Weekend Food

Over the weekend, my sister (Codename: Chunklet’s mom) asked me to pick up either lavender extract or a container of lavender because she couldn’t find any where she lives. Intrigued, I made my way to the local grocery store and couldn’t find either item. Then I walked a block over to the gourmet foods store Fox & Obel and found containers of the fragrant herb immediately! I picked up a container for Chunklet’s mom and one for myself because now I wanted to play around with this ingredient!

I found a recipe for lavender tea cake from Happy Home Baking. However, I wanted to take the cake one step further by cutting it into smaller tea cakes and enrobing the pieces in lavender frosting. I used Martha Stewart’s lavender icing recipe but substituted in food coloring for the violet gel paste.As you can see, I ended up frosting a different assortment of the cakes. I ran out of frosting with about 1/3 of the cake pieces to go. So, I thinned out the remainder of the frosting from the sides of the bowl with more milk and made a very thin glaze. When that ran out, I just topped the last few pieces with powdered sugar.

The smell of the lavender tea cake was pretty fragrant, and the cake was quite good. The lavender frosting really held the flavor well because the lavender was steeped in the milk for precisely 10 minutes. I was concerned because my research on lavender warned that steeping the flowers too long or putting too much in the batter can cause a bitter aftertaste. I must warn you, if you’re not used to eating lavender or only associate lavender with air fresheners, be ready to switch your senses. When I had my sister (Codename: Psychology Gamer) taste a piece, she said, “Hmm…it tastes like potpourri. I’ll have to try more pieces to really tell you what I think.” After which, she proceeded to eat at least 4 more pieces. I think these were a hit and were pretty fun to make. I’ll definitely be making them again, and I’m on the hunt for more recipes with lavender!

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 13:27:59

    You’re really expanding your baking skills! Not many people use lavender. The only other time I have heard of it is when we had poppyseed cupcakes with lavender frosting. Your mini cakes look good and the frosting looks even better.

  2. Cher
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 13:35:07

    How fun that you found a new item to add to your arsenal – I love lavender in both savory items (i.e herbs d’provence) and in sweet items like tea cakes or sugar cookies. Yea!

  3. Me
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 13:48:27

    LOVE IT! Want some! And shocking that you made something PurpleπŸ™‚

  4. Ronda
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:13:01

    These cakes look like a lot of fun to make and to eat. I love lavender in baked goods, my hubbly not so much. Though for our wedding we had special chocolates made and one of them was a lavender white chocolate truffle. I was in heaven!

  5. Ker-Yng
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:21:10

    The first time I had lavender in a baked goods was lavender shortbread cookies. It did taste a little like pot pourri but the buttery cookies made it easy to have more than one. Love to see you try a savoury recipe.πŸ™‚

  6. cca
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:37:22

    i have never been brave enough for adding lavender to my cooking… those are too cute though! perfect for a shower or girly event!

  7. Flourchild
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:49:16

    I would eat those any day with my tea! They look and sound wonderful!

  8. Three-Cookies
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 15:24:37

    Its interesting that you covered the whole slice of cake with lavender. Not sure if you are familiar with lamingtons – its popular in Australia and New Zealand. The whole cake is covered in a similar way, very delicious. I have never tried lavender – curious now

  9. Liz
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 15:35:49

    I’ve never baked with lavender either, but I’d be happy to sample one or two of your little gems. Like little petit fours…just one perfect bite!

  10. Andrew
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 19:26:20

    Wow, they look like they turned out really well. I’ve never used lavender extract in anything before, I’ll have to try it out sometime.

  11. Elaine
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 20:10:50

    I love that first photo – such a pretty presentation! I bet they would be so good with tea. I am so glad that you experimented with a new herb and had fun with it!

  12. Domestic Goddess Wannabe
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 02:46:11

    What a really great idea – very spring-like too. Nigella does some cupcakes that I keep meaning to try decorated with sprigs of lavender.

  13. Kankana
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 17:16:30

    For me the best part about baking is when your home is filled with beautiful aroma and gives you such a warm feeling.. and with that lavender frosting .. i can imagine how it was at your place.πŸ™‚

  14. Kathy
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 18:31:05

    YC, I love the scent of lavender! I will have to try these, they look wonderful! I am a fan of your blog and am glad to have you visit mine. Your comments are always appreciated. So that is why I am awarding you “The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award”.
    You can pick it up on my blog! Great Job!!

  15. Mary
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 19:33:37

    It’s always so much fun to find a new ingredient. You not only found it, you used it well. Your petite cakes look wonderful. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  16. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 20:56:45

    I’ve never baked with lavender- these would be fun to try.πŸ™‚

  17. TheSceneFromMe
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 09:58:08

    I just wanna pop many of these lil petit fours in my mouth continuously!

  18. chunklet's mom
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 15:05:06

    These looks so good! You should make petite fores!!!

  19. Mary
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 15:20:13

    They look really good, and I like the assortment of frostings. I’d probably have to have a few to decide if I liked it too! I used to buy an Earl Grey tea with lavender and it was really good. Maybe I’ll have to combine them in a cake. Congrats on your award!πŸ™‚

  20. Brownieville Girl
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 17:06:52

    I made lavender sugar during the summer – but have only used it once. Thank you so much for reminding me to break it out again!

    Love your little cakelets – I’d say the were wonderful.

    Congratulations on your well deserved award, and thanks a million for stopping by.

  21. Trackback: ffwD: (Mandarin) Orange-Almond Tartlets « Yummy Chunklet
  22. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 12:33:29

    AM sooo glad u found some lavender ,aint it simply fantastic and those tea cakes are calling out to me ….i would soo lovee to respond!
    I would love them anyway!
    Wishing u a wonderful weekend my pal!
    Mia.

  23. evilcakelady
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 20:38:39

    ooh, this is timely! i’m making a lavender-lemon cake next weekend and this is really helpful, thanks πŸ™‚

  24. chanzdutt
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 11:36:37

    awesome perfect wknd foodπŸ™‚

