Come Join Us in Ina’s Garden!

Remember when I said that something involving Ina Garten’s recipes was in the works? (Read here.) Well, I’m excited to announce the formation of a great new cooking and baking group called “Ina’s Garden“!

Several food bloggers, including myself, Chaya of Comfy Cook’s Kosher Kitchen and Bizzy B Bakes, April of The 21s Century Housewife and The 21st Century Housewife’s Kitchen, Louanne of Louanne’s Kitchen, Mia of Bright Morning Star, and Peggy of Pantry Revisted thought that proper reverence should be paid to the fabulous, effortless, and laid back style that is quintessential to Ina Garten!

Members of Ina’s Garden will post twice a month on every first and third Thursday starting in May. The first Thursday will be a recipe we all bake together with the recipe posted on that host’s site. The third Thursday will be a themed post, where we give you the theme and you choose (and make!) an Ina recipe that you decide best fits that week’s theme. This allows room for more creativity, expression, and accessibility to seasonal foods, since we hope our members will be worldwide! How easy is that?

To kick things off, all six of us have made Ina’s Orange Pound Cake. Here’s a look at my attempt:

All the hosts and I have linked our experiences with the Orange Pound Cake in the link below. (It’s that Cookie Monster looking box after the posted recipe below.) If you have time, we’d love for you to make the pound cake and link your experience as well! The recipe for Ina’s Orange Pound Cake can be found on Mia’s blog. Also, since we’re starting off, if you have another one of Ina’s recipes you’ve made before and posted about, feel free to link it up on this week’s link up only. All the hosts are posting this link up box on their sites, so linking up to one host site will automatically link up on the other five host sites. This gives you the opportunity to share your blog with lots of new readers! Ina’s Orange Pound Cake link up will be open until May 3rd so you have loads of time to join in the orange-y cake-y goodness!

There is no posting requirement, so join us in Ina’s Garden whenever you can and feel free to copy and paste the badge at the top of this post to include on your blog and future Ina’s Garden posts! The six hosts of Ina’s Garden hope that this group will go hand-in-hand with Ina’s sense of entertaining, friends and fun. If you can’t squeeze this yummy cake in this time around, make sure to join us for the inaugural first Thursday recipe on May 5th, which will be hosted by me (yay!) and featuring Ina’s Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars! We’ll see you and your peanut butter and jelly bars on May 5th!

Ina Garten’s Peanut Butter & Jelly Bars (adapted from foodnetwork.com)
Ingredients
* 1/2 pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
* 1 1/2 cups sugar
* 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
* 2 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
* 2 cups (18 ounces) creamy peanut butter (recommended: Skippy)
* 3 cups all-purpose flour
* 1 teaspoon baking powder
* 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
* 1 1/2 cups (18 ounces) raspberry jam or other jam
* 2/3 cups salted peanuts, coarsely chopped

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9 by 13 by 2-inch cake pan. Line it with parchment paper, then grease and flour the pan.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar on medium speed until light yellow, about 2 minutes. With the mixer on low speed, add the vanilla, eggs, and peanut butter and mix until all ingredients are combined.

In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt. With the mixer on low speed, slowly add the flour mixture to the peanut butter mixture. Mix just until combined.

Spread 2/3 of the dough into the prepared cake pan and spread over the bottom with a knife or offset spatula. Spread the jam evenly over the dough. Drop small globs of the remaining dough evenly over the jam. Don’t worry if all the jam isn’t covered; it will spread in the oven. Sprinkle with chopped peanuts and bake for 45 minutes, until golden brown. Cool and cut into squares.

Let’s see all those Orange Pound Cakes!

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cakelaw
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 06:33:43

    The cake looks glorious, but I am so in for the pbaj bars!

  2. peggy
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 07:09:28

    Great job! I love that you had a pretty rectangle plate to present yours in. Can’t wait to try the PB&J bars next month! Very excited about our new group.

  3. Spike
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 07:38:59

    I love Ina’s recipes (just made those PB&J bars!). I’ll keep an eye on your list and join you all when I can.

