaritas!) Then you have Mother’s Day brunches and school graduations lumped together in the middle of the month. And, finally, the end of May is spent gearing up for grilling season and Memorial Day festivities. Add the fact that May weather gets warmer and coaxes everyone outside for last-minute cookouts and get togethers, my birthday is left desperately competing for attention!

So, instead of fruitlessly earmarking one day, I’m spreading the love and taking ALL THIRTY-ONE DAYS of May to celebrate my birthday! This just means doing a little something special for myself every day of the month, and the treat doesn’t have to involve spending money. For instance:

*May 1st–I went to The Body Shop and redeemed my free birthday gift for this Vitamin E face mist!I absolutely love this stuff because it is refreshing, cooling, and helps set my Chanel Double Perfection foundation properly.

*May 2nd–I made my own strawberry compote with almonds for dessert!I sliced a half pint of strawberries and cooked them in Grand Marnier, lemon juice, sugar, ground cardamom, and cinnamon. It smelled absolutely wonderful.I’ll keep you updated periodically during the month to let you know what treats I have in store. I highly recommend celebrating your next birthday for the entire month. And I invite you to offer suggestions for small “treats” as well. Because turning one year older shouldn’t be a downer. It should be celebrated! All month long!

Also, as a reminder, this Thursday, May 5th is the inaugural Ina’s Garden “cook along” recipe Peanut Butter & Jelly Bars! I hope you can bake these treats and link up your results on Thursday! The recipe is posted on my blog here and on Food Network’s site here.

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. GPL
    May 02, 2011 @ 20:18:51

    Yay for Birthdays!!! I def need to do the whole month as mine often gets lost in the mix too!

    Also, the Friday before Mother’s Day (this year May 6) is Military Spouse Appreciation Day, don’t forget that one too🙂

  2. Ronda
    May 02, 2011 @ 20:35:14

    Well Happy Birthday! Have a fun month!

  3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    May 02, 2011 @ 20:43:00

    Cardamom and cinnamon, very nice. Looks like you’re in for a wonderful month. And happy birthday!

  4. Yuri
    May 02, 2011 @ 20:48:24

    When is your bday? I wrote a post about this earlier today, its my bday month too😀 woohoo! Love your idea of celebrating every single day. I should do it too!

  5. Anita Menon
    May 02, 2011 @ 20:59:09

    It is such a super idea. I am almost jealous, why I did not think of it first!! With my birthday gone, a few days ago, I feel I’ll have to wait an entire year to try this sort of fun thing.
    When is your birthday? cannot wait to see what else you plan to do the entire month!

  6. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    May 02, 2011 @ 21:58:07

    Yea for celebrating birthdays all month long — my mom has this tradition!

    You used my favorite spice, yummy cardamon.

  7. Angela
    May 02, 2011 @ 22:06:12

    I knew you were brilliant, but this is a truly inspirational idea!

  8. Jessica
    May 02, 2011 @ 22:10:10

    May also comes with graduations and school getting out!

  9. Chaya
    May 02, 2011 @ 22:26:58

    I love the idea of taking a month to celebrate your birthday. Why didn’t you tell me this a month ago when I had mine. Some friend.🙂

  10. Allison
    May 02, 2011 @ 22:35:21

    Happy Happy Happy Birthday Supergirl! I’m all for stretching out your birthday for as long as possible. Once I stretched out the festivities for three months. Genius.

  11. Denise @ There's a Newf in My Soup!
    May 02, 2011 @ 23:14:01

    Happy Birthday Month! A day of junking at thrift stores for blogalicious props is always fun, cocktails with the girls, pedicure and foot massage, special bottle of wine, betting $10 to win on a longshot in the Derby, playing hookie from work…

  12. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    May 02, 2011 @ 23:26:09

    Happy Birthday, all month long!🙂 Your strawberry compote is a delicious treat. I’m looking forward to seeing how you treat yourself the rest of the month! Birthdays are fun.🙂

  13. Maya@Foodiva's Kitchen
    May 02, 2011 @ 23:55:18

    Happy, Happy Birthday! Hope you’ll have a wonderful celebration all month long. For my birthday once, someone gave me one little gift or treat each day to mark every year since I was born. Of course, that ceased to work once I went past my 31st birthday…LOL.

  14. Little Inbox
    May 02, 2011 @ 23:57:36

    Happy birthday to you!🙂

  15. Cakelaw
    May 03, 2011 @ 02:28:45

    Happy birthday month! Looks like it will be a good one.

  16. mangocheeks
    May 03, 2011 @ 02:33:47

    Happy Birthday month – what a wonderful way to keep your spirits up and share the warmth.

  17. NN
    May 03, 2011 @ 08:54:59

    Happy birthmonth!!

    May is also the month to celebrate right knee surgeries!!

  18. Peggy
    May 03, 2011 @ 09:20:38

    Yeah, I’m all about celebrating the whole month for birthdays! You gotta make the most of those 31 days! =)

    And those PB&J bars looks stellar… I think I know what I’ll be doing today.

