Other Bloggers’ Food

The beauty of having several food blogs in my Google Reader is that there’s always a recipe that piques my interest waiting to be made. I’m never without choices! However, this also presents a problem. The list of starred items I have grows faster and larger by the day! Because, as most busy bloggers know, there’s only so much time in the day that can be spent cooking and baking.

Despite this, I made two recipes tonight that I’ve been itching to try. The first was nutty hamburgers inspired by Chaya at Bizzy B. Bakes. The idea of finely chopped nuts in a burger sounded interesting. But, I tweaked the recipe just a bit to accommodate things I already had in stock. For instance, instead of just finely chopped walnuts, I used mixed nuts, including walnuts, almonds, hazelnuts, peanuts and pecans. Instead of Worcestershire, I used Teriyaki sauce. I also used half a white onion and cherry tomatoes leftover from this weekend’s chicken cacciatore. And, because I’m Filipino, I had to add the random assortment of seasonings, including MSG.

These nutty hamburgers were so tasty! I love the taste and texture the chopped nuts added to the meat. It was quite delicious. My sister (Codename: Psychology Gamer) enjoyed these burgers and had one and a half for dinner! I ended up eating mine without a bun and a side of cherry tomatoes (before they became more wrinkly).

It's my nutty hamburger & cherry tomato "claw"

I also made Fruity Pebbles treats inspired by Lindsey at Gingerbread Bagels. I’ve been missing Chunklet and Chunklet’s sister lately, so I thought it would be fun to send them some colorful treats! They might be too young to eat these right now, but I know Chunklet’s mom has absolutely no problem helping because Fruity Pebbles is basically her favorite cereal!

These treats turned out a bit more marshmallow-y than normal because I’ve had the box of Fruity Pebbles for about a week, and Psychology Gamer has eaten a couple of bowlfuls for breakfast. Even though I had less than the full amount of cereal, I still used the full amount of marshmallows. That works, right?

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anita Menon
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 23:24:56

    The burger looks great. Would try a veggie version with nuts. I like mine with the bread.

  2. Jessica
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 01:07:08

    Did you have to use any salt in those burgers? I bet with those nuts, teriyaki sauce, and MSG you didn’t have to. Fruity Pebbles are so good; putting them in a marshmallow treat sounds like a good idea.

  3. Andrew
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 01:20:12

    I wonder what it would have tasted like with the Worcestershire, substituting Teryaki sauce was a good idea. I probably would have added Habenaro sauce if Jessica wouldn’t be eating it.

  4. Three-Cookies
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 01:44:00

    I have never heard of a burger with nuts, sounds interesting.

  5. tinytearoom
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 03:38:44

    ooh. how interesting. I’d love to give this recipe a go. I yet yo be 100% satisfied with the burgers that I have made. This looks good.

  6. Cher
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 07:06:18

    Ok, the marshmallow treats look a little psychedelic, but fun!

  7. Yuri
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 07:29:48

    That burger tomato claw made me laugh😀 can u believe I’ve NEVER made rice crispy treats [or fruity pebbles treats :p]

  8. Louise
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 07:33:13

    My list of “someday” recipes has grown too. Time, time, time. I’m thinking I might need to add this post too. I’d LOVE to try those “nutty” burgers. The marshmallow treats not so much but I know a couple of grandkids that would LOVE them!!!

    Thank you so much for sharing, Yummy:)

  9. Yuri
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 07:40:20

    I just left a comment but it dissapeared o_o I was saying that the burger tomato claw looks funny and that I’ve never made rice crispy [or fruity pebbles] treats. They look great!

  10. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 09:14:59

    I love finding inspiration in other foodies. That is how I have found some of my favorite dishes and desserts.

  11. gingerbreadbagels
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 09:51:36

    I’m so happy to see you made my Fruity Pebbles treats! Yours look wonderful.🙂 I have so many recipes that I want to make from other bloggers and my list keeps growing and growing!

  12. Spike
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 10:23:50

    extra marshmallows sound perfect! Nice and gooey

  13. Meri
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 14:44:01

    Fun food! I like to make shapes or designs with my food too (especially if I’m making it for someone else, but sometimes just my own food). I had grand plans to make lucky charms bars for St. Patrick’s Day, but got “busy” or something. Probably blogging haha!
    I just love your blog name, I had to come see what it was all about! Now I’m glad I did.
    Cheers!
    Meri

  14. Ker-Yng
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 17:39:30

    I had long given up bookmarking or marking recipes, lol! The nutty burger sounds interesting, thanks for sharing!

  15. Kim - Liv Life
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 17:49:11

    I know what you mean!! I have a pile of recipes that I’ve printed out that grows by the day, along with my husband’s complaint that it keeps falling onto the floor. One day I’m actually going to organize it!
    Love those fruity pebbles treats, those would not last long in our house!

  16. Angela
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 18:34:45

    Both look very tasty.

  17. Laural (bhealthier)
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 21:08:47

    nuts in a burger?!?! omg, i bet it works and that “claw” is hilariously perfect!

    I think I need to purchase fruity pebbles. I have no kids to give the treats to though. Is that okay? I should find some somewhere… haha.

  18. Ryan
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 21:14:37

    Great post! I love both of the recipes you chose. I’ve never had nuts as a mix-in for hamburgers but I bet its delicious. It sounds like it would be so flavorful! And, yum, who doesn’t love any kind or rice krispie treat? Those look so good, I need to go buy some Fruity Pebbles!

  19. Mary
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 00:56:16

    These are both great recipes. The burger especially sounds delicious. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  20. Kankana
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 01:14:06

    beautiful recipes. I would probably ate the burger like you with cherry tomatoes🙂 The addition of nuts sounds great .. very rich!

  21. Jay
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 01:23:15

    Looks utterly yummy…great clicks..
    stop over n collect an award plz..
    Tasty Appetite

  22. mangocheeks
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 01:52:01

    The fruity pebbles look like a rainbo in a bar.

  23. mangocheeks
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 01:53:19

    Whoops shoud be ‘rainbow’ now rainbo 🙂

  24. Cakelaw
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 05:38:04

    I am loving both recipes. The pebbles are so pretty and the burgers look tasty. I will borrow the burger recipe I think for Johanna’s nut roast event.

  25. Elaine
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 09:11:56

    I really enjoy making some of the recipes that I have discovered on some of our FFwDer and BAKED sites and my stack of recipes is growing by the day! These both look great!

  26. chunklet's mom
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 18:47:30

    I will enjoy these immensely when my package comes in.

