ffwD: Scallops with Orange-Caramel Sauce

See what I did there? I put scallops in my scallop dish! Ha! What can I say? I love scallops! They’re so delicious, sweet, and delicate. Yet they hold up during cooking instead of flaking apart.

The highlight of this week’s ffwD dish was the orange-caramel sauce. My sauce had a liquidy consistency, but I was expecting it to have a little more viscosity. To remedy that, I waited a bit to allow the sauce to firm up, and it became slightly thicker, which I like.

I will admit that I used a bit more orange juice (out of the carton) to compensate for the fact that I did not use freshly squeezed oranges, nor did I include any orange zest. I’m not sure why I have an aversion to zesting my citrus fruits. It could be that I don’t have a zester. But, then again, I’ve never seen the need to buy a zester. So, the question is, should I buy one? I suppose if I do, I can make this dish again to see if the sauce tastes differently! Because, as you know, I love scallops!

Check out other bloggers’ thoughts and results on scallops with orange-caramel sauce at French Fridays with Dorie. As usual, the recipe for this dish can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

46 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 00:37:24

    Nah, don’t buy a zester. You can accomplish the same thing with other kitchen tools. Nice scallop-dish touch.

  2. Andrew
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 00:48:09

    I wouldn’t get a zester either, but it’s possible it would be a nice edition to your kitchen if you make a lot of dishes that require it. The dish looks like it turned out well!

  3. Allison
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 00:50:41

    I love your dish! And your scallops look gorgeous! I agree w/Jessica & Andrew. A fine grater will work fine. And if it’s one of those plane graters the zest will collect in the scoop and it’s easy to deal with!

  4. Cakelaw
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 01:14:51

    Wow, your scallops look grogeous – just like the ones in the book! I also adore your scallop dish.

  5. Yuri
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 01:24:35

    I love that serving dish! I also served mine in a shell 🙂 this sauce was good, wasn’t it?

  6. Liz
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 05:22:54

    Love your scallops in the scallop dish 🙂 Definitely buy a zester…I use my rasp quite a bit…zest really gives a more intense citrus flavor.

  7. sanyaliving
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 05:49:05

    I love scallops too! Especially when they’re hot and straight off the pan!
    Great photos!

  8. betsy
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 06:18:35

    Your scallops look so cute in the scallop dish! I use a Microplane for zesting, and a million other things. I vote that you should buy one.

  9. Cher
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 07:19:28

    Ha. Scallops on the scallop.
    Definitely would recommend a micro-plane over a zester. I use mine to zest, grate & shred (cheeses, nutmeg, carrots, onions, garlic, you name it) and a million other things. It is definitely a multi purpose tool & easier to clean than than a big ‘ol box grater or the food processor.

  10. Mary
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 07:47:51

    Your scallops look wonderful. The sauce especially looks delicious. I hope you have a good day. Blessings…Mary

  11. Kathy
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 08:11:59

    Great photos…your scallops look amazing! Love your scallop dish! I love scallops, too!

  12. Sarah
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 08:50:47

    So, after reading your post and all the comments I’m wondering if everyone really enjoyed the dish. There are no comments about how good it tastes. Although I agree with everyone about your dish and the microplane. Unless you’re using peel for decoration, I don’t think there’s any point in investing in a zester!

    • yummychunklet
      Mar 25, 2011 @ 09:34:05

      It’s funny that you mention it because after I hit “Publish”, I realized that I didn’t really say if I liked the sauce. Hmm…the sauce was good and different, but I really enjoyed the dish because of the scallops. So, I’m wondering if this sauce would work well with a white fish of some sort. That way, I can see if I do truly enjoy the sauce. I’ll have to try this again! And, with the actual citrus zest this time!

  13. slongcoat
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 09:44:09

    Haha–I love your dish!

  14. SoupAddict
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 09:47:24

    @Sarah: I made a slightly different sauce, and it was good – very nice drizzled atop the scallop salad I served. But, this kind of thing is a bit fussy for my tastes – for special events, not everyday (or even weekend) cooking.

  15. Stephirey
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 09:49:45

    Love the scallops in the scallop dish! I actually used my vegetable peeler to zest my orange to make the candied zest to go on top. Worked like a charm (although I love my zester too!) I think this sauce would be great on chicken also!

  16. Adriana
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 10:02:31

    I reduced the sauce maybe for a bit longer than what was suggested before adding the little pats of butter. It definitely did not yield the 1/3 cup as suggested by the book. Love the scallop dish! As for the zester, I get a lot of use from my microplane. I just made sure to buy it the cheapest I could!

  17. Steph@stephsbitebybite
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 10:08:16

    How cute is that scallop dish!!! I had to wait a little for my suace to thicken too, then I found myself it straight from the spoon 😉 Loved it!

  18. Candy
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 10:48:43

    Love the scallop dish! I love zesting citrus and use my microplane for it (and bunches of other stuff too). Loved this one.

  19. Ronda
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 11:06:25

    Zesting is good, but I am sure these where great. I did not manage to participate again this week, but I am feeling much better so next week I will.

  20. Spike
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 11:34:36

    I love the scallop in its dish! I had scallops early in the week but with a different recipe. I’ll take scallops any way I can get them!

  21. Monica (Ms. Hobby)
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 12:00:17

    I had the same problem with the sauce being more liquidy than I expected, but the taste was amazing. I think you should go for a zester. I have a microplane zester. It works great, and I also love to use it for very finely grated cheese.

