ffwD: Short Ribs in Red Wine & (No) Port


After my somewhat unassuaged experience with last week’s pancetta green beans, I was definitely geared up for this week’s short ribs. So much, that I started directly on Saturday with Dorie’s overnight version so that the process would span two days ending with the ribs being served for Sunday dinner.

I’ve never cooked short ribs, only the slender spare ribs. So imagine my surprise when I asked the butcher for a nice slab of short ribs, and he showed me several thick, wide slabs of beef with bone! Oh, my! He suggested (like Dorie) to get the short ribs with the bone in because the bones would add to the flavor. I’m all about adding to the flavor!

This dish’s preparation was somewhat similar to the beef daube, with pre-cooking of the beef and simmering vegetables in a syrah wine sauce. However, I somehow overlooked getting port for the sauce even though I had it on my iTouch list. So, I experimented and used a cup of leftover moscato. (I know! I had leftover moscato? Gasp!) I left out the parsnips because they looked a bit funky in the store, while my bouquet garni included double amounts of rosemary and bay leaves since the other herbs hadn’t been re-stocked when I went to the store.

After sliding the ribs, veggies and wine sauce in the oven, I was quite excited at the 2-hour mark because the smells of the beef and wine were rather intoxicating. When I loosened the foil and checked on the ribs, the meaty portions were already sliding off the bone! Whee! To me, that means the ribs are going to be so tender and delicious. I was slightly disappointed that I would have to wait another day before I got to eat them.

The final hour of cooking went by in a snap, and I left the pot on top of the oven to cool before setting it in the refrigerator overnight. The next afternoon, I took the pot out of the refrigerator and, with a sense of satisfaction, spooned out the orange-colored congealed fat that had risen to the top, leaving behind a wonderfully dark and rich sauce! After a quick bit under the broiler again, I plated some of the glazed ribs while I shredded the rest. Here’s a plated short rib!

And a shredded rib:

One of my co-workers (Codename: Metiche) said that I should’ve brought in the short ribs for everyone to sample. Trust me, I would have but I only made half the recipe and the few leftovers were turned into sandwiches the next day! But, oh my, these short ribs were good. The moscato added a bit of sweetness to the sauce and the ribs which I suspect was the intention with the originally called for port. I’m extremely happy with this week’s recipe, both in taste and in process.

Make sure to check out other bloggers’ thoughts and results of short ribs in red wine & port at French Fridays with Dorie. As usual, the recipe for this dish can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cakelaw
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 02:06:39

    Your ribs look spectacular! I loved these.

  2. Liz
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 05:19:31

    Beautiful results!!! Didn’t these make the kitchen smell marvelous?

  3. sanyaliving
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 06:11:48

    I was kinda surprised by what the butcher handed me as well! I don’t know what I was thinking? Something smaller I think! I’m half way through mine but I have to say, the pulled apart ribs above and on your sandwich look sooo good!

  4. Elaine
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 07:29:02

    Your ribs look fantastic! Mine turned out so dark and less appealing looking I think. We loved your idea of having the leftovers for sandwiches.

  5. Cher
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 08:09:11

    Cool plate. I don’t know how you had leftover moscato????? It never lasts that long in my house (hand)🙂
    When I went to an actual butcher, he only had the ribs off the bone. Go figure. I am glad I held my ground and found someone who could provide them on the bone!

  6. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 08:10:35

    I loveee the 2 day process , though i did miss these!
    And i love all those code names u give every one🙂
    Thannnxx a ton for that tip , after looking at urs ,i dont think i will halve the quantity when i make this one:-)
    They really look so goooddddd!

  7. Serene
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 08:23:07

    That looks amazing! I love your plates THIS MUCH!

    I didn’t do the waiting-overnight thing, but if I make this again, I will, because my versions of the sauce were good, but nothing special.

  8. Flourchild
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 08:36:43

    Your ribs look so flaky and tender! Im glad they were a hit and your co worker enjoyed them too! Im glad my family loved them!

  9. Allison
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 08:50:22

    After two hours it was intoxicating??? Oh reading your post has got me wanting to remake this recipe when I can actually smell and taste them! You rock sista!

  10. Clarkie @ Beloved Green
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 08:50:51

    You have the patience of a saint. I can rarely wait for food overnight. Especially desserts, but this might be an exception. Looks mouthwatering.

  11. Ker-Yng
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 08:57:54

    Great post and your ribs look delicious! Your butcher’s good, mine just had a 2.5-inch wide strip of ribs with bone.