  4. Priya Mahadevan
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 07:56:45

    I would love to have joined you for 2 reasons -I am learning to bake more and more now and any chance at this I would plump for and the fact that my nephew used to call my mama (his grandma) Ina for some odd reason that is surely an event I would be a part of – But, May promises to be a mad month for me with endless family visits and my own personal goal to lose 10 lb before I cook like billy-oh for my visitors and put it all back on!! So the orange cake at the moment, and yours looks quite irresistible I’ll say, is a no no for me. I will eat with my eyes🙂 but will join you the next time around
    Also That idli mold is a steamer – have never used it to bake — hmm you’re seeding new ideas in my brain –

  5. Ronda
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 08:51:15

    Oh…that looks very good. I love Ina!

  6. Parsley Sage
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 09:27:00

    Oooh…I’m tempted to hop on board with you! This pound cake is quite the convincer🙂 Looks lovely! Can’t wait to see what all you have in store

  7. Mary
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 09:46:20

    Your cake looks terrific and the group will have a fabulous time with Ina’s recipes. She is hard to beat. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  8. Summer Rose
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 10:02:21

    Yummy C , ur cake looks fantastic and im so missing a bite right now….
    Am so excited with this first post too and so looking forward to the Pb jelly bars though i think im gng to have to sub a bit there.
    And boy that home made cottage cheese with creamed spinach is totally making me soooo hungry right now…

  9. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 10:16:59

    I love this idea! How fun is the blogger community.

  10. Liz
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 11:43:15

    Oh, gosh, I may have to join!!! I adore Ina!

    I’ve tagged you on my latest blog post🙂

  11. Serene
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 12:08:41

    Oh, man. Do I need another blog commitment? And could you guys have picked a more momfoodish thing than PB&J? Oh, man.

    Ummmmmmm…

    Okay, question, to help me decide. Are we getting her permission to post her recipes, or sticking with ones she’s already posted to the web herself? Or are we posting her stuff willy-nilly? That could make up my mind for me.

  12. AMInyc
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 12:13:13

    Oh, I would love to join in!

  13. torviewtoronto
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 16:57:57

    delicious would be wonderful with the jam

  14. Kankana
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 18:43:05

    I totally love her show. She is so down to earth and her recipes are so simple and flavorful.🙂 Looking forward to see more of her recipes from you!

  15. Cher
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 19:43:32

    Best wishes & happy cooking! I have rarely had an Ina go wrong in the kitchen, for sure…

  16. Meri
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 20:42:40

    Mmmmm, I LOVE orange flavoring! This looks delicious, I fear it will not turn out right if I try! But I might!

  17. Angela
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 21:43:40

    What a cool idea! That sounds like lots of fun.

  18. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 22:07:26

    What a fun group! I love Ina’s recipes, and I also love watching her show. I’ll try to join in when I am able to. This cake looks delicious!🙂

  19. chunklet's mom
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 22:27:06

    The pound cake looks so yummy. I just love pound cake, but would be a little afraid to try the orange pound cake because i think i would get tired of it quickly. I guess that is what sharing is for😉

  20. MegSmith @ Cooking.In.College
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 22:42:12

    I just made Ina Garten’s lemon cake. It was SO good. This orange pound cake sounds fabulous.

  21. claire
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 09:11:22

    oh my! i would love to join you all next time if you have room!

  22. sanyaliving
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 05:38:26

    Sounds great! I myself have heard about her, but she isn’t really known here in Australia and her books aren’t readily available. I’ve wanted to try her recipes and what a perfect opportunity you’ve opened up for us! Looking forward to participating!

  23. Elaine
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 09:59:18

    Oh, I love Ina and her recipes! I would love to join in as often as I can. How wonderful of y’all to put this together! Thank you!

  24. Trackback: Whee! It’s May! « Yummy Chunklet
  25. Trackback: Baking Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars in Ina’s Garden! « Yummy Chunklet
  26. Trackback: Making tabbouleh in Ina’s Garden! « Yummy Chunklet
