Weekend Food

I feel like I’ve been a baking fiend this weekend with almost nothing to show for it. You see, my mother and my aunt were supposed to drive into Chicago on Saturday, bringing Chunklet and Chunklet’s sister in tow. However, for a plethora of random happenstances and circumstances, the ultimate departure date kept getting pushed back. When I expected them Saturday, I made a (double) batch of Dorie Greenspan’s almond cream and sweet tart dough for Mandarin orange almond tarts and prepared sugar cookie dough to chill overnight. When Saturday rolled around and no arrival occurred, I made Dorie’s almond scones to freeze for a hopeful Sunday arrival and brunch. I called my mother Sunday morning, and upon hearing that the Oscars were that night, she just couldn’t leave then, so I baked the sugar cookies with the intention of decorating them after work on Monday. As of Sunday evening, the plan is for everyone to depart mid-morning Monday. We’ll see if this occurs.

In sum, I have the makings for mandarin orange almond tarts at the ready, frozen almond scones, and cookies that await icing. As such, I was longing to actually bake something through to the end. After I perused my cupboards and found some packages of yeast that I bought awhile ago, I searched my Google Reader of starred posts. Lo and behold, I found One Perfect Bite’s recipe for rue tatin sweet crescent rolls. I was excited about making these rolls because the recipe looked simple enough and the rolls looked so good! (My rolls don’t do the recipe justice. Make sure to head over to One Perfect Bite to see foodgawker-worthy photos!)

I was also a bit nervous about making these rolls because I’ve never worked with yeast before, probably because I don’t own a free-standing mixer or a dough hook. After using my hand-held mixer, the dough came together well enough, but it did get caught up in the beaters, so I had to use my fingers to pull that dough out and hand knead an extra 30 seconds to actually form one cohesive ball.

After my entire weekend of almost-finished baked goods, I was so ready to pop these into the oven. Little did I realize I had to wait another two hours for the dough to rise and then another four after I rolled the dough into crescent shapes! Gah! But, it was worth the wait because these rolls were just a hint of sweet and very yummy.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Three-Cookies
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 08:52:09

    You made them and they turned out well, awesome

  2. Cher
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 09:40:39

    You crossed over the the yeast side! Yeah! I saw this recipe on Mary’s site and thought it looked wonderful. Glad to hear the results worked well for you.
    Oh, I would love to have some more of those orange-almond tarts. I dream about that recipe.

  3. Ronda
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 10:21:28

    Oh, I wanted to make this too! They look great!

  4. Liz
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 11:20:29

    I’ve been eying this recipe, too…yours are picture perfect!

  5. Ker-Yng
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 11:24:13

    Your rolls look great! Your guests are going to enjoy them and the tart and the scones and the cookies!!πŸ™‚

  6. Sarah
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 11:29:49

    They look great! I just love the all the excitement that comes along with family visits!! Hope everyone makes it there safely!

  7. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 11:33:14

    I love how u put the pics of One Perfect bite , i agree, she says with one pic what i cant with many:-)
    Ur weekend sounds filled with lods of baked goodies!
    and Babe , those roles are PERfect, ur a natural with pretty bakes!
    U sure have a wonderful family , i love to hear all about them!
    Happy sunshine day!

  8. Cakelaw
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 14:38:23

    These turned out so well- they are very professional looking. Yum!

  9. Jessica
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 17:55:51

    The rolls look yummy! Did you use your America cookie cutter for the sugar cookies and did the family trip ever happen? They should visit to take advantage of your baked goods!

  10. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 21:09:16

    These rolls look great! It sounds like there’s a lot of cooking going on at your house- yum!πŸ™‚

  11. ryan
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 21:24:30

    Wow! So many yummy projects going on at your house! Congrats on a first successful go at working with yeast! That is a great accomplishment and they look delicious. Great job! I wish I had some now. I’m going to have to try this recipe because between Mary’s description and your’s they sound wonderful!

  12. Elaine
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 22:10:21

    You did a great job – they look beautiful! I would have loved some of those with melted butter to go along with dinner. Hope your family has arrived safely!

  13. Mary
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 22:30:35

    So I guess you could call it a half-baked weekend?πŸ˜‰
    Just think of all the delicious stuff you’ll now be able to have ready on very short notice. And these rolls look like they were totally worth the wait.

  14. Allison
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 01:30:11

    I’m tired just reading your post! You’re a rockstar! Hopefully they’ll come soon and enjoy all your efforts.πŸ™‚

  15. sanyaliving
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 03:19:59

    They look fantastic!
    I know what you mean about feeling like you’ve done so much and thinking there should be more to show for all that hard work! But you’ve done the groundwork for so many things now! I can’t wait to see them all come together!

  16. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 08:49:09

    What I love about these is that they are so light and full. Definitely a reason to go homemade instead of store purchased on the dough.

  17. ryan
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 21:23:16

    I left you the Stylish Blogger Award on my blog. You can see the details at http://www.ryanbakes.com/2011/03/stylish-blogger-award.html

  18. Domestic Goddess Wannabe
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 04:11:26

    These look really great. It sounds like you have done loads! You just have to make the finishing touches and your kitchen will be full of home-baked yumminess:)

  19. Andrew
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 22:35:36

    I know what you mean about waiting for dough to rise, it’s annoying. The finished result looks really great though! I’d eat them.

  20. chandrabali/rita dutt
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 19:30:41

    Wow…a must try recipe…super.