  19. Liz
    May 03, 2011 @ 09:45:47

    What a great way to celebrate your birthday month! I LOVE it🙂 I think I’ll celebrate your birthday with that yummy strawberry compote~

  20. sweetlife
    May 03, 2011 @ 11:22:41

    good for you, take the whole month to celebrate YOU!! HAppybday…perfect post!

    sweetlife

    have I told you I LOVE your blog name!

  21. Cher
    May 03, 2011 @ 12:05:13

    Happy Birthday month… I have The Runner Girl celebrating her 17th this month – I am sure she wishes we could celebrate every day!
    One of our “free treats” is to satisfy a curiousity (for example, we will go take a random drive and turn down a road we have never been down just to see where it goes or stop at one of those places “we always drive by” – even if you get lost, it’s jolly fun!).

  22. Priya Mahadevan
    May 03, 2011 @ 12:35:17

    what a great way to kick start your b’day month🙂 May represents Spring in all its blooming glory🙂 Have a blast dear and the compote is droolicious🙂

  23. Brownieville Girl
    May 03, 2011 @ 14:50:06

    Happy Birthday!

    Nummy birthday treat🙂

  24. Meri
    May 03, 2011 @ 15:21:54

    I’m a huge fan of extending birthdays out for as much celebration as possible! Happy Birthmonth! I want to make the strawberries and almonds, yummy combo of spices!

  25. Ameena
    May 03, 2011 @ 15:34:14

    I can barely get my hubby and kid to give me a break on my actual birthday – I can’t imagine them celebrating for an entire month! I love the idea though – so cute.

    Happy Birthday in advance!

  26. Maris (In Good Taste)
    May 03, 2011 @ 16:03:47

    I can see May is going to be a great month for you! I love that you celebrate the whole month!

  27. Ryan
    May 03, 2011 @ 16:56:56

    Happy Birthday Month!!! I think that’s a fantastic idea to treat yourself and hope you have a wonderful time celebrating!!! My birthday was in April and its nice to have a spring birthday. I’ll be thinking about ideas for good birthday treats but looks like you’re off to a fun start!

  28. Parsley Sage
    May 03, 2011 @ 20:30:43

    31 days of birthday awesomeness? That’s a fantastic idea! Little pressies all month long is going to be so much fun. Well done for the 1st and 2nd…can’t wait to see what other little treats you have in store. If I think of something spectacular, I’ll definitely pass it along🙂 Happy B-day Month!

  29. Kim- Liv Life
    May 03, 2011 @ 22:37:13

    Happy birthday month! I kind of like adult birthdays where you get to celebrate a couple of times rather than all at one party. Works for me!
    And the strawberry treat? That works too!!
    Thanks for the Ina reminder! I don’t think I’ll get this one done this week, life is somehow getting in the way of my blogging! But I’ll keep an eye out for the next!!

  30. chunklet's mom
    May 04, 2011 @ 02:22:25

    Thanks for getting me the face mist this weekend too! Your strawberries look wonderful!

  31. rebeccasubbiah
    May 04, 2011 @ 05:20:43

    love it little treats everyday happy birthday

  32. Trix
    May 04, 2011 @ 07:28:20

    Girl, I like the way you think! Happy birthday month – this September, I think I am going to take a page out of your book for sure!

  33. Quay Po Cooks
    May 04, 2011 @ 09:38:58

    Oh Yes, celebrate the whole month of May! Have a blast! Happy Birthday 31 times to you!! HUGZZ!! Those strawberries looks lip smacking! May I have some too?

  34. Miss Anthropist
    May 04, 2011 @ 10:55:40

    Haha celebrating all the days of May? Awesome idea! Hope you have a wonderful birthmonth ;D

  35. Barb
    May 04, 2011 @ 15:17:07

    Happy Bday Month! I love cardamom….in just about everything and it sounds lovely in strawberry compote…so lovely that I think I am going to go right away and make some with the remaining strawberries (more to come from farmers’ mkt on Sat.)

  36. Simply Life
    May 04, 2011 @ 16:32:55

    happy birthday month! =)

  37. Mary
    May 04, 2011 @ 17:19:23

    Yay for birthday months! It’s mine too, and it usually falls on the long weekend where we officially celebrate Queen Victoria’s birthday. I like to go to the Tulip Festival and I always make myself a fabulous cake. I plan to find a gym this month and get a manicure, but I’m all for treating myself every day. Great idea!

  38. Kathy
    May 04, 2011 @ 20:29:11

    Happy, Happy Birthday month!! May is a wonderful month for birthdays!! My two grandsons and my very special aunt share your birthday month. Enjoy and celebrate every day of your month!!

  39. Audrey Ellen @ My Scene and Herd
    May 08, 2011 @ 13:36:00

    This looks like such a fresh summer dessert. My dad used to make a recipe similar to this, only much less gourmet, to pour over waffles and pancakes.

  40. Trackback: Month-long Birthday Celebration: FIRST WEEK! « Yummy Chunklet