  22. Flourchild
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 12:32:21

    I had to miss this one..no time to spare..It sure looks good:)

  23. ComeUndone
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 12:58:08

    Agree with everyone on microplane. It’s one of the most versatile tool in my kitchen. The scallops look juicy and the caramelization is good. Great work!

  24. Krissy
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 14:10:52

    No! No! No! A zester is much different than a microplane and can be used for multiple functions like running down a cucumber to make pretty scoring lines or making long stringy anything, etc. For this recipe we are not after a micro grated peel, but the longer stringy pieces that look pretty across the top of the food. Zesters are inexpensive and super fast and easy. But…most fruit shipped around has been waxed so when you zest or microplane you are also getting all that wax…GROSS. And older fruit does not have great zest. So, if you can get fresh, untreated fruit, then go for the zester!

  25. Renee
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 15:28:40

    Gorgeous scallops!! Don’t get a zester until you desperately need one. I have one and rarely use it. I’m finding I don’t love zest in things even though it’s in tons of recipes.

  26. Candy (Dulce)
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 15:32:25

    Adorable!! They look great!

    I didn’t reduce my sauce as much as I would have liked, and I didn’t make the candied zest. I wish I would have. Hopefully I’ll get around to making again.

    maybe some confusion?: to make the “zest” that Dorie talks about, you would take off the orange part of the peel (the zest), and then cut it into strips (or you could use a classic zester if it’s the right size). BUT, I agree with the others, to zest your citrus in the usual sense, I totally adore my microplane grater (loved my zester until I tried it). It’s one of the things I buy people as gifts. Great for many, many things. Just depends on the size of pieces that you want.

    You really aren’t going wrong though – you photos look amazing, and I’m sure you dish was wonderful.

  27. claire
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 15:48:50

    mmmm.. I love scallops as well! gorgeous photos!

    They look amazing!

  28. RadioDiva
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 16:41:31

    Perfecto! Looks amazing, YC!! Keep up the good work!! =)

  29. kitchenarian
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 17:15:49

    What a beautiful job! I love your dish.

  30. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 17:45:01

    These look great, especially in your cute scallop dish! I have some scallops in the freezer and will have to make this asap!

  31. Kankana
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 18:16:31

    I too love Scallops and can never get enough of those 🙂 I didn’t know about ffw, thanks for sharing!

  32. Anne-Marie
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 18:39:25

    Miz Chunklet, you’ve unleashed a raging debate, microplaner vs. zester! And your scallops look wonderful. I love the shell plate. So perfect!

  33. torviewtoronto
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 19:18:14

    haven’t made like this looks wonderful

  34. Denise @ There's a Newf in My Soup!
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 19:32:26

    I’ve got you on this one…scallops in scallop shells, on a scallop dish 😉
    However, your dish is cuter

  35. Ryan
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 20:21:18

    Beautiful scallops and great post.. and very cute dish!! I feel sad that I didn’t participate in this weeks recipe but I love that you got us all in a good conversation on the zester issue. Ha, is that a topic that only true kitchen lover’s could get into with relish or what? I vote for the microplane. Its something I use all of the time, costs less than $20 (use a coupon at BB&B) and I use mine to zest citrus, grate Parmesan, and other hard cheeses, chocolate, etc. It was worth every cent and is one of my favorite kitchen tools. I used to hate zesting citrus before I got my microplane but it makes it so easy.

  36. Ker-Yng
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 00:12:50

    Good job on your scallops and your plate is cute! Have you decided on getting a zester? 🙂 I like my microplane to finely grate hard cheese and to zest citrus – it produces more zest than a regular hand grater. I would use the zester to get decorative citrus peels.

  37. chunklet's mom
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 02:06:24

    Ah! I almost bought a zester to put in your package the other day. Okay, only thought about getting it because the handle was purple. I will expect this to be the first meal you make for me when I come to visit. Look delicious!

  38. Tricia S.
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 09:19:02

    What a pretty dish- I agree with all the lovely comments on your photo ! I thought is was so great that you asked the group about the microlane vs. zester because it opened so many great comments. I have both tucked away somewhere (ok, I am a gadget gal if you haven’t figured it out…I can just never remember to use them !) but had no idea of all the different uses. Great job. And love that “Chunklet’s Mom” posts. Adorable !!

  39. Trevor Sis Boom
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 18:08:46

    Love the bowl and I would have put them in there too! But PLEASE get a zester. I prefer a mico plane and I can’t live without it. Hyperbole much? lol.

  40. Elaine
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 18:41:51

    These look beautiful and delicious! I LOVE your dish. 🙂

  41. Comfy Cook
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 21:40:06

    Whether you get a zester or another tool that zests, I would get one. It is not hard to use and I love the rich flavor zest adds, especially if you do it, Dorie’s way, rubbing it into the chicken.

  42. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 21:58:47

    Oh my goodness, I am watching a cooking show on PBS right now where they are making scallops with an orange sauce. Craziness! I will take that as an omen to make some.

  43. sara
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 21:23:44

    I love that dish! So cute to serve scallops in it! Your scallops look lovely. 🙂

  44. Louise
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 07:48:38

    I LOVE scallops!!! Yours look delicious!!! I bought my first zester just a few weeks ago. It wasn’t expensive and I must admit, it does give me just the right amount of zest to to include more citrusy foods in my cooking. Also, it works great for when I want to candy the peels. When you have a few extra pennies, I think you should buy one:)

    Thanks for sharing, yummy:)

  45. Trackback: ffwD: Bistrot Paul Bert Pepper Steak « Yummy Chunklet