  12. Lola's Kitchen
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 09:14:36

    Enjoyed your post and your pictures are good. I struggled to get a decent one.

  13. Candy
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 09:31:48

    I love your plate! Your short ribs looks great!

  14. Mary
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 09:51:51

    These look absolutely delicious. It is hard to beat the use of short ribs in stews or daubes. They are my favorite stew meat. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  15. Sarah
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 10:42:09

    Yours look wonderful. I thought these were amazing. Definitely one of my favorite recipes.

  16. Ronda
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 11:10:51

    Actually, I quite like muscato. Then again I also like chardonnay, so no one is ever going to confuse me for a wine snob. Your ribs look great! Somehow they look bigger than mine. I wonder why that is?

  17. betsy
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 12:25:11

    I love your plate and your tablecloth. Your ribs look delicious too. Nice photos. I’ve never had muscato, so I’m impressed you both had some and some leftover! This reminded me of the beef daube in process also, though I really preferred the flavor of the short ribs dish.

  18. Kathy
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 12:54:13

    Your ribs look wonderful…I bet sandwiches were awesome the next day!

  19. Earnie
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 14:17:13

    The sandwich idea is brilliant.

  20. Kankana
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 14:53:41

    you are making me so hungry now and short ribs are my fav ! That’s it tomorrow dinner I will have to eat out .. i need to taste short ribs!

  21. Brownieville Girl
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 18:00:10

    I don’t know how you resisted nibbling some on the first night – I would have!!!!!

  22. StephIrey
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 18:56:59

    Your ribs look great! I love the shredded ones too. I ate these all week and was a very happy girl!

  23. Karen
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 19:31:48

    Your ribs look fantastic. I bet you would get co worker of the year if you took these in!🙂 I wish I had thought about doing the 2 day process but I haven’t had time. Nice sub for the port!

  24. Mary
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 19:32:40

    Yum…..I love the idea of short ribs sandwiches….nice work.

  25. Krissy
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 19:52:15

    WOW! Beautiful ribs and great ideas. Yours are some of the best looking I’ve seen!

  26. kitchenarian
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 21:20:02

    Great job! Your pictures look great. I enjoyed making this dish too.

  27. Tricia
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 21:58:04

    So glad that you enjoyed this dish- Nana and I loved it as well. I had to laugh when I saw your plate of shredded ribs, because while I was tearing them up to eat (I couldn’t resist…I was amazed at how tender they were and how they just slid apart so easily…I guess I was “playing with my food”:) I never thought of actually shredding them for sandwiches. We do this for pulled pork and Iknow my kids will go nuts if I do the ribs that way too. Great post ~

  28. Anne Marie
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 04:34:22

    Your coworkers have high hopes. I never made the green beans, but these I will make again

  29. Renee (Kudos Kitchen)
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 09:13:35

    Spectacular! Your ribs look devine and I love the plate they’re sitting on! So pretty!

  30. ryan
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 09:26:20

    Oh these look delicious and your post has me so sad that I had to miss this week’s recipe. I definitely have to go back and make this one because it sounds delicious. I had a busy week and had to miss.😦 I love the name of your blog, by the way– I always smile when I see it!

  31. Lana
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 20:48:20

    These were some great ribs, I agree, it was the first for me, too, even though I have been ogling them for a long time, collecting several recipes “to try”. I am glad that Dorie “forced” me to finally cook them.
    They were not that pretty, but, oh, the taste! Mine were shredded, also, mixed with the sauce, on top of mashed potatoes – heaven!
    Have a great weekend:)

  32. Jessica
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 03:43:00

    Short ribs! I love short ribs.

  33. Bonnie Deahl
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 15:35:59

    OMG, could you imagine the leftovers as a weeknight sandwich with a green salad?! Don’t share these leftovers…they are tooo good.
    bonnie

  34. gingerbreadbagels
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 21:41:42

    I didn’t make the short ribs for ffwd but yours look AMAZING! What a great idea to use the leftovers for sandwiches.🙂

  35. sara
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 12:43:09

    Yum, these look lovely! I was a little too scared of this recipe (the last time I tried to make short ribs…let’s just say it did not work out!), but this looks good enough that I may just have to go for it!🙂

  36. Terra
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 12:36:57

    I did not get a chance to make these, but will have to make sure I do!!! Wow, they look, and sound fantastic:)

