Weekend Food

This past weekend was up-and-down in terms of weather in Chicago. Saturday was warmer, with “warmer” meaning in the fifties and sunny! Sunday was much cooler, in the thirties, overcast and drizzly near the end of the day. However, and most importantly, the weekend ended with some pretty tasty short ribs in red wine for Sunday dinner, which you’ll get to read about this Friday for ffwD!

I happened to have some leftover short ribs from that meal (despite only making half the recipe!), and it made the best sandwiches for dinner Monday night. While the sandwiches were eaten on a weeknight, the short ribs themselves were prepared over the entire weekend, so it still counts as weekend food in my mind!

I only spent $3.29 on the spur-of-the-moment items I needed for the sandwiches, including a rather large loaf of crusty on the outside but soft on the inside sliced French bread, 2 Roma tomatoes, and a large organic yellow bell pepper! (I’m excited about this because I just watched a special called “Extreme Couponers”, which featured this one guy who bought $5,000 worth of groceries and only paid $280!) Anyway, after shredding the meat from the last two short ribs, I was able to make three sandwiches with sliced tomato, grilled yellow pepper, and sliced Gruyere. Luckily, I had Gruyere cheese on hand to give the sandwiches a bit of saltiness to contrast with the sweeter meat.

There is absolutely no need to type any kind of recipe here for these sandwiches. Truly, I wanted to share this with you all in case you also have leftover short ribs from this week’s ffwD recipe! Though, if I could make one comment, I would definitely grill the bread as it really adds texture to the sandwich. Plus, grill marks look so appetizing!

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ker-Yng
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 09:55:20

    It’s great when one meal provides leftovers for another. πŸ™‚ That guy on Extreme Couponers is extremely resourceful! I wish for a coupon for the short ribs which costs $5 a pound. πŸ˜‰ I’m skipping that recipe too as I don’t have port and only half a bottle of red wine. Looking forward to reading about your take on the ribs.

  2. blackbookkitchendiaries
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 10:00:29

    this look absolutely delicious:)

  3. ryan
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 10:03:51

    Oh yum! That looks so good! I’m already ready for lunch now. I love a good sandwich and that looks delicious- esp. with the roasted peppers and GruyΓ¨re!

  4. Liz
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 15:16:15

    Fabulous idea for the short rib leftovers…what a delicious looking sandwich! The weather today stinks…hope we’ll get into the 50’s AND 60’s again soon πŸ™‚

  5. Three-Cookies
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 15:27:08

    Grill marks do make it look more appealing, though I would happily eat that sandwich even if there was no grill marks:)

  6. Jessica
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 18:11:14

    It’s nice when you can use leftovers for another meal. I try to do that too!
    Did you use mayonnaise on the sandwiches?

  7. Elaine
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 18:39:16

    We made tacos last night with our leftover ribs and there’s still some left. I think we will be having short rib sandwiches tonight after seeing how delicious yours look!

  8. Chaya
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 19:45:05

    Your blog is guilty of making other foodies very hungry.

  9. Andrew
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 22:48:04

    Yay short ribs! I love short ribs!

  10. Cakelaw
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 23:04:03

    Wow – short rib sandwiches would have been terrific! (Those ribs were so good!)

  11. Cher
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 06:54:34

    I don’t know whether I am scared of the extreme couponers or in awe of them.
    That’s a great use for the leftovers – I still have a couple sitting in the fridge and may need to steal this idea!

  12. Mary
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 10:55:38

    That looks really delicious to me. I’d love to have one for lunch today. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  13. Miss Anthropist
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 11:47:55

    Yumm! Looks great, and I agree…grill marks make everything look appetizing πŸ˜€

  14. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 12:23:23

    Hiiii Yummy C!
    U made this one , well i missed it but there is still time to simmer this one!
    Am excited about the March recipes as well!
    Wanted to bake those Butter break ups ever since i have the book πŸ™‚
    This is an excellente idea,i love how u added the cheese to contrast the saltiness!
    Am sure i MUST make this one and soonnnn!

  15. Kankana
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 16:37:56

    The weather is fluctuating even out here .. it’s warm someday and someday it pours badly ! I love short ribs .. one of my favorite protein πŸ™‚ and to make a sandwich is leftover is amazing!

  16. Umm Mymoonah
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 01:42:38

    This is definitely a weekend delight, looks so delicious.

  17. Brownieville Girl
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 15:55:46

    Yummy sandwich.

    We don’t really “do” coupons over here – I’d love to be able to save that kind of money!!!

  18. Missy
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 21:31:14

    i Totally understand the weather situation you are having because here in Nj we are dealing with the same thing. Stay strong lol

    Peace
    Missy

  19. Trackback: ffwD: Short Ribs in Red Wine & (No) Port « Yummy Chunklet
  20. Kim - Liv Life
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 09:44:17

    My husband would be SO happy if I placed one of these in front of him!! Nicely done!!

